We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it by all means”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rooms are very, very small and absolutely in bad shape. The beds are dirty and I don't even want to start with the shower...

Only consider this hotel if you are under 20 something and have not seen any other hotels. Location is top. Oh yeah, staff didn't even bother with looking at me or asking about my stay (I guess they know how bad it is).

Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

The slogan of this hotel is 'sleep cheap in luxury'. Luxury may be taking it a bit too far, but cheap and functional certainly.

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Cabinn Hotel in Aarhus, which is located in a fantastic central location right on the canal front (Kanikkegade) right next to lots of restaurants and bars. Check in was quick and easy, friendly staff who spoke excellent English. The room itself ( I stayed in economy class) was certainly small, but it was cosy, clean, comfortable and everything worked as it should. The shower room was unusual to say the least, kind of like how you'd imagine a shower on a train/plane. Only downside was the noise form the bars/clubs around but that is to be expected on a Friday/Saturday night.
I would certainly stay again, and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has excellent location; however, the size of the rooms is very small. I felt as if I was back at uni! Tiny room, en-suite, single bed, not enough space to leave your luggage. Great wifi, very clean and very comfy bed. Staff was nice, nothing great. BUT, it is very noisy in the evenings. Make sure you get a room facing the back yard and not the canal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with internal view. It get really noisy in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The place is in great location
Extremely cramped rooms,don't bring any luggage :-S
Staff is pretty friendly - I think(?)
Breakfast is just fine. Below Scandinavian class, but maybe just over average
Overpriced since the rooms are soooo small.
The wifi is really reliable :-)
Really clean rooms!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varoojan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Let's start with the pro: The location is very, very good, close to the city center and the parking is reasonably priced (DKK 80,- for 24 hours). Breakfast is ok, but nothing exceptional. Staff is friendly and the hotel is clean.
BUT: The room is very small, ok, that´s the concept of this hotel, but I´m a supporter of the idea "you get what you pay" and taking that into account, the hotel is absolutely over-priced. The walls are thin, you hear everything from your neighbours (my left neighbour snored and the couple to the right had some fun during the night) and also from the street. You have to know that the hotel is located in a nightlife area and you hear everything from the street. So you have a tiny room in a good location and you will pay clearly more than € 100,- per night incl. a more or less standard breakfast. Who thinks that this is a good deal? We are in Denmark, yes, but pls check the prices for other hotels and you will see that the additional € 15,- for a "real" hotel room are worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

One of the most centrally located hotels in Aarhus in walking distance of the main attractions, restaurants and shopping options. We will clearly consider booking a room at this hotel on another trip to Aarhus.

Service: Check in and out by friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was good - nothing special, and nothing missing.

Value for money: Rather cheap considering the hotel's location and the average service. We paid DKK 249 pr. person pr. night in a twin bed Commodore Room including breakfast.

Cleaning: Daily cleaning of the room was god, but we could use more toilet paper and shower gel since we were two people sharing the room.

Sleep: Quiet most of the night. The beds are narrow and different of what we are used to. But probably a question of getting used to them.

Location: Centrally located in downtown Aarhus. Very close to the ferry terminal, bus stops at Busgaden and Skolebakken train station. About 10-15 minutes walk from both the bus terminal and the main train station. Moreover only 5 minutes walk from a large public parking lot next to Skolebakken train station.

We bought a Aarhus Card at the bus terminal (rutebilstationen) at our arrival. A 48 hours Aarhus Card (DKK 179) gives access to free parking at the parking lot next to Skolebakken train station and at "Pier 1" right opposite it. Ask for a parking ticket when buying the Aarhus Card. Moreover it provides 30% discount on the entrance fee at both Aros and The Old Town open air museum among others. And free bus travel at zone 1 and 2. Finally we bought a ticket for the Great Belt Bridge with 40% discount (there are certain conditions to be met for this offer). The expense of the Aarhus Card is easily earned back.

Room: We stayed in a Commodore twin bed room. The room is sufficiently spacious for our needs. We could have used a shelf for a suitcase or two. The bathroom is very compact. The water mixer is small and rather annoying and difficult to control properly. The shower consists of a fixed tap pouring water in allmost any direction other than the one you need. Even though the room rate is low, we don't think that's an argument for using poor equipment at the bathroom.

Like many other hotels you are encouraged to recycle your towel more than one day. However there are no drying racks for the towels in neither the bathroom or the bedroom, so the best solution was to put the wet towels on the floor and have them replaced by the cleaning staff. That wasn't the intention, wasn't it?

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the yard. It's more quiet especially during weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is really nothig to say - one of the worst hotel experience in my life. Hotel looks like being designed for budget tourists and could be used by season workers but it is to expensive.
Prices are extremally high for such "no standard". Staff is not pleasant and not helpful. manager is even worse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
2.6 mi away
Zleep Hotel Aarhus
Zleep Hotel Aarhus
#1 of 2 in Viby J
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wakeup Aarhus
Wakeup Aarhus
#16 of 22 in Aarhus
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Mayor Hotel
8.5 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinn Hotel Aarhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinn Hotel Aarhus

Address: Kannikegade 14, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Price Range: £72 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinn Hotel Aarhus 2*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cabinn Hotel Aarhus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cab Hotel Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing