We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Aalborg East
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I spent a week here on business. The rooms have the bare minimum just, but dont have the very minimum of a kettle in the room, if you want a drink, walk to reception and "buy" one.
The room was comfy if not a bit dated, usual Danish layout, bathroom sufficient.
As with other reviews, this hotel is next to the main road, but a long way from Aalborg town or any facilities, so be warned.
Scandic facilities are closed on Sunday, no bar, no restaurant, so make plans to eat if arriving late on a Sunday.
The local petrol station 2mins walk away has a fine selection of food and beverage if needed.
Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rattler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders B, Front Office Manager at Scandic Aalborg East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi NorthernGravy

Thank you for your review. It is alway nice to get feedback from our guests.

We always have a selection of sandwiches, salads, snacks and drinks in our shop at the reception so even if the restaurant is closed we always have something to offer.

Our Superior Extra rooms offer coffeemaking facilities, bathrobe, movie channels and more for a minor supplement.

Hope to see you in Aalborg soon
Anders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

It’s a place to sleep and it is very close to the freeway. It you’re travelling by car and on business and if you don’t feel like going for a walk or a restaurant at night, this is the perfect place.

If you – on the other hand – are looking to visit the city of Aalborg this is not the hotel for you.

Room-sizes are ok, but the rooms feel kind of dated.

Breakfast is ok.

Internet works fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders B, Front Office Manager at Scandic Aalborg East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Reinholdt

Thank you for your review.

We are not a city hotel but rather an easily accessible hotel with a large free parking area.
If you would like to go for a walk on you next visit we have a number of suggestions and running maps at the reception. There is a large park a 500 meters from the hotel which is an excellent destination for an evening walk.

Regards
Anders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Here you find a "work-hotel"
No extravagant luxury, but you will find, what you need, and everything works nice and easy.
Good service, nice staff, cleanliness, good food and free fast WIFI.
The hotel is located near the motorway and is very easy to reach.
A little distance from Aalborg city. You will need a car.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders B, Front Office Manager at Scandic Aalborg East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Claus007

Thank you for your review.

It is nice to hear that you had a nice visit with us :-)

We look forward to your next visit

Regards
Anders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

It will be an easy task to find a better and less expensive hotel in Aalborg.

Good:
Staff was very friendly

Bad:
Expensive, Worn Down, Cold

Located Next to the highway, this hotel offers nothing but a clean bed to sleep in.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Hald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders B, Front Office Manager at Scandic Aalborg East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Mh_hald

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

During the past few months we have been upgrading many aspects of our hotel. Freshly painted rooms and a completely refurbished restaurant is just a couple of examples. The restaurant opened the in the last week of february so i am sorry that you did not have a chance to visit during your stay.

Thank you for your kind words to our staff. Service is what we live for.

Hope to see you in Aalborg again
Regards
Anders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Got into Aalborg on a late flight so stayed here before an early start the next morning. Hotel was clean and staff friendly enough. No tea/coffee making facilities Ina standard room so have to pay 20 DKr every time from the machine. All in all a good overnight experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders B, Front Office Manager at Scandic Aalborg East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Brstocker

Thank you for the good review.

I hope you had a chance to visit our new restaurant which opened on February 24th :-)

Hope to see you in Aalborg soon

Regards
Anders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Special junior suite reserved 1½ year in advance was missing when checking a few days before arrival. This was booked for a special foreign friend with special needs. Staff explained misunderstanding and reacted slowly. At last a less suitable solution was offered for a little discount. Towels weren't replaced - had to ask. Staffed spilled coffee on a book- no compensation offered, but a note offering muffin and cup of coffee. Room worn out. Hotel needs restoration in general. Staff OK at the reception but the poor restaurant had unfriendly and almost no service. Steak not properly prepared, white wine warm, water not offered, bread dry hard as stone. Very slow staff almost imprudent to guests when asked for something. Needed to ask for the dessert from the monthly menu, and it simply wasn't available. Monthly main course 50% fat & sinews and terribly spiced. No food but a buffet from 20:00 on Sunday. Bad motel quality for Hotel Price. Only the location at the outskirts of Aalborg was advantageous but not enough to make up for this experience, also because of the location guests depend heavily on proper meals. A GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT - which influenced terribly at the stay in general.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders B, Front Office Manager at Scandic Aalborg East, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hi Dorte

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel - that is not the standard we usually strive to.
I have used your comments in our internal service training which we conduct monthly - wihout comments from our guests we cannot improve.

I sincerely hope you will give us another chance at your next visit to Aalborg.

Regards
Anders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Scandic Aalborg should be considered for only two things.. Great staff! and location if you have business in the outskirts of the city. The rooms are old and worn out as is the rest of the hotel. Have stayed a number of times, most recently last year and still no renovation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders B, Front Office Manager at Scandic Aalborg East, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hi

Thank you for your review - without feedback we never evolve.

Thanks for the kind words to our staff :-)
We put a lot of effert into delivering great service.

Some of our rooms are of older vintage. We continually try to improve our product.
Our common areas were renovated in 2011, We installed new High Definition TV's in all rooms this year. And at the moment we are refurbishing our oldest rooms.

We hope to see you again in Aalborg soon
Regards
Anders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
2.5 mi away
Scandic Aalborg City
Scandic Aalborg City
#1 of 19 in Aalborg
429 reviews
2.3 mi away
First Hotel Aalborg
First Hotel Aalborg
#2 of 19 in Aalborg
568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg
2.6 mi away
Milling Hotel Gestus, Aalborg
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Scheelsminde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Aalborg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Aalborg East

Address: Hadsundvej 200, Aalborg 9220, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range: £100 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Aalborg East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Aalborg hotel, the natural place to meet in north Jutland. Just 10 minutes from central Aalborg.Enjoy the Scandic Aalborg hotel's central location in the heart of Denmark's beautiful north Jutland area. The Scandic Aalborg hotel is easy to find as it's situated just off the E45 motorway. The hotel is your perfect base for visiting all the north Jutland attractions or for exploring Aalborg shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Aalborg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing