We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just a one night business stay but a lovely old hotel right in the city center. The large aquarium that is the front desk is rather novel but elsewhere this is a stylish gem from a different era. I cannot recall the last hotel that had proper keys rather than plastic cards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this place. Would recommend it to others. Rooms are quite large and the surroundings are quiet (with the exception of the seagulls squawking endlessly outside). I would come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank archie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a very good hotel. Great rooms, breakfast is oké. Price is high. We booked a room against a certain price we payed the last time for the room. Came in the hotel and got a smaller room than asked. Had to pay more for the bigger room. No service.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel Royal in Aarhus is completely amazing. It's located right next to the big church – the best location in the center, right in the old town. It's very fancy – the rooms are huge, the bathroom has both shower and bath. In addition to being well equipped (fridge, mini bar, TV, WIFI) and the great breakfast in the lovely terrace, the hotel is absolutely breath taking – with all the wall-paintings and the chandeliers it looks like a palace, and I felt like a queen for 2 days :)

The only minus is the cost, but if you can afford it – don't think twice. Go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the view to the cathedral, but take into consideration that you might wake up...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwallenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is such a great property in a fantastic location. If you want to be transported back to days gone past in Denmark, this is the place to stay. The atmosphere, the building, the furniture and the service are just great. We had a junior suite on the fourth floor overlooking the square, kitsch toilet - but great - and i highly recommend to stay here

Room Tip: Ask for 406 - great views and a massive room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unique and unlike any other hotel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in many; the paintings on the walls make it feel more like an art gallery than a hotel. The elevator, from another era for sure. I had read comments about stained carpets and confirm that is still the case, especially in corridors, however that didn't detract for me on an excellent hotel. We received a very warm welcome, we were checked in two hours early as a room was available. Due to low occupancy on the night of our stay, we received an room upgrade. Our room was spotless and beautifully presented. Breakfast was excellent with many varied choices available.

Room Tip: I stayed on a Sunday evening going into a bank holiday Monday and cannot vouch for the noise element...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithJSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very old fashion hotel but also very comfortable.
The staff is nice and available.
The breakfast is just perfect. Nothing more to say.
Perfect location in city center It's difficult to find better located.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
#5 of 22 in Aarhus
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comwell Aarhus
Comwell Aarhus
#4 of 22 in Aarhus
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Store Torv 4, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aarhus
#3 Business Hotel in Aarhus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aarhus
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range: £129 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Aarhus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing