We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and place”
Review of Sortebro Kro

Sortebro Kro
Ranked #1 of 257 Restaurants in Odense
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: French, Danish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice food and place”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Inside Funnen Village, a collection of danish old houses,the restaurant occupies a more than centenial manor. Good food,good wines all served by professional maitres who explains the origins of each dish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruiflavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
14 - 05 - 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely visit and your wonderful feedback:-)

We can't wait to exceed you expectaions..:-)

Until next time alle the best..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    63
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch offer for the choosy guest”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

On a Friday around lunch time we happened to find our self near this old-school restaurant and decided to take a break and get lunch. The lunch menu is fairly varied and gives you options between meat, fish, salad and vegetarian dishes - they also offer a 3 course fixed lunch menu. We went for the fish of the day, which was excellently prepared and served with a wonderful side of small new potatoes and some kind of oyster-foam. The complimentary bread is homemade and really makes the difference between a good lunch and an excellent lunch experience. The lunch is not cheap, but the quality vs. the price paid is in my mind absolutely fair. We had a nice lunch and will return for the dinner menu if we happen to be in the area again in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bloklyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for you review. So glad to hear you had a lovely time and experience here with us. Hope to see you again soon, we will love to welcome you back :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Classical cooking at its best”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This place understands flavour, presentatin and service and it knows it.

The surroundings of this restaurant are unqiue and typically Danish complete with thatched roof and cobble stone. The entry to the restaurant is like someone’s house (see picture) and the actual restaurant used to be the old barn. So this sets the tone for some rustic style cooking. It is, but it is fine classical rustic cooking with natural touches such as using straw to stimulate the nose to complement the food (see picture). The waiter knows his stuff and there is a real love for food permeating in this place. I would come back as I think they could surprise me with the menu the second time around. We chose the degustation. It had things like flynder with egg yoke drops and the straw giving aroma which you do not normally see on a menu. The cheese selection was phenomenal with cheeses you can never ever buy in a shop.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kofod-pedersen, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Google Translation
Kære Gæst Evoqueen
mange - mange tak for jeres besøg óp til jul sidste år
vi er utrolig glade for jeres anmeldelse af vores julebord og jeg håber at i ikke kom til at spise for meget af alle de små lækkerier
jeg håber at vi for muligheden for at servere nogle af vores lækre ala carte retter for jer næste gang i besøger os
kærligst John Kofod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

4 of us went on a Friday night for my husband's 40th birthday. We were treated like royalty. The food and accompanying wine was very good, but the cherry on the cake was when they presented a gift for my husband of their lovely apron. What an amazing gesture. John the owner and head chef came out of the kitchen to greet us to wish my husband . The personal touch makes the world of difference. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Google Translation
Kære søde Colleen

Mange - mange tak for din Flotte beskrivelse af din Mands fødselsdags middag på sortebro kro - vi er utrolig glade fordi du valgte os til at fejre aftenen og vi håber at Vores lille gave kan gøre gavn i køkkenet der hjemme
Hils jeres søde venner og vi glæder os til i kommer igen
Knus john Kofod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

By far the best restaurant in town so far...

Dont know how much it cost, but I really had brilliant ftasting ood there.

The thigh that makes me really positive about this restaurant, is that it was food that I am not normally super fan of that, but it was so so delicious in the way they cooked it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Google Translation
Tak - TAk - TAk We Love it
Og endnu engang Tak
John Kofod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sortebro Kro also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Sortebro Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing