We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter stay”
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel is located in the centre of Esbjerg, has a big parking area.
Rooms are clean, big enough and comfortable.
I needed to turn on the heating system, because it was very cold in there, but I guess thats because I am not Danish :)
Breakfast is great, I must have scrambled eggs in the morning and they have great. Everybody can choose from buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very central for all city activities, bars and shopping. Friendly and war welcome, very clean and comfortable room. Restaurant pricey but good menu selection and food first class. Breakfast buffet was fine and plentiful. Reception staff go out there way to assist, had no reason to complain about anything. Would return next time in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed twice at this hotel. I had two difference rooms, one was very small the other was bigger. So if you have the option, choose the bigger one.
Both rooms were clean and the furniture was well maintained.
The location is very central to the city and restaurants are in walking distance. The breakfast is ok.
The staff is extremely friendly and I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for a recent business trip, have been to Esbjerg a few time but had not stayed at the Britannia before and feel it is the best of the hotels available which is not that many.

Very central in town and close to shops, bars etc. but shops close early so not much open on dark November nights..

Room was clean and comfortable, I had a single which was small but suited my purpose fine for a short two night stay.

Staff on reception were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was pretty standard and had everything I would expect.

Same restaurant as breakfast is used in the evening and standard of food and service was very good.

Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A bit old fashionned hotel near shopping, pubs and restaurants. Rooms were of a good size and clean without being fancy. Good parking facilities as well. Restaurant offers good food with large buffets for breakfast and lunches. Night club in the basement.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Extremely disappointed with the customer service received at this hotel!! On arrival to the hotel I overheard another hotel guest complaining about the broken air conditioning. So I asked the hotel concierge when this would be fixed,to this he replied they were waiting on parts and that it would be fixed by tomorrow. (I would like to add that it was between 27-34 degrees outside during our weeks stay) Well unfurtunatly this was a complete lie and even by the time we left a week later, you guessed it it was still not fixed!!! What I find utterly amazing was the lack of an appology or even a discount on the room considering we were slow roasting in our bed every night. And to top it off we were woken up every morning at 07.00 by the workmen who were re-pointing the walls of the old tourist info building which sits just opposite the hotel. I have to say that I'm extremely ashamed to be Danish if that's the level of service we are offering our foreign tourists. ( My husband and I live in Scotland and this was his first trip to Denmark) Last but not least I filled in a complaint form and have still not heard anything back,shock horror way does this not surprise me!!
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna-Kirsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and had a nice experience for the most part. Location is very central on the main walking street in the town. Some minor traffic occasionally but not bad.

Room had fairly standard business hotel decor and furnishings.The hotel is not new but room was recently renovated and well kept - the cleaners seem to do their jobs well.

All staff I met were polite, pleasant and helpful.

Internet speed not super fast but okay. However a crappy login page that kicks you off after about a half hour is not acceptable in the age of the smartphone.

"Air conditioning" system controlled the volume of air just fine but had zero effect on the temperature - not acceptable really. So we were forced to open windows on very hot days. Also they supply on the bed on warm duvets/blankets but no flat sheet - pointless in middle of hot summer season. Does no one have any capability to think clearly in this department?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osamede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esbjerg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Olympic
Scandic Olympic
#1 of 15 in Esbjerg
287 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hjerting Badehotel
Hjerting Badehotel
#2 of 15 in Esbjerg
237 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Dagmar
Hotel Dagmar
#2 of 6 in Ribe
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
#12 of 15 in Esbjerg
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#7 of 15 in Esbjerg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Address: Torvegade 24, Esbjerg 6700, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Price Range: £111 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 5-story Hotel with 32-room addition (1984) catering to meetings & social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Esbjerg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing