We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't gp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't gp”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

How this hotel can possibly be number two in Odense on TripAdvisor is very hard to understand. My faith in TripAdvisor has suffered a significant blow.

There are good things to be said regaring Hotel Ansgar, but the minuses outweigh the plusses by far. As soon as we entered the hotel, we noticed the smell of old. The hotel decore is a strange mix of old English cottage, chinese and some just out of place items that should have been replaced long ago – but some would say it gives the place some charme. So far not a deal breaker, just not nice.

The room however… the same smell of old mixed with the smell of mold. It hits you like a wall when you open the door to the room. There isn’t any ventilation in the rooms, not even in the bathroom. There was no visible heat source in the bathroom and I doubt floor heating existed at the time any work was done to this bathroom. The shower curtain was too short to prevent the entire floor from getting wet and here by the wooden door getting wet too, probably has a lot to do with the smell. The rot eating at the door and the mold on the walls and the ceiling not helping. The mold at the walls could be wiped away – so not much cleaning here. Besides the smell and mold, the bathroom was a very weird experience. The toilet was so close to the wall that any larger person would find it challenging to sit properly on it. The drain from the shower was under the sink, so no dry feet when someone had had a shower.

The room had had its daily clean, the sheets were clean, but no cleaning can change the fact that the carpet should have been changed years ago. The mattress was “dead” with no spring effect what so ever but I think it was bought like that. It did its job and was pleasant enough and long enough – me being a tall guy.

Fortunately it was summer and we could sleep with the windows open due to the smell. Unfortunately the noise level is very bad. Busy street, train and at the time of our stay a building site just across the street. Single duvets (sheets) for the double bed, which was nice.

The breakfast is ok – if you can wait or come early. If the serving dish is empty, it takes forever to be filled again. And it’s not because they are busy clearing the vacated tables. They stay un-cleared for a long time and doesn’t look very inviting. But they have everything when its there: eggs, bacon, pancakes, pastries, hams, cheeses, different types of bread, fruit, cereals etc.

Good things. Free parking – but come early, if full you will have to find other alternatives that could turn out to be costly. Free coffee and tea 24 hours – very good. Free wifi – worked very well. Reservation, check in, check out no problem. Very close to city center – easy walk to shopping, theater, H.C. Andersen and so on. Staff friendly.

So, try and find somewhere else if going to Odense – there has to be something better even for the same price or just a little more. The Plaza is just next door with parking, but don’t know if parking is free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGUDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    64
    16
    10
See reviews for
35
50
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

A hotel very close to the train station, where you have the public transportation to the rest of the city. The city center is few minutes to walk. The room was small, but for a short travel sufficient. The bed is very comfortable, the room quiet.The price is for Odense good. Fine was the free tea and coffee with some bakery in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoskovcova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location is about 5 minutes from the train station. The hotel has nice flair of style. The food is great and the room is super clean. The internet is great.
We also like the fact that the hotel offer dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Keyue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is ok, kind of old but charming. the rooms are a bit noisy near the street side. My stay in the hotel was made very enjoyable because they have someone organising a running session at 7am in the morning. A good and healthy way to wake up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelvmx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wortegem-Petegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you're looking for a cheap hotel+breakfast @ < 90 € / night, then that's the one. Very basic hotel with clean rooms, good bed but no restaurant facilities at all. At 10 minutes distance, Odense Park great running facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Dupont_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed for another 24h meeting at this place. For our meeting the room are quite OK. The buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner are quite good - fine selection and quick replenishment.
The hotel is not new and it somwhat worn and torn, but kep in fine condition

Room Tip: Book a room away from the mani street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars_Krull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odense hotels
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#1 of 17 in Odense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milling Hotel Windsor, Odense
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabinn Odense
Cabinn Odense
#7 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milling Hotel Plaza, Odense
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense

Property: Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense
Address: Oestre Stationsvej 32, Odense 5000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansgar Hotel Odense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing