We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel- But The BEDS will ruin you” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Aalborg City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Aalborg City
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel- But The BEDS will ruin you”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I loved this hotel- location was great, excellent breakfast, friendly staff who were excellent.

I gave this hotel a terrible rating because if you are a business traveller a decent night's sleep is essential. I have never popped as many Ibren in my life - after 3 days I changed hotel's.

Management need to invest in better beds. I slept a maximum of 3 hours a night which made for rough days ahead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravelguru2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuno R, Direktør at Scandic Aalborg City, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I sorry to hear that you did not find our beds comfortable enough, and i am sorry that you did not mentioned it to our staff, as we have different options.

It is individual if you prefer a bed hard or soft - or maybe some where in the middle.

Our outstanding Jensen Beds does allmost every day get positive feedback, but offcourse some guests prefer other options once in a while.

If you get back to Aalborg, please let os know what kind og comfort you need, and we will try to find a bed just perfect for you.

Best Regards

Kuno Becker-Rasmussen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    165
    72
    17
    4
See reviews for
70
96
9
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed one night at the hotel, while on business trip to Aalborg. Found the hotel to be comfortable and efficient - a fine place to stay overnight.
The hotel is located just south of the center of town, right by the main road that runs through town (and to the airport). Fairly convenient location and easy to find if traveling by car.
The rooms are reasonably sized with a good comfortable bed, working desk and a good bathroom. The amenities in the bathroom are sparse, as is often the case in Denmark, but it works fine. The common areas are modern and functional - offering some seating near the check-in counter, where one can also buy drinks and snacks.
Breakfast is served in a large room on the second floor. The selection is fairly good, with the focus on bread, meats and cheeses, but also offering cereals, fruits and a bit of warm dishes, such as scrambled eggs and bacon. The only serious request for improvement would be to serve stronger coffee.
Service at the hotel is fine. The check-in was quick and efficient, and any information requests were answered promptly. Check-out was notably slower, as the single front-desk person was busy on the phone for some time before checking us out. It is understandable that the phones must be answered, but this is something that could be improved - especially as people tend to be short on time at check-out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel ok. But the management need to understand that people expect some kind of bathroom heating in a hotel that wants to live up to a certain standard. When we reported the problem, we were only taught "this is the way it is... We could turn up the general heating in the room...!" Not good enough when outside temperatures is down to +3 C. We were a whole group staying over the weekend, ant the problem applies to all our rooms...

Also, at 05:30 on Sunday morning: be aware of a noisy machine cleaning the streets around the hotel...

Very nice staff, good beds and breakfast ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helge59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuno R, Direktør at Scandic Aalborg City, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Der Helge.

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to read, that you were happy about the generel service from our staff as well as the quality of both our beds and our Breakfast.

Regarding the floor heating on our bathrooms, is it correct that we have tryed to close this down, as we were certified as a Green Key hotel last year, and because the floor heating is electric it is not invioronmentally freindly, and we hoped to reduce electricity.

We must admit that the floors can feel cold, when the outside temperatures is low (eventhough the bathrooms is placed in the middle of the building). We are looking on better alternatives before next winter :)

Best Regards

Kuno Becker-Rasmussen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Clean, well located and efficient hotel. It is located just off the main street that runs through town. There is a paid parking lot right in front so between 6 pm and 8 am the free parking can be enjoyed.

Sleep quality is excellent. Channel choice on tv is limited. Bathroom is decent but limited number of towels and amenities.

I stayed for one night and would recommend for a short business trip.

Room Tip: Queen bed size is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aamir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

For a city of its size, Aalborg has surprisingly few hotels, so I was very pleased to be able to book Europa for my 4-day business trip, as it is ranked #1 on Trip Advisor. I booked several weeks ahead of my visit and it cost €100 per night including breakfast. A UK colleague got a late booking same day for same price, but was fortunate to get a cancellation as the hotel had been booked out earlier. It is about 20 mins taxi ride from airport - about 200 kroner. It is located about 10 mins walk to the main pedestrian quarter in a safe area but there are very few restaurants or pubs any closer than 10 mins walk. It is located right next to the conference centre which is perfect if attending Aalborg for a conference.

There are some small supermarkets within walking distance if you want to get cheaper supplies than those available in the mini bar. There is no bar area as such in the hotel - just the lounge at the reception where you can buy draft beer or a glass of wine. This seems to be an unfortunate feature of hotels in Aalborg (maybe in Denmark generally?).

This hotel is modern, comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. The rooms are small but functional having a TV, mini-bar, hair dryer and the beds are comfortable. The shower is excellent. There is no safe in the room which is a limitation.

Breakfast was included in the price and was very good - there is a large buffet of hot and cold foods, good quality and plenty to choose from. It stays open until 10 during the week and 11 at the weekend, but the staff do not seem to mind if you arrive a little after these times.

Overall, a decent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is located close to Jomru Anes gade. jsut an short walk to restaruants, tran station and other necessary stores for torist. We liked the location because it was close to centrum of Aalborg and just 10 min drive to Aalborg storsenter. ( Aalborg shopping mall.
Very easy to check in and out.
Parking lot right outside main entrance.
Rooms are ok. But the bathroom was a little cold without heating on the floor.
Breakfast wsa great. they serve very good bread og different juces.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kainymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordt, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

A hotel above the typical Danish standard. With friendly staff. Unfortunately I could not find a way to lower the temperature in the room.
With open window to much noise from outside. The bed was to soft.
Still had a good stay and the breakfast was good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
0.6 mi away
First Hotel Aalborg
First Hotel Aalborg
#2 of 19 in Aalborg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gestus Aalborg, Milling Hotels
0.1 mi away
Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
#7 of 19 in Aalborg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Scheelsminde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Aalborg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Aalborg City

Property: Scandic Aalborg City
Address: Europa Plads 1, Aalborg 9000, Denmark (Formerly Quality Hotel Aalborg)
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Aalborg City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Aalborg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Aalborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing