We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and great breakfast buffet”
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Central location and great breakfast buffet”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel has the perfect location in Esbjerg close to shops and restaurants.

We stayed for 3 nights and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. We did miss some bath products/essentials – there was only an “all our shampoo” dispenser in the shower. We had expected more from a 4 star hotel (and on the website there is also a picture of some bath products).

We did not use the Wifi as you needed to login in and we were not given the password/details upon check in. It seems that the hotel used to have free parking, but now charges DKK50 per night. However on our confirmation from a booking site it was stated that our stay included free parking, and when we showed this to the reception, we were granted free parking without any problems.

The breakfast buffet was great with a wide selection. We also had dinner at the restaurant Brasserie B one evening and it was delicious. Even though it was a bit pricey, we had a wonderful evening. There is a nice patio outside close to a small garden where you can sit and enjoy the sun and a drink.

Would definitely recommend the hotel for a short stay in Esbjerg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    100
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
45
8
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel is located in the centre of Esbjerg, has a big parking area.
Rooms are clean, big enough and comfortable.
I needed to turn on the heating system, because it was very cold in there, but I guess thats because I am not Danish :)
Breakfast is great, I must have scrambled eggs in the morning and they have great. Everybody can choose from buffet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Very central for all city activities, bars and shopping. Friendly and war welcome, very clean and comfortable room. Restaurant pricey but good menu selection and food first class. Breakfast buffet was fine and plentiful. Reception staff go out there way to assist, had no reason to complain about anything. Would return next time in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed twice at this hotel. I had two difference rooms, one was very small the other was bigger. So if you have the option, choose the bigger one.
Both rooms were clean and the furniture was well maintained.
The location is very central to the city and restaurants are in walking distance. The breakfast is ok.
The staff is extremely friendly and I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for a recent business trip, have been to Esbjerg a few time but had not stayed at the Britannia before and feel it is the best of the hotels available which is not that many.

Very central in town and close to shops, bars etc. but shops close early so not much open on dark November nights..

Room was clean and comfortable, I had a single which was small but suited my purpose fine for a short two night stay.

Staff on reception were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was pretty standard and had everything I would expect.

Same restaurant as breakfast is used in the evening and standard of food and service was very good.

Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hognoul, Liege, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A bit old fashionned hotel near shopping, pubs and restaurants. Rooms were of a good size and clean without being fancy. Good parking facilities as well. Restaurant offers good food with large buffets for breakfast and lunches. Night club in the basement.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Extremely disappointed with the customer service received at this hotel!! On arrival to the hotel I overheard another hotel guest complaining about the broken air conditioning. So I asked the hotel concierge when this would be fixed,to this he replied they were waiting on parts and that it would be fixed by tomorrow. (I would like to add that it was between 27-34 degrees outside during our weeks stay) Well unfurtunatly this was a complete lie and even by the time we left a week later, you guessed it it was still not fixed!!! What I find utterly amazing was the lack of an appology or even a discount on the room considering we were slow roasting in our bed every night. And to top it off we were woken up every morning at 07.00 by the workmen who were re-pointing the walls of the old tourist info building which sits just opposite the hotel. I have to say that I'm extremely ashamed to be Danish if that's the level of service we are offering our foreign tourists. ( My husband and I live in Scotland and this was his first trip to Denmark) Last but not least I filled in a complaint form and have still not heard anything back,shock horror way does this not surprise me!!
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Kirsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esbjerg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Olympic
Scandic Olympic
#1 of 15 in Esbjerg
260 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hjerting Badehotel
Hjerting Badehotel
#2 of 15 in Esbjerg
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
#10 of 15 in Esbjerg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#7 of 15 in Esbjerg
83 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ech Park
Ech Park
#6 of 15 in Esbjerg
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Property: Britannia Hotel
Address: Torvegade 24, Esbjerg 6700, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 5-story Hotel with 32-room addition (1984) catering to meetings & social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Esbjerg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing