We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms.. Good Location..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cabinn Aalborg
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is in a good location as it is opposite to UTZON center (the last building to be designed by Jørn Utzon, the architect behind the Sydney Opera House) and located in the center of Aalborg with some places to see, do shopping and dine. Also it is very close to airport (5.7km), however I had to pay around 160DKK (30 USD).

I went for a single room but a room can be used by two as it is having bunker beds (with upper bed). This is a basic room. There is no iron in the room. I stayed here because I was attending a conference held in Nordkraft. I found it very hard. The mirrors are only inside the bathroom. So I had to go outside to corridor to see the full size mirror. There are very long passages and in between there are very big life size mirrors. There is an electric jug and some complimentary coffee, tea and sugar packets are provided. The breakfast is basic.

The toilet is very cramped (hard to sit properly also) with the shower above you. The smallest bathroom I have ever seen. However, it is fine if you are here for a short stay. Also can here the flushing sounds from other rooms.

In Denmarks terms this could be considered as a budget hotel, however it is expensive when you consider the cramp rooms (specially the bathroom). Had a window and can see the side road (H&M side), which is a good thing is in some budget hotels they do not have windows.

The staff seems to be quite friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

For UK visitors, think Travelodge, but with much friendlier staff. Basic, single room, but had all I needed and the reception staff were great. The hotel is well located for the centre of Aalborg, with some good bars and shops nearby.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank paulysalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying in a family room for four. The room was surprisingly spacious, we were four ladies with motorcycle gear and all our stuff fitted perfectly in the room and there was still room over to sit and relax. The upper bed was terribly high (I am a bit scared of heights..) and the bed had no sides so it is definitely not a place for small kids to sleep in. The pillow and duvet were nice and fluffy so the bed was ok to sleep in. The positive thing in having the upper bed so high up is that you get more space on the lower bunk so you could easily sit on the bed even i you happen to be a bit taller than the rest of us!

The toilet / bathroom was unbelievably small, it was like in a cabin on a ferry boat. There was no shelves or anything in the shower to put your soap and shampoo onto and the shower was attached to the ceiling and in the middle of the shower "cabin" (=with shower curtain drawn) so it was nearly impossible to avoid getting hair wet. Still it was very cramped and it became a real challenge to get hair washed in this shower.

The location was absolutely perfect, in the middle of the city, close to everything. There is a garage in connection to the hotel, you have to take a few steps from the garage before getting to the elevator so that will not work so fine for disabled guests or guests with prams (I do not know if there is another entrance for them). Breakfast was good, choice of breads, cereal etc. Orange juice was from concentrate and not so good (artificial taste) but coffee was good.

The hotel was definitely worth the price and could stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First of all, do not expect too much. Beds were quite small. My room was too cold. Bathroom is far away from being decent. Hotel was quite expensive for its standards.

Anyway, it is an average hotel for denmark.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Salih Serdar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My first stay in Aalborg I was booked at this hotel. It was very small and cramped and I had great difficulty sleeping in the beds. After many hours of travel from the USA this was a pleasant experience for me. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good but other than that I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickmsfit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Cabinn is a quit new big hotel. The rooms are very small but for a short stay they are very ok. Also the bathroom is very small but the water is very warm and the shower brings water enough. The cleaning of the room is daily and good. Also enough towels. Also nice is the watercooker so you can make hotdrinks by yourself in your room.
The people from the reception I spoke to were very friendly. The breakfast is ok with enough choices. The hotel is nearby the shopping centre.
If you want a good and friendly hotel and you don't care about pretty small rooms I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank reinatouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Clean and cozy. Hotel entrance not exactly what you know for a hotel, more than a shop maybe. Economy Rooms really small, but work out fine. The concept is like you are on a boat, so is the bathroom. People not so smiley in general. Positioning in fantastic. Right in the middle of the city, exactly where you can go everywhere on foot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meditec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
0.4 mi away
Milling Hotel Gestus, Aalborg
10.1 mi away
Tylstrup Kro
Tylstrup Kro
#11 of 19 in Aalborg
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Aalborg
First Hotel Aalborg
#2 of 19 in Aalborg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Prinsen Hotel
0.6 mi away
Scandic Aalborg City
Scandic Aalborg City
#1 of 19 in Aalborg
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
#10 of 19 in Aalborg
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabinn Aalborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabinn Aalborg

Address: Fjordgade 20, Aalborg 9000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabinn Aalborg 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cabinn Aalborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing