We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hopeless hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Aarhus Vest
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The window was broken , they took 1 day to fix it and they didnt change my room, the radiator for warming the room was not clean, the reception was good but did not stick to their commitments to provide a taxi on my departure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandvikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandic Aarhus V, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus Vest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Mandvikar

Thank you for your respond to your stay at Scandic Aarhus Vest.

I am sorry that you were not moved to another room because there were problems with the window in your room and your taxi was not ready to pick up on departure.

We have reviewed our procedures, in order to make sure it doesn´t happen again, as it does not meet our normal standard.

Best regards
Scandic Aarhus Vest

Mikkel Kroustrup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Scandic Aarhus Vest has some very nice staff that actually makes the stay worth the money you pay to stay there. Although cheap, I prefer to stay in the city centre. Rooms are of a good size and the breakfast is nice and solid with good variety of food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandic Aarhus V, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus Vest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear JeLundgren

Thank you for your respond.

Great that you found our staff to be nice, and that you enjoyed the room and the solid breakfast.

Hope to welcome you back, if you come by another time.

Best regards

Mikkel Kroustrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel is apparently located in a hostile neighborhood as it has high steel fence with a gate that locks at night.

Rooms are very basic. The minibar is absent, only a single small red wine is left. There isn't even a kettle for brewing coffee or tea.

The breakfast buffet is quite good with many different choices.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank MortenBjerregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandic Aarhus V, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus Vest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Morten Bjerregaard

Thanks for your respond after staying at Scandic Aarhus Vest.

I will start of, by making it clear, that the hotel isn`t located in a hostile neighborhood. Scandic Aarhus Vest offers free parking, and at the same time a secure parking lot to all our guests.

We offer coffee / te at our Superior rooms, which also include extra tv channels and a voucher for our SHOP, where you can find everything you need.
I am happy to hear that you found our breakfast good. Hope you were satisfied and ready for a new day.

Best regards
Scandic Aarhus Vest
Mikkel Kroustrup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I'm spending 2 weeks and nobody indicate the cleaning strategy and today I discover that restaurant close sunday something not indicated before. People provide a wonderful service taking in consideration. My room 1008 have a noise of a fan during night

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qscofr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Comfortable, room renovated, bathroom not ( tap was rusty and door scratched), amusement for kids - wi, billiard, table football - sauna for adults, staff very friendly and a various and good breakfast. You need a car to go downtown, or bus, because it is connected. It takes some minutes to reach center town. They clean up rooms only every 3 days: they only change towels if needed, because this is hotel's policy for environment.

Room Tip: Fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandic Aarhus V, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus Vest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Cristina393
Thank you for the feed back. I am happy to hear that you liked the room when you visited Scandic Aarhus Vest.
It is also with great pleasure I read that you liked the activities for kids and the breakfast.
Regarding the cleaning of the rooms, you can get your room cleaned every day if you want to. We just try to help the enviroment and that is why we, if ok with our guests, only clean a litle bit every day, and then a full cleaning after 2 days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

In general a hotel that comes over the middle class. Yes, this hotel is located in the outer zone of what activities can be offered. A completely all right standards, compared to my special needs (wheelchair user). Regard bed and mattress quality, one of the top listed! Experience which pulls down the quality and level of individual staff and condescending tone and less service minded guide for the internet connection. I wanted a normal exertion of power for irrigation of water from the toilet, after many efforts and toilets were clean. One can hope that they get corrected this. Otherwise it seemed the rest of the stay was ok at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roof55-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandic Aarhus V, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus Vest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear MortenBjerregaard
Thank you very much for your review after staying at Scandic Aarhus Vest.
Our fence is established to ensure our guests' cars. A service very few hotels can offer.

I am glad to hear that you found our breakfast buffet good, and I hope that you tasted many of our breakfast options.

Best regards
Scandic Aarhus Vest
Mikkel Kroustrup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

As the hotel is located in on the outer ring it is a bit far away from everything.
On the other hand I stayed in the nice room (2nd floor), rather spacious with queen bed all for myself. Beside that, the furnitnure were: two bedside tables with lamp above each of them, a standing lamp, desk fixed to the wall with two lamps above it, chair, tv, small table and armchair next to window, bin and small table next to wardrobe.The wardrobe had too few hangers and shalves (5 or 6 hangers and two shelves), but there were also an ironing board and iron.

Bathroom: Big plus for a big sink table so I have place to spread my supplies :) and big mirror. There was also a hairdrier.

Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast good with wide variety of food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandic Aarhus V, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus Vest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Anna G
Many thanks for the feedback after your stay at Scandic Århus Vest.
According to your feedback I will immediately find some more hangers and hang in the rooms.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you find our staff friendly and helpful, it's something we work a lot with so great that it is felt.
It's also great to hear that you find that our breakfast buffet offers a wide range of options, as the breakfast is the most important meal of the day :-).
I hope that we can welcome you at Scandic Aarhus Vest another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
2.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
929 reviews
6.1 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Zleep Hotel Aarhus Viby
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Mayor Hotel
2.5 mi away
First Hotel Atlantic
First Hotel Atlantic
#6 of 22 in Aarhus
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Aarhus Vest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Aarhus Vest

Address: Rytoften 3, Aarhus 8210, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Price Range: £77 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Aarhus Vest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Aarhus Vest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Aarhus Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing