We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remarcable setting, very nice hotel”
Review of Hindsgavl Slot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hindsgavl Slot
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelfart
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A remarcable setting, very nice hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What an experience. After arrival we had a drink at the backside terrace of the great ‘Slot’ overlooking the garden and lake. This place makes you feel King or Queen; it is all very impressive and well done. We had a six course meal and wine that was an unforgettable experience it was all very balanced and spot on. Service was professional and experienced; they took time to explain the (relevant) details of the meal showing interest in what they served. The breakfast was in one of the huge converted barns, perhaps a bit too big but of the same high standard. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure you select either a classic room or a modern room, they are both available and both very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILikeQualityPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Pim D


Thank you for your comment.

You are very welcome another time - we hope you'll feel like a king & his queen again. :)


Kind regards
Hindsgavl Slot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    94
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
45
149
3
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Motoring our way through Denmark from Sweden on our way to Germany. Middelfart seemed to be the perfect stopping point. Boy am I glad we chose this place. The town itself is not much to write home about but this hotel i fabulous! The pictures on the web site don't do it justice. Everything here is in tip top shape. The attention to detail is amazing.

Ask to stay in the newly renovated "svinstia" (pigs sty) rooms if you like modern. Brick walls, stone floor and great lighting. But best of all is the round brick shower with a rain shower. Best water pressure ever. I got drenched!

Food in the restaurant is just as they describe, fresh, organic and served by a very attentive staff.

The castle grounds are in the middle of a nature reserve and there all kinds of walking and hiking trails, bikes are available if you want to go further off. On a warmer day it would be possible to swim in the sea but not on our stay. Golf at nearby Lille Baelte golf club was a great experience. Great course and pretty challenging on a windy day like we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baltim0reRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ms. 'BaltimOreRed'


Thank you for your comment.

You are very welcome another time.!


Kind regards
Hindsgavl Slot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had the opportunity to visit this little excellent hotel while on business in Denmark. What stands out is the picturesque environment, excellent food and friendly atmosphere. Rooms are small but well equipped and nicely decorated (modern or classic style available, I got the latter). There's no gym or swimming pool available, but if you can shift that to a morning run in the amazing garden and round this off with a swim on the beach, this is the choice for you.

I'd love to come back.

Room Tip: Your choice of contemporary or classic castle style. Fitness and Swimming refers to outdoor nature e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Emil

Thank you for your comment.

You are very welcome another time.!

Kind regards
Hindsgavl Slot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
721 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The rooms are quite different as they are brick walls and warm. the showers are round and unique. The rooms have a pleasant view. the grounds afford a great opportunity to walk quietly. Dinner was excellent and staff very accommodating. Breakfast was served int he great house and was opulent without being pretentious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It was a love dreamy summer day when we arrived, and we got a fantastic room in the "svinestall". I loved it so much I have even used it as inspiration for decorating our basement at home. The food was great and the breakfast was nice. We stayed for two nights on half board and had dinner in the barn the first night and the castle the second night.

There were only 2 surprising moments of our stay. The bar area was very un-charming and unmanned most of the time. There were plenty of people ringing the bell and waiting to get an order in, but everyone had to wait for quite some time to get a drink. And after having our dinner and paying for a quite pricey wine package they charged us DKK 54 for a single cup of coffe. I have no idea how strange we thought that was. needless to say - we declined the offer of coffe our second night.

Go, enjoy the park surrounding the castle as well as the game park. It's very exciting to get so close to living wild animals living in a natual envoronment.

Room Tip: At the end of the "svinestall towards the court yard"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillywhite2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We travel by car between Britain and Sweden on a regular basis, and we have tried different routes. This time we decided to go 'over the bridges' and we found this hotel chance and by checking it up on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed, and it is a place we'll definitely return to.

It is a castle from the beginning of the 19th century, where the main building serves as the reception area, bar, restaurant and breakfast room. There are also conference facilities here and it seemed to us like it was a popular place for companies to take their employees for conferences. There were some examples of this when we were there but the place is so large that it did not feel in the least crowded.

The hotel rooms are in what must have been the old economy buildings, stables, etc. The contrast between the traditional exterior and the ultra-modern interior. Our room had all the best of Danish modern design, including a rather nice round shower. The room was quiet, had a comfortable bed and a good desk. There was free wi-fi, and it worked well and fast even though we were quite some way from the main building. The sitting furniture looked forbidding but turned out to be the right shape for sitting on. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which we always appreciate.

As we don't like leaving our dog alone in a hotel room when we're travelling, we could not eat in the restaurant, but room service was available. We ordered a main course, a bottle of wine, a dessert and coffee. The main course was delivered within 30 minutes to our room (fresh and newly cooked) and we were told that they would bring our dessert and coffee when we phoned up to say we were ready for it, as our coffee would otherwise not be fresh when we wanted it. And this in a place where they had to carry it over a large yard for at least 200 metres, and it was done with a smile! And the food was much better than what you would expect from room service.

Breakfast was included in our price, and it was well worth having. It was a buffet breakfast with both hot and cold options. The coffee was good, as was the tea. The only minus we could find was that you could not get 'normal' unscented black tea.

There was a large park and other surroundings with a view over the water, old trees and interesting planting. There was also the remains of the first 12th century castle, a large kitchen garden, lots of birds and other animals to look at. Both humans and canine appreciated their surroundings, and we went for rather longer walks than normal both in the evenin. There were a lot of boards telling you about the history of the place, but unfortunately this was only in Danish, but there was info to be had in the reception area.

The hotel was not budget priced, but it lived up to expectations and more. It is a hotel we will return to and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenachw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a lovely natural environment for a walk and you will even spot some deer in the surroundings. There are little kiosks where you can buy ice cream, coffees, etc along the road entrances. A popular place has a hotel and there is a campsite in the area as well.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 79Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelfart
5.3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comwell Kongebrogaarden
Comwell Kongebrogaarden
#3 of 10 in Middelfart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Sixtus
Sinatur Hotel Sixtus
#4 of 10 in Middelfart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
3.0 mi away
Severin A/S
Severin A/S
#2 of 10 in Middelfart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Milling Hotel Park, Middelfart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindsgavl Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindsgavl Slot

Property: Hindsgavl Slot
Address: Hindsgavl Alle 7, Middelfart 5500, Denmark (Formerly "Tulip Inn")
Region: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Middelfart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelfart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hindsgavl Slot 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hindsgavl Slot er kontrasternes slot. Her kan du opleve en enestaende kombination af et klassisk slot, et moderne hotel og et nuanceret dansk slotskokken. De unikke rammer for ophold, ferie og fest holdes i haevd af et personale, der er drevet af en faelles ambition om at gore dit ophold til en ganske saerlig oplevelse. Pa Hindsgavl Slot kan vi lide at gore tingene ordentligt og helt fra bunden. Derfor har vi bl.A. Vores egen kokken- og krydderurtehave i slotsparken, som forsyner vores slotskokken, nar arstiden tillader det. Vores hang til perfektionisme byder os ogsa at ga i detaljer; f.Eks. Er vi af den overbevisning, at jordbaer skal spises om sommeren og vildt helst om efteraret. Vi ser frem til at byde velkommen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hindsgavl Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing