We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very old fashion hotel but also very comfortable.
The staff is nice and available.
The breakfast is just perfect. Nothing more to say.
Perfect location in city center It's difficult to find better located.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We hadn't booked in advance but got a great last minute price for a suite.
The room was great.
The breakfast was excellent in a really lovely conservatory style resturant.

Only downside, and be aware if Your arriving by car... There is NO hotel parking, and you might risk having to park Your car 10 minutes away from the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent a night there. Very well located for visiting Aarhus Centrum. Quaint hotel with interesting murals. Lovely rooms, but beware noise level from plaza. Interior rooms are quieter. Outstanding breakfast buffet in lovely atrium terrace. Very helpful staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Suites are nice but street noise. Interior rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Took the short trip to Aarhus for a weekend with the wife and have to say it was superb! The hotel is very old school but also very very good! The hotel rooms, staff and breakfast were all first class and I would go back there in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmarks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed here a few times before as the location is perfect and I also always used to think the price was very fair. But it is starting to look quite worn. The carpets in the reception is stained and in my room there were big patches as well.. So even if the rooms are large and the breakfast is decent its just not good enough. Old stained carpets just makes the hotel look a bit dirty. The service I have experienced has always been good and very friendly..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I booked the "weekend royal" package deal online as a weekend break whilst working. It included a standard room & 3 course meal. The emailed confirmation was for a single room? When I arrived I was told it was a single room without meal. I had to show the receptionist the deal I'd booked on my laptop in the reception. It was embarrassing. They reinstated the deal with a small & very reasonable, single supplement, for a room with a bath & a view. There was no bath & the view was of the courtyard restaurant of the hotel (with the curtains open, the diners could see into the room). Another room smelt of drains. An electrical plug socket was coming away from the wall, revealing all the wires - beware if you have children (Room 220). When I went to dinner, the waitress knew nothing of the '3 course dinner' & there was no menu provided for it. I was given a really nice, though very minimal, 3 course meal. The next day at dinner, the restaurant manager came out & said there was no 3 course dinner deal, went to the front desk, spoke to the receptionist who had booked my deal the previous day, came back & said the receptionist confirmed there was no such deal/booking... In front of the diners he was abrupt & I had to leave. When I complained to the manager (unavailable until I was leaving), I was told that the hotel restaurant is not owned by the hotel & that the receptionist also found the restaurant manager rude. The receptionist reduced my bill by 500Kr (£55/€67/$91). I was overcharged when I left (an error & refunded). On the plus side, the buffet breakfast was great, the room & en suite shower room, spacious & comfortable, the nearby 'Latin' quarter with lots of super, cosy restaurants, cafe's, bars & cinema with lots of character. I'd recommend Aarhus lots. The Hotel Royal: mistakes do happen, but....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMR924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My first impression when I arrived at the hotel: WOW. It is like stepping in History.
I got to the room and I was amazed I got the Junior Suite.
The room - the apartment - is so huge that it started feeling spooky at night. :)
Many artifacts, pictures on the whole makes you feel like part of something.
The bathroom is really spacious and always warm.

The Wi-Fi signal is excellent.

The breakfast is just OK compared to such an hotel.

Be careful of the elevator, you can actually get stuck in it. It actually happened to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
0.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel
AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aarhus
127 reviews
8.4 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Store Torv 4, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aarhus
#3 Business Hotel in Aarhus
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range: £130 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Aarhus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing