We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but a bit too expensive”
Review of City Hotel Odense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Odense
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad but a bit too expensive”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is just 500 meters far from the station, just 10 minutes walk to the centrum (a lot restaurants and bars there) and the staff is very friendly: you will get a lot of information and tips about the city. Probably Denmark is just more expensive than the rest of Europe but I have paid 170€ for a two nights stay in a single room, what is a kind of expensive. The room was clean but very very basic: one little table, one bed (comfortable, it has to be said), a very normal bathroom, the carpet was a bit worn. It was more a student room, a clean one, than an hotel room that costs 85 euro a night. Very good TV and fast free internet. Not bad for a short business stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandileida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    30
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
24
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Perhaps the overcast day compounded the drab appearance of this hotel, but were it not for cheerful front desk staff who made us feel so welcome, from the moment we entered the faded kitschy furnishings of the City Hotel Odense had us wondering whether we ought to cancel our reservation and spend a little more for something nicer. Our double room too was very drab with an oddly-shaped triangular bathroom that scarcely accommodated the movement of the door, each swing of it rocked the toilet back and forth on the institutional floor tile. The linens were worn and the room lighting was sparse, but it was quiet and warm on a cold night. The hotel is inexpensive and well-located for sight-seeing. Secure parking is also available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank createwks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringkøbing, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed one night at the hotel - is in walking distance to the center of Odense. very close to H.C Andersens birthplace - and pedestrianstreets.
Very friendly staff, Private locked parking - you can safely park your car and go out by foot :-)
Clean and cosy little hotel where you get Value for money.
No restaurant at the hotel, but the hotel works with at very nice little restaurant near by.
We went to another restaurant: "Cro´n" in Dronningensgade. They have old danish specialities. "Cro´n" is the best restaurant I have ever visited. You should go there if you have the possibility! Alle food made from scratch! remember to reserve a table becourse they only have 40 seats!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK_Family2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I spent two nights in the hotel at late October and did not regret it.

Pros:
- Very nice and helpful front desk day-time personnel. The evening young lady was a bit lost with her only answers - " I am new and I am from Sweden" :)
- Very nice location - 7 minute walk from everywhere, especially from the train station or city buses. Next to the police station, hence safe.
- You can get a room facing to backyard - very quiet
- Free parking if needed in the back
- Pretty nice free breakfast for Denmark, but a bit too basic. Nice breads though!
- Clean room
- Good water pressure in the shower
- Coffee machine in the basement
- Relatively OK free Internet
- Well priced
- Not far from a basic food

Cons:
- A VERY small and very basic room with a Very small bathroom
- Extremely small twin bed. I had to move the side chest away to sleep comfortably
- A room and especially bathroom needs renovation, repainting, etc
- Adding hot meals to breakfast would be very welcome
- No ventilation in the room, need to open the windows
- Basic TV programming

Overall, certainly a good value for money, especially for business traveler. A hotel needs renovation, for sure.
I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a room facing backyard on the last floor - very quite and nice sleep. There is a food store if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgorCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

A friendly, comfortable hotel just across the road from the H.C. Andersen House, Carl Neilsen museum and market square. Also just a short walk from the town centre shops, railway station and National Railway Museum. Probably the best selection of bread I have seen on a breakfast buffet. Has an associated restuarant nearby which is rather expensive. There are plenty of other places to eat within a short walk of the hotel, the closest and in my opinion best, is the Groenttorvet on the market square. A Hereford Beefstouw, Cafe Ulsted and the China Wok House are all worth a visit. Secure off-street parking available at no extra charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart - Caroli... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The location of the hotel is quite good as it is a very short walk to a shopping and restaurant area. Lots of choices for both.

The price of the room is relatively inexpensive compared to the price of other things in Denmark. I have already taken two taxis that each cost more than the hotel room.

The room was small and basic but was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower wasn't great but there was plenty of hot water. WiFi is available at no charge. There is a free breakfast buffet that is simple but sufficient. Cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread, cold meats and cheeses.

The hotel is not a bad choice. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the side street as the ones facing the main road are a bit noisy. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Location: 5-6 minutes' walk from train station and 3-5 minutes' walk into old city centre and Hans Christian Andersen house;

Room: small, very basic, comfortable bed and bedding; very thin curtains; clean (except for the mold growing in the corners of the room and discoloured grouting in the shower); functional but old-style bathroom (shower only, with clingy shower curtain); my room was off main road, so reasonably quiet; free WIFI in room;

Food: no dinner served at hotel, but not far to walk for city restaurants; basic breakfast;

Service: friendly and helpful reception staff

Value: reasonable for the room rate.

Adequate, but nothing really special. This hotel is a safe option, but there may be better (or worse) in Odense!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back courtyard as the hotel is on a big busy road, so front rooms may be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odense hotels
0.4 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#1 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
0.3 mi away
Cabinn Odense
Cabinn Odense
#7 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
0.5 mi away
Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense
2.9 mi away
Hotel Odense
Hotel Odense
#5 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Odense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Odense

Property: City Hotel Odense
Address: Hans Mules Gade 5, Odense 5000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Odense 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Odense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing