We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Italia

Bella Italia
Ranked #16 of 67 Restaurants in Svendborg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Not much to say, really. The service, food, and speed of arrival of food were all above average, and the menu fairly extensive. I shall return next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice evening. Good food and wine in an nice atmosphere. We had lamb and pancakes with ice cream for dessert. All was wrapped in with Italian music. We can recommend it!

Helpful?
1 Thank magiska_blommor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Italian Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I've enjoyed Bella Italia the times I've been there. The menu pricing is confusing in some ways (how is a pasta dish wish chicken cheaper than one with lobster and crab?), but all in all, it's a good place and makes for a filling meal.

Staff is also pretty used to non-locals - even if the place fills with locals - so you can expect service a bit above what one typically finds in Europe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnIsEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice service/good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a nice evening - good food and wine ! Good Italiano host ! Salvatore made this evening special ! We will come again !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Bella Italia A Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

I would seriously question a guidebook description of Bella Italia as the best Italian food in Svendborg. We went there with high hopes, but the very slow service immediately put a damper on the evening. We had to ask for menus, ask to order, and ask for the check, with long waits in between each event. I ordered the seafood risotto, which turned out to be rice, not true risotto, although in all fairness, it was tasty. The real imbroglio came at the end of this long evening when we assembled a crowd of two waitresses and the owner, all trying in vain to run our credit card, which does not have a PIN. As we learned, most Danish-issued credit cards come with a mandatory PIN. Ours does not, and nobody on the restaurant staff knew how to run a card without a PIN--inexcusable, since EVERY other shop, restaurant, and hotel we encountered in a 10-day Danish trip somehow knew how to configure their credit card machine to accept this situation. Bella Italia was quite crowded on this Saturday night, but i wish we had gone elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Italia also viewed

Svendborg, Funen and Islands
Svendborg, Funen and Islands
 
Svendborg, Funen and Islands
Svendborg, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing