We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a night. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.
I loved the organic soaps and the simple but cozy atmosphere. The breakfast was also nice and those organic strawberries were awesome.
An elevator is really needed as well as some tiling works (the floor was crackling at every step).
In a nutshell: I'll come back but some basic changes are needed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank maphia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Small but very nicely located near the most interesting areas of Aarhus. The staff at the hotel was extremely nice and helpful, breakfast very tasty and with wonderful organic bread. There is a restaurant attached to the hitel. The room was small and the place seems a little worn but nicely furnished.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A small hotel with smallish but nice rooms (and great bathrooms), fresh organic breakfasts in the courtyard (if the weather is good) and, above all, friendly and helpful staff. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the city's boho Latin Quarter full of cool cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, which may make your room a little noisy if you are on the side of the main road. Still, the hotel is only a few minutes bike ride from the sea, the forest, and many more sights besides. Recommended.

Room Tip: try to book a courtyard-facing room for silent nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jah326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Room was quite basic, and the bathroom was tiny and outdated. The room looked like one of a monastery but the rooms are all different. The service is excellent in this little hotel and the breakfast cute and with organic products.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

You would not expect this place to be so quiet as it is placed in the very centre of the second largest city in Denmark. But it is and it's working well on every level.
Breakfast is delicious country style and the staff is friendly and helpful. But mind! When you cross the yard to the annex (in between the locals) it can be extremely slippery, especially when wet!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atlanticophelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is our third stay at this hotel. Recommended by a local, and while the rooms are very small, we enjoy the atmosphere, helpful staff, cosiness and comforts.

This year, we are staying in winter, but in the past, ways in summer. Under both conditions, hotel guldsmeden has been excellent- though rooms perhaps a bit too hot at night. Live the duvets and soft pillows. Beds very comfy.

Spacious lounge upstairs is a nice spot to read/ work on laptop. Quiet and relaxing.

Downstairs, the free wine, nibbles and view to the street make it a nice place to 'hang out' before dinner or while waiting to go to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcClu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Let me start with the positive first good location and good breakfast. We stayed in room 33 on the top floor faced against the street. The room was very small and the bathroom was even smaller. The standard of the room was not worth the high price. The worst thing was the beds as we could feel the spring in the back! We had booked two nights but checked out after one and found another hotel. We had stayed at Guldsmeden in Copenhagen which holds a much better standard and therefore our stay was a desapointment. Please upgrade the hotel!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hansino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#10 of 22 in Aarhus
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
866 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
#5 of 22 in Aarhus
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel

Address: Guldsmedgade 40 | Central, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range: £93 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel is a small boutique-hotel with a total of 27 individually decorated rooms; all in French Colonial style. The hotel is located in the very centre of Aarhus - in the charming, old Latin Quarter - with romantic restaurants and amazing shopping facilities just around the corner. We take pride in offering our guests a personal and warm service in homely surroundings - hoping to provide a feeling of being at home away from home. Being a garni hotel we serve a full 95% organic breakfast buffet, which exceeds all expectations. At the back of the hotel you will find our beautiful garden and terrace area - with candlelights, flowers and cosy furniture. The perfect place to have a cop of organic tea, a glass of wine or just enjoying the calm ... We look forward to welcoming you at the small hotel - and sincerely hope to give you a magical stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guldsmeden Hotel Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing