We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb and elegant hotel in the middle of Denmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hesselet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hesselet
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nyborg
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb and elegant hotel in the middle of Denmark”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This hotel has got it all.
Luxury rooms with a marvelous see-view to the Big-betl bridge, one of the best restaurants, I ever experienced worldwide, and the very best service you can ask for.

Room Tip: I have stayed here several times, and I always got a superb room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    46
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
56
2
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Hotel Hesselet is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Fyn. Located right on the beach, this luxurious, but affordable hotel offers an indoor pool, great dining, lovely if simple rooms (but large bathrooms), and extras typically found in much more expensive hotels.

For example, the cost includes a sumptuous buffet breakfast, which had smoked salmon, all kinds of cheese, eggs, sausage, pastries, etc. Like a Ritz Carlton buffet!

The beach is beautiful, and the hotel staff very helpful - all English speaking too.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We spent to glorious nights at Hotel Hesselet. It was the perfect respite after 4 days in Copenhagen. The 1967-built hotel has retro charm but a modern attitude. Our spacious room had a beautiful view of the Baltic Sea and the well kept hotel lawn. We were greeted with cake and coffee at a table for two set up on the terrace. Dinner both nights in the restaurant was superb and Simon was truly an amazing waiter! The front desk staff was very attentive. The bikes provided by the hotel were the perfect way for us to explore the charming town of Nyborg (visit the castle and the church--the organist was practicing when we came in and gave us our own private concert!). The breakfast buffet each morning was plentiful. The pool is beautiful. We watched the kitchen staff cutting fresh herbs in the garden just outside the pool and we tasted those herbs in our dinner later that evening! The artwork throughout the complex (most pieces painted by Funen artists we were told) is spectacular! We had a memorable stay at Hotel Hesselet. It was a wonderful experience and I hope we can visit again some day!

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcschleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mappleborough Green
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We only stayed for one night but from the moment you enter the driveway you know that the experience will be very special. The Hotel was fantastic in every way and the pool/fitness areas are exceptional. The view of the bridge from our room across the beautiful gardens took your breath away. Our only complaint was of Nyborg itself. We had hoped to walk into the town and have a meal in a local restaurant. We walked into town OK but everybody had gone home and turned the lights out. It was lifeless and with all of the restaurants closed (it was a Monday) we ended up having a pizza in a take away

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We travelled with our daughter and my parents and therefore booked three different rooms. When we arrived at the hotel we asked if we could have two of the rooms with connected doors. The staff obliged immediately. We had chosen a package with wine fruit and chocolate on arrival, and the staff nicely offered to arrange the whole setting in one room so that we could enjoy it together. It was a very touch. The rooms were very nice and cozy with beautiful bathrooms. All with see view. We enjoyed the swimming pool and jaccuzzi, played ping pong in the basement and took a nice walk in the neighbourhoods. The food was good and service impeccable.
All in all an excellent hotel with a very nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank secret0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Great hotel, on coast with distant views of the bridge between Zealand and Funen (5 mins from motorway and but well away from any noise in quiet wooded area outside of Nyborg itself).
Fantastic rooms, with reall nice modern scandic style furniture and soft furnishings with great marble bathroom, brilliant glass and wood balcony and all the mod cons (fridge, aircon, TV, ironing board in room etc).
This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in our trip around the Denmark countryside.
Gourmet restaurant on site, with really good (if very expensive) food. Pool in hotel and tennis courts. About 1 hour to Egeskov Slot (well worth visit - Caste/stately home with extensive landscaped grounds with restaurants, museums, lake etc).
A 10/10 experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We chose this hotel for a weekend stay because their webpage made the impression it is a very welcoming and design oriented hotel with a bit of gourmet food.
When we checked in we were not welcomed, nothing was explained to us, we were only handed a key and that was it. You may say that is very efficient but for that price I expect that at least someone wishes me a nice stay. We booked a double bed, but it was only 2 single bed put next to each other (not even connected). Upon asking the reception if there are any double beds (without a 5cm gap between 2 matraces) we were told "no, that's Denmark".
We had a seaview terace room with modern furniture, which was nice, but the furniture beeing new had a really strange smell.
I don't want to go into more details, my general impression was that staff was not very friendly and did not care much about the guests. In general the guests in this hotel are elder couples and the athmosphere during dining / breakfast was rather stiff.
The location of the hotel is nice, although you should not expect a great beach - not sure if it is nice for swimming, it didn't seem like.
Overall I had expected much more and would not recommend it for a romantic minibreak.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyborg
0.8 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Storebaelt
21.2 mi away
Stella Maris - Hotel de Luxe
0.2 mi away
Nyborg Strand
Nyborg Strand
#2 of 5 in Nyborg
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Munkebo Kro
Munkebo Kro
#1 of 1 in Munkebo
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Gulle
Hotel Villa Gulle
#4 of 5 in Nyborg
44 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hesselet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesselet

Property: Hotel Hesselet
Address: Christianslundsvej 119, Nyborg 5800, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Nyborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nyborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hesselet 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Hotel Hesselet in Nyborg is one of the leading quality and conference hotels - Why? Because we create personal relationships with our guests and make an extra effort for the unique and personal experience. Love and passion for food, and a pounding heart for the inn is the essence of Hotel Hesselet Set in tranquil surroundings between beech and forest and direct view to the Great Belt. With a location, 3-minute drive from the Great Belt, we are the ideal hotel, if you are looking for an overnight stay on your journey through the Danish country and looking for delicious frames. We are open at the front desk 24 hours a day, We have minibar - coffee / tea in the room, and always helpful with a bite to eat if you arrive late. holiday Find an escape from the everyday hustle and bustle in quiet surroundings at Hotel Hesselet. The view and the surroundings is something for every nature lover. Whatever you're into bird song or wave splashing and simply looking for the perfect place to pull you away from everyday life and reset, then we are the perfect place for you. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hesselet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hesselet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing