We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful nature”
Review of Hindsgavl Slot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hindsgavl Slot
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelfart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Trip length of 220 km from Copenhagen was worth it! Rooms cramped and I don't like when the bathroom is not isolated from the living room, but a wonderful dinner and breakfast at the restaurant, as well as breathtaking natural beauty atone for all defects of design) Can advise reception staff to be more loyal to the guests and if we ask about the late check-out at least for the mind to look into the computer, and not to respond at once with a straight face that this is impossible. Especially that check-out time in this hotel outrageously early - at 10am!!!!! saturday!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Visit this place as part of business gathering. It is an old mansion which have been converted into a hotel/restaurant. It is beautiful located close to Lillebaelt with a nice garden as well as forrest all around. Rooms are nicely done up - particular the recent ones. You will really appreciated this nice spot in the middle of Denmark! Ask for rooms with the showers in the middle if you want the very best ones!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The property, gardens and lawns are beautiful. Our room was in the main building so probably not been renovated for a while. Large but tired, the bathroom was clean but does also need to be updated. We had a lovely view and could sleep with the windows open. We traveled with 3 children who enjoyed playing on the lawn and on the beach. Great bfast. We may come back when all rooms have been renovated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brieandbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

On Hindsgavl Slot there is excellent service, good food with local specialities, free wifi, quiet surroundings. A perfect spot to relax and get away for some days. In weekends and in holidays there are special offers.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the old pig-stable - it is directly connected to the mail building with the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naserian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My spouse and Hindsgavl Slot in June 2011. We booked last minute and had no previous knowledge about this hotel. It is located next to Lillebælt and from the hotel you can take a beautiful walk in the garden right down to the waterfront to go for a swim. The gardens around the hotel are very beautiful with old trees and small lakes and ponds. You can sit ón the terrasse and enjoy your meal while enjoying the view of the garden and Lillebælt.

The restaurant is very nice and we enjoyed a lovely dinner there the firstemmig night. The service was excellent and the staff very helpful. The room was a bit small but nicely decorated in an old fashioned way that suits this old castle well. Only minus was that the room had a very small bed and had a distinct "old" smell.

We highly recommend this hotel and we will return again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My brother was married here and everything was amazing. Beautiful rooms with wonderful design, great bathrooms (rare in DK), food, wine, service superb. Hindsgavl is rebuilding some areas; skip those and concentrate instead on the waterfront and historic "island" and ruins. Amazing that you can walk into history like that. The first night we stayed in the converted pig barn. Don't laugh. It's gorgeous. This visit was so good that we decided to book another night. Hindsgavl is non-smoking, but some rude guest had obviously flouted the rule, so we had to move to the room next door. Lovely decor, not quite as good a view, but still...wow. Ask for rooms facing the front lawn. Breakfast both times was the best Danish breakfast we've ever had. Now for the disappointing: we had dinner in their "White Lady" restaurant. When we arrived, we were one of two parties. So why did it take so long to get our order and for the food to come out? I had an appetizer and my husband had an entré. My appetizer was good; his entré was OK. We know that food prices in DK are high. These are higher than usual, and we expected the food quality to be superior. We were surprised and disappointed, since every other meal had been excellent. And overpriced. So my best advice is enjoy the rooms, enjoy the nature, enjoy the breakfast, skip the restaurant.

Room Tip: Walk to path out to the castle ruins...amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Persille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Hindsgavl Slot and the surround park were covered in snow when we arrived. Really beautiful setting! We went there for a romantic weekend without kids. Knowing that it is a popular conference location I was not sure what to expect interms of "romantic settings". It is a conference hotel; the management I am sure prioritize effeciency over "the small details". Still, we had a very enjoyable time! Our junior suite was rather small, but clean and cozy and had a bathroom with jacuzzi. In addition the suite was equipped with an ultra-sound "something" cleaner... (I suspect one was supposed to use it for cleaning jewelry, but we didn't test it).

The dinner at the castle restaurant "Den hvide dame" (The white lady) named after a ghost that haunts the castle was a very positive surprise! Nothing very fancy, but the 4 course menu was just excellent! Thumbs up for the chef!

A couple of suggestions:
- get rid of the "help yourself" espresso machines in the coffee room!
- instead it would have been great to have the possibility to make tea and coffee in the suite

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterplys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelfart
0.9 mi away
Comwell Kongebrogaarden
Comwell Kongebrogaarden
#3 of 10 in Middelfart
237 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 9 in Kolding
1,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Sixtus
Sinatur Hotel Sixtus
#5 of 10 in Middelfart
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgmestergaarden
Hotel Borgmestergaarden
#8 of 10 in Middelfart
27 reviews
11.5 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
1.9 mi away
Milling Hotel Park, Middelfart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindsgavl Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindsgavl Slot

Address: Hindsgavl Alle 7, Middelfart 5500, Denmark (Formerly "Tulip Inn")
Region: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Middelfart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelfart
Price Range: £106 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hindsgavl Slot 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hindsgavl Slot er kontrasternes slot. Her kan du opleve en enestaende kombination af et klassisk slot, et moderne hotel og et nuanceret dansk slotskokken. De unikke rammer for ophold, ferie og fest holdes i haevd af et personale, der er drevet af en faelles ambition om at gore dit ophold til en ganske saerlig oplevelse. Pa Hindsgavl Slot kan vi lide at gore tingene ordentligt og helt fra bunden. Derfor har vi bl.A. Vores egen kokken- og krydderurtehave i slotsparken, som forsyner vores slotskokken, nar arstiden tillader det. Vores hang til perfektionisme byder os ogsa at ga i detaljer; f.Eks. Er vi af den overbevisning, at jordbaer skal spises om sommeren og vildt helst om efteraret. Vi ser frem til at byde velkommen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hindsgavl Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing