We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms, and could really need an upgrade all over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Prinsen Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very small rooms, and could really need an upgrade all over”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Once we walked into the room, we got quite shocked. The room was so small that it wasn´t even possible to open to door properly, since the room was so small. The pillows were awfull and dirty and the beds uncomfortable. The water in the sink were only cold, and it took a lot of work to get the water in the shower to become slightly warm. Great location, no doubts about that. All in all, quite dissapointing. But than again, it´s really cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    29
    20
    6
See reviews for
15
31
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great place to stay because it is just across the railway station, and close to the supermarket and the heart of the city. Rooms are pricey; the double room superior is spacious. Unfortunately the same cannot be said of the bathroom. Buffet breakfast is good, not great. Wi-fi is fantastic. There is also a computer room. I enjoyed the facility of hot chocolate throughout the day - must have had it at least 3-4 times during the day. Definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Aalborg.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subramanian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I have been coming back to the Prinsens Hotel for several years now. Sure, the rooms are small and it's an older building, and the bathrooms in the rooms are so small, but once you get accustomed, it's fine. The breakfast buffet is superb, there is a computer room and generally there is not a long wait to use the computer, there are maps of Aalborg free to guests, the staff are very friendly and know the area, it is so close to the train and bus stations, and near the old part of town with many points of interest in walking distance. I've always enjoyd my stays and they make me feel welcome and right at home. When I go to Aalborg, this is where I want to stay. It is much quieter on the east side, though. Danish trains are quiet, but their brakes... not so quiet!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edspohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The hotel is in an old building near the train stations of Aalborg, close to car parking. Location so it is good, because of the inner centre is within walking distance. Breakfast buffet included is good with a wide choice. Rooms and bed-clothes were not clean, room lights broken. Receptionist were not so kind and reception working hours was very short (sunday closed, for example). Good free wi-fi in all structure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bliss984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aalborg hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Before going to Aalborg i read trip advisor's comments on thsi hotel and to be hoest was regrettign havingchoen the Prinsens hotel. but on arriving there i couldt find anything bad. all theother comments about how bad thsi hotel is are unfounded. both rooms i used were perfectly clean, bathroom was good hto water in shower nd heatin worked. the staff was also friendly and the breakfast was very abundant. free internet in the lobby and a very coo vintage lift (which works well, dont eb afraid)

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andremalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2010

It was not very pleasant, sour smell from the bathroom og service was nothing to brag about. I needed to print something and asked for help - the answer was: No! The hotel looks good from the outside and is centrally situated near everything worth visiting in Aalborg. Inside it looked like the kind of place that one might find in a remote part of Eastern Europe. It's cheap but, in my opinion, it is not good value.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rasmusjohnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
299 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Hotel is old, restored. Cleany. Towels, soap, shampoo, the hair dryer. The TV. The lift in hotel is more than 100 years old. It works.
With hotel it was wrote off in advance, has warned that I will arrive late. Have met, have lodged. Under my request in advance they have ordered a little table at restaurant (not in hotel). Have given a card, have explained how there to pass. Hotel nearby from Railway station, and from the bus terminal. There is about 15 minutes of walk to the sea.
Departure - on Sunday early in the morning. Buses do not go yet. On Saturday I went down on reception and asked to call a taxi. Ordered. I leave with a suitcase in the morning, all was closed tightly, even there is no place to leave key. Has hung up it on fountain in a lobby. In the street there was a bus)), that was my taxi. You, speaks, from number 9? Then have gone.
Breakfast - a buffet. Anything outstanding, good 4 +. Here only the early breakfast is not present.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
0.2 mi away
Milling Hotel Gestus, Aalborg
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
#8 of 19 in Aalborg
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Hotel Aalborg
First Hotel Aalborg
#1 of 19 in Aalborg
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Aalborg City
Scandic Aalborg City
#2 of 19 in Aalborg
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Scheelsminde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prinsen Hotel

Property: Best Western Prinsen Hotel
Address: Prinsens Gade 14-16, Aalborg 9000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prinsen, centrally located in Aalborg city. One minute walk from Aalborg train and bus station. Pick shuttle bus Aalborg Airport stops a few minutes walk from the hotel and runs three times per hour with only a fifteen minute drive to the airport. Taxi stand opposite the hotel. Aalborghallen is opposite the hotel. Stroget, museums, shops and Jomfru Ane Gade is a short walk from the hotel. Next to the hotel there is an ATM, a hairdresser and a shopping center with cinema and many restaurants. The hotel has some free parking spaces. The hotel is 100% smoke-free. BEST WESTERN Hotel Prinsen has 37 rooms, all with shower, toilet and cable TV, all tastefully decorated in contemporary design, elevator, library, business center, bar and breakfast room is tastefully decorated with modern art. The hotel is full of cozy charm, personality, smiling and friendly service. Breakfast is included in the price, as is free internet and free newspapers and does not have any type of environmental fee, nor credit card charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing