We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jutlands and maybe all of Denmarks warmest welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Aalborg City
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Solna, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jutlands and maybe all of Denmarks warmest welcome”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The good's:
- Staff. Staff. And staff. This hotel wouldn't be what it is without it's great crew.
- Breakfast is a nice treat, served by Maj one of the sweetest Danes around.
- New flat screen TV.
- 10 minutes walking distance to party street Jomfru Ane gade. (15 minutes walking back :)

The bad's:
- Beds are old, soft and worn down.

This is a very basic hotel with an unusual and extraordinary staff. From the moment you check in, thru breakfast and until that moment you check out you feel that you're in extremely good hands. Staff is caring, thoughtful and it is evident that they actually like working with people.

Rooms are OK. Not the latest design, but sufficient for a good night's sleep. Personally I wish they'd take out that ticking analog clock and install electrical sockets closer to bed.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a few specialties, be sure to ask at the reception (or include in booking) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy-the-Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    188
    88
    20
    7
See reviews for
87
116
11
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Weekend visiting family. The staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Best Breakfast in Town.
While not the coziest hotel imaginable, it is always clean and the beds are good.
Good proximity to restaurant and entertainment areas.
Easy to get to. Always available parking (almost).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Conveniently close to the city, nice rooms, helpful staff.
Rooms are nice and clean, nicely renovated and vero good bathrooms. Also, the bed was very comfy..
Lobby/lounge a bit without atmosphere; no bar area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mickdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I loved this hotel- location was great, excellent breakfast, friendly staff who were excellent.

I gave this hotel a terrible rating because if you are a business traveller a decent night's sleep is essential. I have never popped as many Ibren in my life - after 3 days I changed hotel's.

Management need to invest in better beds. I slept a maximum of 3 hours a night which made for rough days ahead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravelguru2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuno R, Direktør at Scandic Aalborg City, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I sorry to hear that you did not find our beds comfortable enough, and i am sorry that you did not mentioned it to our staff, as we have different options.

It is individual if you prefer a bed hard or soft - or maybe some where in the middle.

Our outstanding Jensen Beds does allmost every day get positive feedback, but offcourse some guests prefer other options once in a while.

If you get back to Aalborg, please let os know what kind og comfort you need, and we will try to find a bed just perfect for you.

Best Regards

Kuno Becker-Rasmussen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed one night at the hotel, while on business trip to Aalborg. Found the hotel to be comfortable and efficient - a fine place to stay overnight.
The hotel is located just south of the center of town, right by the main road that runs through town (and to the airport). Fairly convenient location and easy to find if traveling by car.
The rooms are reasonably sized with a good comfortable bed, working desk and a good bathroom. The amenities in the bathroom are sparse, as is often the case in Denmark, but it works fine. The common areas are modern and functional - offering some seating near the check-in counter, where one can also buy drinks and snacks.
Breakfast is served in a large room on the second floor. The selection is fairly good, with the focus on bread, meats and cheeses, but also offering cereals, fruits and a bit of warm dishes, such as scrambled eggs and bacon. The only serious request for improvement would be to serve stronger coffee.
Service at the hotel is fine. The check-in was quick and efficient, and any information requests were answered promptly. Check-out was notably slower, as the single front-desk person was busy on the phone for some time before checking us out. It is understandable that the phones must be answered, but this is something that could be improved - especially as people tend to be short on time at check-out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel ok. But the management need to understand that people expect some kind of bathroom heating in a hotel that wants to live up to a certain standard. When we reported the problem, we were only taught "this is the way it is... We could turn up the general heating in the room...!" Not good enough when outside temperatures is down to +3 C. We were a whole group staying over the weekend, ant the problem applies to all our rooms...

Also, at 05:30 on Sunday morning: be aware of a noisy machine cleaning the streets around the hotel...

Very nice staff, good beds and breakfast ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helge59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuno R, Direktør at Scandic Aalborg City, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Der Helge.

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to read, that you were happy about the generel service from our staff as well as the quality of both our beds and our Breakfast.

Regarding the floor heating on our bathrooms, is it correct that we have tryed to close this down, as we were certified as a Green Key hotel last year, and because the floor heating is electric it is not invioronmentally freindly, and we hoped to reduce electricity.

We must admit that the floors can feel cold, when the outside temperatures is low (eventhough the bathrooms is placed in the middle of the building). We are looking on better alternatives before next winter :)

Best Regards

Kuno Becker-Rasmussen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
0.1 mi away
Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg
0.6 mi away
First Hotel Aalborg
First Hotel Aalborg
#1 of 19 in Aalborg
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milling Hotel Gestus, Aalborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
#11 of 19 in Aalborg
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg
2.5 mi away
Scandic Aalborg East
Scandic Aalborg East
#5 of 19 in Aalborg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Aalborg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Aalborg City

Property: Scandic Aalborg City
Address: Europa Plads 1, Aalborg 9000, Denmark (Formerly Quality Hotel Aalborg)
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Aalborg City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Aalborg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Aalborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing