We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We visit Aarhus, the second-largest city in Denmark, two to three times a year and always stay at the Radisson Blu where we have stayed in business as well as standard rooms.

Rooms are spacious and clean; bathrooms are large and bright. Rooms have varying decor. One can choose between Chinese, Japanese, Scandinavian and English interiors, but all rooms have the exact same size. Business rooms include slippers, bath robes, an iron and little ironing board, Nespresso coffee machine, free newspapers, free access to a fitness centre, and free choice of in-room movies, but the rooms themselves are the same size and have the same décor as standard rooms.

Breakfast consists of a copious buffet. One can also request omelettes, cappuccino, and café latte at no additional cost.

As one reviewer noted, there can be sizeable queues at check-out and check-in. This can, indeed, be a nuisance. On the other hand, the staff endeavour to be friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located next to Aarhus’s concert hall, a conference centre and various cultural institutions including Aros, the city’s excellent art museum. One of Denmark's foremost attractions, "The Old Town", which is an open-air museum consisting of old houses and shops from various Danish towns and cities, is a ten-minute walk away. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station, cathedral, City Hall, and shops.

Room tip: request a room with a view of the harbour and the art museum Aros. The roof of the museum has the so-called “Rainbow Walkway Panorama” by the Danish-Icelandic artist Olafur Eliasson. This is illuminated at night and looks like a multi-coloured UFO.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unhappy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    313
    101
    29
    15
See reviews for
90
176
36
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Good hotel with spaceful rooms and great personnel. Close to the Musichouse and citycenter. Check in and out the quickest ever.
Familytrip w child.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is a comfortable hotel only a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus depot in central Aarhus. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are very large by Northern European standards. There is a nice bar in the lobby and a well run business center. The hotel is directly connected to the Scandinavia Center which has a separate, large fitness center accessible to hotel guests.
There are many restaurants and shops within a ten minute walk of the hotel, mostly along the canal and main shopping streets.

Room Tip: Check your bathroom for the odor of sewer gas. With a poor sense of smell, the odor was noticeable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Was visiting Aarhus with business. Nice location and clean rooms. The breakfast was standard hotel but tasty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjørnar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed for a long conference at the hotel in May 2012. The hotel provided excellent service to the conference throughout.
The hotel staff were pleasant, professional and fast. The room was OK with the bathroom a bit “tired”. This should be considered refurbished.
The bar and reception area have a nice athmosphere – although the bar prices were much too high.
The hotel does not have its own gym but refers to a big fitness centre very close by. It is however not free for hotel guests to use this facility - even though a discount is given.
The hotel is recommended for professional and recreational stays in Aarhus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 806262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have been staying here for 2.5 years I stay every month at least, normally for 3 nights at a time and I am still baffled as to why this hotel is so well rated. Check in and check out is slow & I agree with the other reviewer that there only seems to be one person on duty despite the ever growing queues, no one else appears.
The hotel has its good points, location is excellent & the bar/lobby area is clean & pleasant. It is however, all style and no substance...The rooms leave a lot to be desired. The bathroom always (in all the rooms I have stayed in) smells awful of sewer/drains - this has been noted by my own guests who I have accomodated at this hotel. Bath towels are tiny & the heating controls are beyond a joke. The chair in which one sits to work at the desk is far from appropriate for the task. The rooms are starting to feel very 'worn'.
As I have said, the hotel does have good points but sadly, for me anyway, the negatives are starting to overtake the positives.
For good balance, I have pointed these issues out to the hotel Management (they often send me a customer survey which i duly fill out & return) but nothing seems to change despite assurances to the contrary. Its a very busy place so maybe they simply don't need to listen or act.
The choice is theirs.
If it wasn't for the location of this place, I would probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Have stayed here several times for business. And it´s probably still the best hotel in Aarhus. Reception staff is always friendly and professional. The lobby, bar and restaurant are nice, although a bit expensive. And rooms are well-appointed and generally well-kept. Only reason I dont give 5 stars is because the hotel, and especially the rooms and bathrooms, are beginning to look a bit old-fashioned, and showing some wear and tear. 3 new large hotels will open in central Aarhus within the next years, so I think the Radisson Blu soon will have to do a major renovation if they still wants to be no. 1 in Aarhus. But will still definately recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comwell Aarhus
Comwell Aarhus
#4 of 22 in Aarhus
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#8 of 22 in Aarhus
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
742 reviews
8.1 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Address: Margrethepladsen 1, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aarhus
#5 Business Hotel in Aarhus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus. The city's only international hotel chain, located in the middle of the city of Aarhus. The neighbours are Concert Hall, Aros museum, and the city's Town Hall. The hotel has 234 newly renovated guestrooms, and 1,100 p spaces. In Restaurant La Pyramide you can enjoy fine dining or a nice drink. The restaurant is part of the "White Guide" in the "very high level". The hotel has won the Danish travel Award 10 times as best hotel in Denmark outside Copenhagen. We are looking forward to welcome you :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus Hotel Aarhus
Radisson Arhus
århus Radisson
Radisson Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing