We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain and clean hotel at the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Aalborg
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Plain and clean hotel at the waterfront”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What you see is what you get. Nothing fancy. We booked a junior suite which was located on the top floor (5th). Please note that there is no elevator going further than the 4th floor (this fact was not mentioned in any way, neither on the website or by the staff) if you are disabled or have trouble with stairs.

If you are looking for a quiet night, you should ask for a room at the back, not facing the waterfront. There was large boats at the harbour running their engines all night.

The breakfast was plain but OK, the scrambled eggs tasted a bit strange but I guess it was a semi-finished product. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is central - you can walk to pubs, restaurants and shopping in just 2 mins.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet night, you should ask for a room at the back, not facing the waterfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountain_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Direktør at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
First of all thank you for staying at First Hotel Aalborg and off cause for taking the time to give feedback.
You are compleatly right 4 of our junior suites are located on 5th floor, and the elevator stops at 4th floor. I will make sure that our reception will mention this fact in future.

I am very happy that you find our staff friendly and helful....that is our ambition every day.

Regarding our scrambled eggs I will promise you that we each day make make our scrambled egg from scratch with fresh eggs ;)

Once again thank you for your stay with us, and we hope to velcoming you again.

Best Regards
Morten Christiansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    190
    140
    45
    25
See reviews for
84
170
19
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skelleftea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent 4 nights at First Hotel Aalborg.

The location, at the beautiful waterfront, close by to the city center is perfect.

The room I got on the first floor was well cleaned and no funny smells. Those are the positives, which obviously are very important so not a bad start.

Having said that, the room itself and its interior design left quite a lot to desire. It felt like a mish-mash of furniture without any real thought behind it. The bathroom reminded me of a roadside hotel date 1980. The bed was OK, maybe a little on the "too soft" side. Cleaning of the room was up to par. The big negative, NO AC! During my stay temperature outside got well above 20C and the room got very hot. A modern hotel room today should have this. If you are easily awaken by sounds you should probably avoid this hotel too, as its not that well isolated for noise.

There is little more to say about the room, maybe some rooms are more newly renovated and I just got an old one. But for the price I paid it does NOT live up to standard.

The breakfast had most basic stuff, nothing over the top but not bad either. Maybe felt a little uninspired..

The personnel, whom I interacted with, was nice and very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor during the summer, you will need to have the window open all night if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebowski101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Leder  at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Google Translation
Tak for dit besøg på First Hotel Aalborg.

Ligeledes tak fordi du har brugt tid på din feedback til os og andre.
Det er super positivt, at du har nydt vores beliggenhed på havnen.

Det er glædeligt at fortæller dig, at samtlige badeværelser er færdig renoveret
ved udgangen af 2014. Dette upgraderer hotellet i betydelig grad.

Det er gør mig mest glad er at du har oplevet vores personale som hyggeligt og venligt.

Endnu engang tak for din feedback, og vi gælder os til at byde dig velkommen på First Hotel Aalborg igen.

De bedste Hilsner

Morten Christiansen
GM - First Hotel Aalborg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for almost 2 weeks for business. Hotel is well located ,200 meters walk to city centre and shopping areas ,on the river

Pros: Wifi was pretty fast.Gym is actually pretty well equipped for a hotel.Free parking. They also offer bicycles for rent. Room was clean and the bed was great . Staff were great

Cons: no english channels on TV.No kettle in the room to make tea or something. NO AC. the breakfast is pretty basic

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors and room facing courtyard, the street might be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you consider this hotel please bring ear plugs. The rooms are very poorly sound isolated, and a lot of young party-oriented people seems to use this hotel (I stayed during a weekend, don't know how it is the rest of the week). I didn't get much sleep for the two nights I stayed there! All I wanted was two good nights of sleep, First Hotel Aalborg was not able to provide this.
On the positive side: The breakfast buffet is very nice, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are big.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GlobeM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aalborg hotels

Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

If you want a budget Hotel in Aalborg then choose this one. Realize there is no mini-bar, no room service and none of the usual amenities, but after all it is a Scandinavian Hotel, and tends to be a bit basic. Staff are friendly and nice. If your company chooses these types of hotels for your business travel, then change jobs life is too short....

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The first hotel is a wonderful hotel to stay at. no nasty surprises. you get what you pay for and the hotel staff (especially reception) always go the extra mile. comfortable hotel, nice bathrooms, decent gym. beautiful views of the river. brilliant breakfast and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hasvinee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Two collegues and I stayed here 4 nights on business.
Decent hotel, the room itself was nice and clean but the bathroom was worn and not very clean. The bed was big and comfortable. Staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was good.
WiFi was free, but a hassle to get a new access code every 24h.
Housekeeping didn't restock shampoo and soap often enough...
Free parking is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
0.6 mi away
Scandic Aalborg City
Scandic Aalborg City
#1 of 19 in Aalborg
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg
0.5 mi away
Milling Hotel Gestus, Aalborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg
0.5 mi away
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
#9 of 19 in Aalborg
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aalborg
Hotel Aalborg
#10 of 19 in Aalborg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Aalborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Aalborg

Property: First Hotel Aalborg
Address: Rendsburggade 5, Aalborg 9000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Aalborg 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to First Hotel Aalborg Located on Aalborgs new Waterfront, between Musikkens Hus and Utzon Centeret. Renovated in 2012, the hotel is modern and up to date. Recently, all bathrooms and the reception area have undergone additional renovations. Professional City and Conference hotel with the City's best location. Our staff is ready to provide you with a unique and personal experience. Prices includes a delicious breakfast buffet, free Wi-Fi. Parking is available at the hotel for at fee- 95 DKK/ day. If you wish to park at the hotel, please see the Front Desk for registration of your vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Aalborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing