We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to many whit walls”

Aros Aarhus Kunstmuseum
Ranked #3 of 263 things to do in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to ARoS Aarhus Art Museum - one of Europe's largest art museums situated in the heart of Aarhus, and the only one with a rainbow on top, Your rainbow panorama. ARoS is a house of art where our guests can be pleased, enlightened and challenged. The architecture is of international class. The same is the art. And both offer experiences of high carat: from light to thrill, from attitude to entertainment, from joy to challenge.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“to many whit walls”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

ok here i am one more time AND what is all the fuss about ---do not feel that ther are anything new inside this walls

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank annette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    563
    104
    25
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Egaa, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The city of Aarhus isn't really big, but this Art Museum is enormous. Placed in the heart of the city, just across the City Hall and beside the Music Hall, Aros Art Museum presents an every-changing collection of art and artists. There are traditional Danish masterpieces and absolutely modern works. The interior is inviting, and the layout is friendly for both kids, families, senior citizens, and handicapped individuals. All you need to enjoy the exhibits and all the rest is time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldEgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Art and Amazing Views”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The exhibitions were very interesting. The view from the roof terrace and the rainbow walkway are spectacular. The cafe by the gift shop was good for a quick lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aros never disappoints”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

For a cultural connoisseur interested in modern art, there is always a new exhibition to check out.

Was pleasantly surprised to see a full collection if Wes Lang.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rapuncel_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Art Museum”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Allow at least three hours minimum for this excellent museum- a couple of more if you like to linger and study art. The AROS is housed in a beautiful, airy building , which is crowned with the Rainbow Panorama Deck. Best way to describe it: it is a circular glass hallway with an expansive view over the city, and the glass is graduated in the colors of the rainbow as you walk around. It doesn't "do" anything, unless you count making people happy and entertained.

One of the highlights of the AROS is a permanent youth exhibit, featuring art from local students. Honestly, some of it is more creative and well thought out than some of the "professional" art we saw. It was excellent. What a great idea to present youth art in a serious, professional setting.

The is an excellent gallery of Danish artists from the 18th century til 20th century, representing several different styles of painting.

While we visited, there were two large exhibitions. One took up half a floor, the other took up an entire floor. Very thorough, very well grouped and laid out, with lots of space to enjoy.

Cafe is uber pricey (this is Denmark, what else do you expect?) but the little snack we had was tasty and the coffee and hot chocolate were very good.

If in the area again, which we probably will be, due to family nearby, will definitely visit this museum again and again.

Btw, expect crowds. How pleasant to see a museum doing a booming business, though.

One last thing, since this caught both my German friend and me by surprise- if you use one of the local parking decks, you may be "locked out" on your return. Putting the ticket in the electronic reader did nothing. Just press the button with the telephone, and say "please open" when they buzz, and unseen hands will open the door remotely. We had a near panic attack when we thought we were locked out from our car!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank springlering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aros Aarhus Kunstmuseum also viewed

Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to Aros Aarhus Kunstmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing