We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A menu one would expect in Denmark!”

Ship-Inn Pub & Cafe
Ranked #29 of 118 Restaurants in Esbjerg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Belgium
Level Contributor
301 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A menu one would expect in Denmark!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went for lunch here and got what I was hoping for.
Your typical Scandinavian menu with lots of fresh and simple fish based dishes.
I myself had a salmon toast with scrambled egg which was delicious.
There was a very big portion of smoked salmon on the toast and a lovely dressing.

Service could be friendlier - seemed to be summer student helps who weren't all too happy when we asked some questions...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
205 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good view - great location.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Food is fine and good selection of beers. What makes the place special is the location so close to the seaside. A great place to be as long as the weather is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kynde22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good food and nice service”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place was crowded, and seemed to be very popular with the locals. The variety of food was good, and quite tasty. Good wines. You can sit both inside and outside according to the weather. Service was quick and the food was reasonably priced. Their Greek salad was packed with garlic cloves, and I hope that our feed-back to the waitress got back to the kitchen. Other than that, we had no complaints about the food. Would go there again if ever in Hjerting again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy local pub”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Everything you would want from a local pub. good atmosphere, cold beer and good food. service a tad slow, but hell slow down and relax sometimes....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinmatthewsSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Went for lunch and it was quite busy, nice atmosphere. The food was like bad fast food and the service was slow. Would not recommend this eatery. If I were to do it over I would go for a drink before going to the restaurant next door which was very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vibs818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship-Inn Pub & Cafe also viewed

Esbjerg, South Jutland
 
Esbjerg, South Jutland
Esbjerg, South Jutland
 
Esbjerg, South Jutland
 

Been to Ship-Inn Pub & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing