We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated, dated and dirty”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overrated, dated and dirty”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Hotel Royal used to be one of the finest hotels i Aarhus. My last stay was a disappointment though.

The room (312) was large and nicely decorated (a little old fashioned). However the room was really dirty and the air condition smelled terrible when I turned it on (only for a few seconds).

The staff was friendly although not overwhelmingly service minded.

Nearly 2000 DKK for one night is simply way too much for that experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    93
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
43
86
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

7 friends travelling together for a getaway weekend and ended up at Hotel Royal, Aarhus. When returning to Aarhus it´s an easy choice to rebook.

Old and venerable hotel perfectly located at the end of pedestrian street/shopping street. Good atmosphere greets you as soon as you enter this facility and it clearly stands out compared to the typical hotel-chains. Big and spacious room.

Location vise you´re spot on regarding shightseeing, shopping, restaurants and so on.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great hotel: perfect location right on the walking mall and shops downtown, great hotbreakfast spread, beautiful furnishings, outstanding bath, lots of room even by US standards, great front desk people with perfect English. Parking available within a block at about 20 USD/day. Price was competitive with lesser hotels. I strongly recommend this place. A special call out to Jacob on the front desk/reservations who was instrumental in making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: Denmark is expensive; $15 for a burger/fry and coke from Micky D (would cost about $4 in US), ouch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bneese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Overall is a great place. The building is full of history, fantastic paintings and murals adorn the walls. The room was small but well appointed. Place was a bit noisy at night, but is hard with jet lag. Service overall was very good. Bar and casino attached feel a little low end but it all adds to the charm of the place. Aarhus is a great city if you have a chance to spend a day or so.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

If your going to stay in Aarhus don't mess around, this place is great. The prices are competitive with other lesser quality hotels. Its right in the center of town across from the Cathedral. A short walk to the train station, tons of shopping and eating and right near the canal. There is quality inside and out, from the beautiful historic Elevator in the lobby to the mural covered walls depicting danish history to the finely appointed rooms and en-suite baths. I had a standard single which was one of their smaller rooms and it was fine. I never felt cramped. There's no noise issues. I have stayed here twice and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PercyBlakenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our room looked like a room out of a palace. Large with antique furnishings. Location is right in the center of the city. The young man at the front desk was so helpful and friendly, he seemed to really care that we had a good time in Arhus and provided us with maps and great information. Our room had a wonderful view of the city and the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclist6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel reminds you how true classic luxury city hotels should feel like. Great atmosphere good service and comfortable rooms with large bathrooms. We had a two night package with a standard room and truly enjoyed it all with a view to the cathedral and main square. Very reasonable deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViggoBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
0.5 mi away
Comwell Aarhus
Comwell Aarhus
#4 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantic
First Hotel Atlantic
#5 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Store Torv 4, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aarhus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aarhus
#3 Business Hotel in Aarhus
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Aarhus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing