We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just not upto Scandic standard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Odense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Odense
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Shropshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just not upto Scandic standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

A strange one, just wasn't in the same league as the two previous Scandic hotels we had stayed in. Much smaller room for a higher price. Also only one single duvet on a double bed? Nice food though, breakfast and evening meal with an entertaining maitre d. Disappointing.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager518, Manager at Scandic Odense, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Feed Back concerning previous stay at Scandic Odense.
I am sorry to hear, we failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Sometimes our Room rates are a little higher than our colleagues, but this has to do with our demand.

I am pleased to hear about your experience with our Restaurant and will make sure to share your comments with departments involved.


With kind regards

Ole Sig Olsen
HotelManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    88
    57
    22
    4
See reviews for
56
50
10
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We're regular Scandic patrons, but this is our first stay in Denmark. These comments may, in part, relate to a different approach to their Swedish hotels.

The hotel is located in an suburban business park, with nothing to see/do/eat within walking distance. I'd strongly advise against staying here without a car.

The hotel has been refurbished recently - much nicer inside than out. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and well-maintained. However, they have no air-con, so in July, we had to sleep with the windows open - and they have very noisy seagulls! This did affect sleep quality.

The reception has two free internet PCs with decent security - they clear all cookies etc when you log out, so should be safe. There's also the usual small shop, useful for snacks and forgotten items.

The breakfast buffet is good, but if you're used to the Swedish ones, you may find it a little less varied, and on quieter days, it's not refreshed/cleaned during service, it seems.

There's a bar with friendly barman, and a restaurant with a minimal menu and bored staff, but the beef and the pork were actually pretty good. They had none of the listed desserts in stock, but could come up with some alternative. They also have a children's selection.

Overall, the staff are reasonably friendly, though can lack attention (you can sit/stand waiting for some time, if they're off chatting in the kitchen, or in the loo!). I think this is because the hotel is often quiet, and this means they don't get much call on them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the motorway - one side faces it, one the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager518, Manager at Scandic Odense, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feed back concerning your previous stay at Scandic Odense.

It is correct we are located in the industrial area of Odense, approximately a 10 minutes drive from the City Centre in a car. I agree, it is more convenient with a car when stayin in our Property, however we do offer bikes for rent, free of charge. And with a distance of 5 kilometres from the main city centre, our bikes are often in use during summer.

I do apologise for the lack of acknowledgement from the assosiates, this is certainly not accetable neither up to our standard, we are here to make your stay with us as comfort as possible.
At Scandic Odense we strive to obtain a high level of service, and I can assure you, busy or not , all associates are fully aware of the importance of being available for our guests like yourself. I will discuss mentioned matter with involved department.

With kind regards


Ole Sig Olsen
HotelManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Of the five Scandic hotels that I've stayed in, this was the least impressive. As with two others, a wake-up call placed at the front desk never occurred. Connectivity to the wireless Internet is solid, but the speed is slow. Cleanliness was okay, but could be better. The television was an older style one, the beds were too soft, and the shower, which isn't self-contained, caused water all over the bathroom floor. Other Scandic hotels have the same bathroom layout and I suspect that the odd shower head that caused water to go in multiple directions, half of which are not on the person beneath it, is the cause of the problem, not to mention making showers taking much longer. Ironically, unlike many other Scandics there was no squeegee in the bathroom to use. The hotel's location is a bit remote, about 1.3 km from a convenience store that closes early and 5 km from the town area with restaurants. The hotel's restaurant and bar has good food and service, but the menu choices are very limited.

Room Tip: First floor is convenient, but windows are at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager518, Manager at Scandic Odense, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Feed back concerning previous stay with us.
Scandic Hotels are currently changing all televisions in all our Hotels, within 2013 all Scandic Hotels have new Televisions with a new selection og Television channels.

Recently we upgraded our Internet Service with a new improved and faster connection, this has already been notified among our guests.

Since your visit, we began to change our Shower heads. I agree some of them needed a change. Our Maintenance and Housekeeping help each other with this Project.

Our location is, as you mention, in the Industrial Area of Odense, which is 5 kilometres from the Main centre.

The compliments concerning our Restaurant will be shared among the Staff.

With Kind regards


Ole Sig Olsen
HotelManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We were given a tiny room facing the freeway, even though it was obvious there were very few people staying there that evening. No air conditioner meant we had to choose between a stuffy room or traffic noise. The hallway was odorous. The morning desk staff was rude. We experienced difficulty with the Internet service. The breakfast service was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager518, Manager at Scandic Odense, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back on your previous stay at Scandic Odense.

The Room allocation, your Room facing the Free way during Summer was not a mistake. This is often a request from our guests, since we do not have AC facilites. Rooms facing the parking lot during mentioned period, are warmer due to the Sun shining on the window all day.

A standard procedure during Summer at check in, is always to ask our Guests what they prefer, and I do apologise we failed in your situation / I will stress this once again to our Clerks and Department Head.

Concerning the internet / in Denmark Fiber-Optic is sill not in place, this will for sure change in the future. We work together with an external company, who will be contacted when we are experiencing challenges.

Being rude towards our guests are of course not acceptable, and certainly not up to the level of service, we at Scandic Odense wants to deliver. I will therefore discuss this matter with involved department.


With kind regards


Scandic Odense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Odense hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

A real disappointment for being a Scandic hotel. The food is bad. No room service, you have to go to the bar and order and pick up your food! The rooms are small and look empty.Far from everything!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager518, Manager at Scandic Odense, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Scandic Odense while staying in Odense. I am also pleased you took time to comment on your Stay, this will contribute to improve our product in the Future.

We do offer Room Service at the Property, we charge 50DKK delivering the order to the Room. Therefore I am, as well as you were, dissapointed to hear that you were informed incorrect. Communication/correct information, among other things, are my responsibility, therefore I hope you accept my apoligy. We will evaluate on our training to newcommers in order for us to prevent issues like this in the future.


We are located approximately 5 kilometres from the main centre of Odense, which is also being stated on our website.

With kind regards

Scandic Odense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

awful smell in room of sewage coming from shower beds tiny no sevice could'nt get a drink or any food at 7 o clock on sunday evening were told everything was closed had to make do with crisps on top of that the bar man did not give us back our change when asked about it 15 mins later he took it from his own wallet will not be back

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orlanoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager518, Manager at Scandic Odense, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for comment on Your recent stay in Odense.

I am sincerly sorry to hear about this incident concerning the service in our bar, this is certainly not up to our standards. This incident we will be discussed in the department, and I can asure you, that this will not be tolerated in the Future.

Concerning our opening hours on sundays. The last 3 years our restaurant and Bar has been closed on sundays, except during Public Holidays. This information is also stated on our website, however we do offer a selection of food and drinks in our small shop, which is located in our Lobby area. At the Front Desk a varerity of alcohol is also being offered.

We do hope despite this incidents to see you in the Future.

With kind regards

Scandic Odense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

Stayed at the Scandic Odense, during a business conference in the city. The room was not very large and the bed was small, but that is not uncommon I Denmark. But it was clean and well equipped. The breakfast next morning was very nice with lots of different hot and cold items, lovely and just what I needed.
All in all very fine, but on the evening we went for a drink in the hotel bar. We were well behaved and tried to get the bartenders attention several times without any luck. He just kept serving other customers who had arrived after us. That is very rude and not suitable for a hotel bar. A very disappointed finish, to a nice stay.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The rude bartender
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager518, Manager at Scandic Odense, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to comment on your previous stay at Scandic Odense.

In order for us to improve our product/service, responses from guests like yourself is of high value to us.

It is a pleasure hearing about the positive experiences concerning cleaning and breakfast, I will make sure to share this information with involved departements. Also the lack of service in our Bar will be shared with involvled department, I do apoligize on behalf of Scandic Odense, we strive our best to deliver a consistent service to all our guests, and therefore it is not alright when we fail to do so.

I do hope that this incident will not prevent you for coming back, we really hope to welcome you back, once in the future.

With kind regards

Scandic Odense
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odense hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
3.0 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#1 of 17 in Odense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Odense
Hotel Odense
#5 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
3.3 mi away
Cabinn Odense
Cabinn Odense
#7 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.1 mi away
Milling Hotel Ansgar
Milling Hotel Ansgar
#10 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Odense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Odense

Property: Scandic Odense
Address: Hvidkaervej 25, Odense 5250, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Odense 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3-story Hotel located on motorway ring on outskirts of town, 3 km from Fyn Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Odense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Odense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing