We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, very centrL hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Aalborg
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Aalborg
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a very central hotel, that lays in the centrum of Aalborg. Just a small walk to every thing. Only thing is that there was no AC or ventilation, so when we stayed, it was extremly hot, 30 degrees celsius, i side and outside. Very difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Saltogalten666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Direktør at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014
Google Translation

Kære gæst.

Dejligt at I har haft en godt ophold på First Hotel Aalborg.

Jeg skal beklage, at I har haft det varmt på jeres værelse, men
sommeren har været ekstrem varm i Aalborg, og der bliver naturligvis til tider varm på værelserne.

Vi har beklageligvis, i lighed med de øvrige Aalborg hoteller, ingen Air Condition på værelserne.

Endnu engang tak for dit ophold hos os.

Med venlig hilsen

Morten Christiansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great stay at the hotel, but we have a few things we didn't like.
1. It costs 25 DKK for a cup of tea (boiled water and a pickwick bag) - it was cheaper and better at Starbucks, so we went there instead.

2. There wasn't any anti bacterial gel at the buffet - and all the guests touched the spoons and so on. Some of them were sick and coughed in their hands and afterwards the touched the whole buffet. I would be nice to at least have the choice about being sick. We bought some gel for ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Line S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Direktør at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Line,

I very happy that you had a great stay with us.

And I must admit Starbucks probably serves at better coffee og tea than we do, but I will promise you that our price level in general is no different for other Aalborg hotels.

Regarding Anti-bacterial I have to correct you, since we have "gel dispensors" placed just next to the breakfast buffet. However I will make you sure that we improve signs, so it will be more visual.

Once again thank you for your stay and review.

Best regards

Morten Christiansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First Aalborg har a very kindly and helpfull staff.
It's placed only a few hundred meters from the center of Aalborg so you are completely independent of public transport. the waterfront with lot of actvities is only 5 minuts walk awy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Mogens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Direktør at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mogens,

Thank you for staying at our hotel.

I am very pleased to hear that you find our staff kindly and friendly.....I will share you comments with my team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to First Hotel Aalborg

Best Regards

Morten Christiansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We only spent one night at First Hotel Ålborg. The room was fine and clean and with enough floor space to our golf bags and suitcases. The bed was very good - we slept very comfortable. The breakfast was really good. in and out check went quickly - super service. We have already booked for the next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Direktør at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Susie,

I am very happy that you had an excellent stay at our hotel, and you the service, breakfast at everything went well. That is what we practice each day.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards
Morten Christiansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Generally a good hotel, nice staff and a good breakfast. Be aware of when booking a standard room, you are only offered a room with old/originally bathroom or with a bad or noicy location. There is an extra charge of DKK 200 per night to have a little better room (better bathroom or a better location/view). We thought the standard room was unacceptable and ended of paying much more than we expected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Sigrun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Direktør at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sigrun,

Thanks your for the feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am very glad to hear that you have had a good stay at First Hotel Aalborg and you had a nice experince with our staff and our breakfast buffet,

When booking a standard room at First Hotel Aalborg we in generel offer a standard room with a newly renovated bathroom. This is of cause due to availability so when they are full you will be placed in a alternativ standard room. When bookin your room at First Hotel Aalborg you are very velcome to request a renovated room.

Normally the price difference between standard and superior room is 200 dkk. Our superior rooms are overviewing the limfjord, free tea and coffee, extra chair and Iron facilities.

In fall this year we will finish our renovation, and all our 154 room will have modern and enviroment friendly bathrooms.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Best regards
Morten Christiansen
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What you see is what you get. Nothing fancy. We booked a junior suite which was located on the top floor (5th). Please note that there is no elevator going further than the 4th floor (this fact was not mentioned in any way, neither on the website or by the staff) if you are disabled or have trouble with stairs.

If you are looking for a quiet night, you should ask for a room at the back, not facing the waterfront. There was large boats at the harbour running their engines all night.

The breakfast was plain but OK, the scrambled eggs tasted a bit strange but I guess it was a semi-finished product. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is central - you can walk to pubs, restaurants and shopping in just 2 mins.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet night, you should ask for a room at the back, not facing the waterfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Direktør at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest
First of all thank you for staying at First Hotel Aalborg and off cause for taking the time to give feedback.
You are compleatly right 4 of our junior suites are located on 5th floor, and the elevator stops at 4th floor. I will make sure that our reception will mention this fact in future.

I am very happy that you find our staff friendly and helful....that is our ambition every day.

Regarding our scrambled eggs I will promise you that we each day make make our scrambled egg from scratch with fresh eggs ;)

Once again thank you for your stay with us, and we hope to velcoming you again.

Best Regards
Morten Christiansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent 4 nights at First Hotel Aalborg.

The location, at the beautiful waterfront, close by to the city center is perfect.

The room I got on the first floor was well cleaned and no funny smells. Those are the positives, which obviously are very important so not a bad start.

Having said that, the room itself and its interior design left quite a lot to desire. It felt like a mish-mash of furniture without any real thought behind it. The bathroom reminded me of a roadside hotel date 1980. The bed was OK, maybe a little on the "too soft" side. Cleaning of the room was up to par. The big negative, NO AC! During my stay temperature outside got well above 20C and the room got very hot. A modern hotel room today should have this. If you are easily awaken by sounds you should probably avoid this hotel too, as its not that well isolated for noise.

There is little more to say about the room, maybe some rooms are more newly renovated and I just got an old one. But for the price I paid it does NOT live up to standard.

The breakfast had most basic stuff, nothing over the top but not bad either. Maybe felt a little uninspired..

The personnel, whom I interacted with, was nice and very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor during the summer, you will need to have the window open all night if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lebowski101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten C, Leder  at First Hotel Aalborg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014
Google Translation

Tak for dit besøg på First Hotel Aalborg.

Ligeledes tak fordi du har brugt tid på din feedback til os og andre.
Det er super positivt, at du har nydt vores beliggenhed på havnen.

Det er glædeligt at fortæller dig, at samtlige badeværelser er færdig renoveret
ved udgangen af 2014. Dette upgraderer hotellet i betydelig grad.

Det er gør mig mest glad er at du har oplevet vores personale som hyggeligt og venligt.

Endnu engang tak for din feedback, og vi gælder os til at byde dig velkommen på First Hotel Aalborg igen.

De bedste Hilsner

Morten Christiansen
GM - First Hotel Aalborg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
0.6 mi away
Scandic Aalborg City
Scandic Aalborg City
#2 of 16 in Aalborg
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg
0.5 mi away
Milling Hotel Gestus, Aalborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg
0.5 mi away
Best Western Prinsen Hotel
0.5 mi away
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
#11 of 16 in Aalborg
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Aalborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Aalborg

Address: Rendsburggade 5, Aalborg 9000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range: £96 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Aalborg 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to First Hotel Aalborg Located on Aalborgs new Waterfront, between Musikkens Hus and Utzon Centeret. Renovated in 2012, the hotel is modern and up to date. Recently, all bathrooms and the reception area have undergone additional renovations. Professional City and Conference hotel with the City's best location. Our staff is ready to provide you with a unique and personal experience. Prices includes a delicious breakfast buffet, free Wi-Fi. Parking is available at the hotel for at fee- 95 DKK/ day. If you wish to park at the hotel, please see the Front Desk for registration of your vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Aalborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing