We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, historical surroundings”
Review of Sortebro Kro

Sortebro Kro
Ranked #1 of 290 Restaurants in Odense
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: French, Danish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A lovely old Inn right in the middle of Denmark , we are open 7 days a week all year around - we have a Café and a Restaurant
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The food is absolutely superb made from Local produce and you will love the old buildings including the restaurant, which is housed in the original inn with Royal privileges several hundred years old. Actually the surroundings are some thirty original village buildings constituting an open-air museum, where you Can experience, how people lived in the Danish countryside 200 years ago.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gersbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

dear guest
many - many thanks for your visit to Sortebro and many thanks for the've described your visit here on tripadvisor - we hope you had a wonderful summer vacation around Denmark in the lovely summer weather
many gastronomic greetings John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

This place was superb. The restaurant is charming, the setting is uniquely attractive, the service is professional and on top of all this it is blessed with an extremely gifted chef. The excellent ingredients were enhanced by a chef who understands the use of flavour and texture combinations. The proportions of the meal were perfect, and the homemade bread deserves a special mention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CNH0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

dear guest
thank you for your visit to Sortebro and many thanks for your incredibly beautiful description of your visit to my restaurant - we're all on the restaurant very - very honored of your review
we hope the best for your tour around Funen
many greetings john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Inside Funnen Village, a collection of danish old houses,the restaurant occupies a more than centenial manor. Good food,good wines all served by professional maitres who explains the origins of each dish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruiflavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

14 - 05 - 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely visit and your wonderful feedback:-)

We can't wait to exceed you expectaions..:-)

Until next time alle the best..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

On a Friday around lunch time we happened to find our self near this old-school restaurant and decided to take a break and get lunch. The lunch menu is fairly varied and gives you options between meat, fish, salad and vegetarian dishes - they also offer a 3 course fixed lunch menu. We went for the fish of the day, which was excellently prepared and served with a wonderful side of small new potatoes and some kind of oyster-foam. The complimentary bread is homemade and really makes the difference between a good lunch and an excellent lunch experience. The lunch is not cheap, but the quality vs. the price paid is in my mind absolutely fair. We had a nice lunch and will return for the dinner menu if we happen to be in the area again in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bloklyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for you review. So glad to hear you had a lovely time and experience here with us. Hope to see you again soon, we will love to welcome you back :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This place understands flavour, presentatin and service and it knows it.

The surroundings of this restaurant are unqiue and typically Danish complete with thatched roof and cobble stone. The entry to the restaurant is like someone’s house (see picture) and the actual restaurant used to be the old barn. So this sets the tone for some rustic style cooking. It is, but it is fine classical rustic cooking with natural touches such as using straw to stimulate the nose to complement the food (see picture). The waiter knows his stuff and there is a real love for food permeating in this place. I would come back as I think they could surprise me with the menu the second time around. We chose the degustation. It had things like flynder with egg yoke drops and the straw giving aroma which you do not normally see on a menu. The cheese selection was phenomenal with cheeses you can never ever buy in a shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kofod-pedersen, Owner at Sortebro Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013
Google Translation

Kære Gæst Evoqueen
mange - mange tak for jeres besøg óp til jul sidste år
vi er utrolig glade for jeres anmeldelse af vores julebord og jeg håber at i ikke kom til at spise for meget af alle de små lækkerier
jeg håber at vi for muligheden for at servere nogle af vores lækre ala carte retter for jer næste gang i besøger os
kærligst John Kofod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sortebro Kro also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Sortebro Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing