We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Location location location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

One of the most centrally located hotels in Aarhus in walking distance of the main attractions, restaurants and shopping options. We will clearly consider booking a room at this hotel on another trip to Aarhus.

Service: Check in and out by friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was good - nothing special, and nothing missing.

Value for money: Rather cheap considering the hotel's location and the average service. We paid DKK 249 pr. person pr. night in a twin bed Commodore Room including breakfast.

Cleaning: Daily cleaning of the room was god, but we could use more toilet paper and shower gel since we were two people sharing the room.

Sleep: Quiet most of the night. The beds are narrow and different of what we are used to. But probably a question of getting used to them.

Location: Centrally located in downtown Aarhus. Very close to the ferry terminal, bus stops at Busgaden and Skolebakken train station. About 10-15 minutes walk from both the bus terminal and the main train station. Moreover only 5 minutes walk from a large public parking lot next to Skolebakken train station.

We bought a Aarhus Card at the bus terminal (rutebilstationen) at our arrival. A 48 hours Aarhus Card (DKK 179) gives access to free parking at the parking lot next to Skolebakken train station and at "Pier 1" right opposite it. Ask for a parking ticket when buying the Aarhus Card. Moreover it provides 30% discount on the entrance fee at both Aros and The Old Town open air museum among others. And free bus travel at zone 1 and 2. Finally we bought a ticket for the Great Belt Bridge with 40% discount (there are certain conditions to be met for this offer). The expense of the Aarhus Card is easily earned back.

Room: We stayed in a Commodore twin bed room. The room is sufficiently spacious for our needs. We could have used a shelf for a suitcase or two. The bathroom is very compact. The water mixer is small and rather annoying and difficult to control properly. The shower consists of a fixed tap pouring water in allmost any direction other than the one you need. Even though the room rate is low, we don't think that's an argument for using poor equipment at the bathroom.

Like many other hotels you are encouraged to recycle your towel more than one day. However there are no drying racks for the towels in neither the bathroom or the bedroom, so the best solution was to put the wet towels on the floor and have them replaced by the cleaning staff. That wasn't the intention, wasn't it?

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the yard. It's more quiet especially during weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    121
    165
    66
    37
See reviews for
39
98
67
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
650 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is really nothig to say - one of the worst hotel experience in my life. Hotel looks like being designed for budget tourists and could be used by season workers but it is to expensive.
Prices are extremally high for such "no standard". Staff is not pleasant and not helpful. manager is even worse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aarhus hotels

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I get the cabin style of hotel rooms and I do not have an issue with the size of the rooms. It's a basic hotel but so long as it is clean and fairly priced I will use them on short business trips. As you can see from the picture this is a small room and the bathroom is very small with only a curtain stopping the water going everywhere. Once you get used to showering in a tiny space it's OK. The room is clean the bed is OK. I didn't try the top bunk, you have to use the ladder hanging on the wall. There is a desk and free-wifi. In fact my only issue is the price, it really should be a little cheaper as they are cramming in so many rooms.Knock £20 off the price and it would be good value but when the difference is so little for a more comfortable room elsewhere I will not come back.

Room Tip: For a quick visit and if you can cope with a small room it could be idea unless you find a normal ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITJuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

A client booked me in here as I certainly wouldn't have chosen it myself.
The double rooms were miniscule and I upgraded to a "Captains" room which was marginally larger. The shower/toilet room was smaller than the WC in an airplane. They are building an extension but having workmen starting work outside the window was too much to bear so I vacated after one night. If you are on a very small budget, not very large and don't suffer from claustrophobia then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icepick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at Cabinn for 5 nights in a single room facing the Cathedral. It was a small room but enough for one person. The breakfast was exquisite, with alot of variety and very nice staff!
Recommended if you are not looking for anything fancy but efficient!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is under refurbishment so it's probably best to go after the new wing is ready and the old rooms have also been refurbished. The rooms currently look like cabins on a ship, which is even nice, but they are a bit small. I found the bed really small, you cannot turn... And the bathroom has the tap shared between the sink and the shower so...if you don't understand exactly how it works you can take a shower instead of washing your hands. Breakfast is great because they offer a wide selection of fresh bread, cereals, juices, yogurts and ham, cheese, tea, coffee. The only thing missing is pastries but it is honestly a huge breakfast. Staff is very friendly: I had a problem with my room (the flush was stuck) and they promptly moved me to another one. Finally the location is great: close to the theatre, the shops and lots of restaurants and bars. It is very cheap so all in all I recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Diletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

It is a very minimal set-up for a single room that's for sure, but if you don't need massive amounts of space or a big comfy bed, this is your best option, as local hostels/backpackers are dismal. It's right in the heart of the city and close to everything (about 10-15 conservative mins. from train station or bus station) but that does mean if you are staying on one of the many rooms overlooking the canal, then it's worth bringing a set of earplugs, as right below you is one of the main throughfares for late night revelers most nights. it is spick and span clean, has cable tv, Wi-fi and magma hot showers though, and as long as you are flying solo and aren't to picky about lumbar support in the metal framed and foam matressed beds, you'll be alright. the price gap between this place and any other single room in Aarhus is enough to sway your decision towards cab-inn.

Room Tip: Rooms over the river/canal can be quite noisy if the window must be opened, however you don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobdobbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantic
First Hotel Atlantic
#5 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#7 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinn Hotel Aarhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinn Hotel Aarhus

Property: Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
Address: Kannikegade 14, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinn Hotel Aarhus 2*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabinn Hotel Aarhus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cab Hotel Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing