We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Placed, A Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ansgar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ansgar
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly Placed, A Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A nice hotel right in the middle of the city center, great service and a lovely complementary breakfast. Great nights sleep only marginally impeded by the heat in the room. Heard not a sound from others whilst there. The rooms are small and a little dated but feel very comfortable and nice to stay in when you come back in an evening. Convenient for both the shopping and not far from the harbor if you need to reach the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
11
25
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A reasonable hotel right in the center of Esbjerg.
Probably most of the business people, but if you need a night or two in Esbjerg is an ok place. The town square and the walking street is just around the corner.
Clean and nice rooms, a good restaurant, nice service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having stayed in this Hotel last Week, I must say that I agree with the Reviewer that questioned who wrote the other reviews....
Yes, the Hotel is centrally located; Yes the Staff is most helpful and service orientated; Yes the Dining Room and the lounge are fine; Yes there is free WiFi and Coffee and Tea and es, the breakfast is OK, not more, not less!...... BUT! The Rooms need to be renovated and the walls need to be better soundproofed!!!
After a days work, I looked forward to have some rest, but this was made impossible by the Neighbors! The thinness of the walls did not leave anything to the imagination!!!
You can call it "old world charm", I just call it "in need for renovation"!
If you consider you are only going to stay a night or two, then this place is OK, as long as you don't expect too much - and this is why this Hotel leaves me in two minds.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikke5473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent 1 night in this hotel while travelling around Denmark. It is located in the centre of the city and very handy to everything. Some staff were friendly and the downstairs area of the hotel is very old world with big comfortable chairs to relax in. They provide tea/coffee anytime of the day/night. Free wi, free parking and the breakfast is good. The triple room we stayed in was big, clean and everything we needed. No complaints from us. Nice place to spend a few days. If you are looking for a nice comfortable hotel this is for you. Only problem and this is not the hotel's fault the noise from outside around 2 am when revellers walk past the hotel and also there were revellers staying in the hotel that were coming in around 2 am.

Room Tip: Find a room that is away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a typical hotel for a city like Esbjerg, not a small city, but not a big one either.

The hotel is a little old fashioned - in a good way, with a lot of atmosphere. It has modern fine rooms with free internet, and the staff is very service minded, and professional.

Central location and free parking completes a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here on business as result of trip advisor rating and reviews.
What a let down!!
Let's start with the good bits...The downstairs lounge area is nice with good seating, free wifi and free coffee/tea. It is in the town centre. The room was very clean.

However, the rooms are like staying in a hostel, very small, very dated and very thin walls. The bed was not comfortable.
I stayed 3 nights and did not get one good nights sleep.
The breakfast was sparse and the same each morning. All ingredients seemed to be the cheapest available.
I had a glance at other rooms when the cleaners were there in the morning, perhaps I just had the 'bad room - #232' but they all seemed to be the same, just others perhaps larger if a double.
I have posted some pictures of the room, corridor and hotel exterior.

I would not stay there again, and have shown my company who will not put our staff up in this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jjaejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Esbjerg hotels

Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

A good revamping and renovation would help, but having said that, here is the deal:
centrally located, free parking, friendly staff, clean and adequate room, fully no smoking hotel, large flat screen TV, free tea/coffee in the lobby at night, all for 100,00 euro... the only let down is the breakfast, really poor in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esbjerg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Olympic
Scandic Olympic
#1 of 15 in Esbjerg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel
#4 of 15 in Esbjerg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
#12 of 15 in Esbjerg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hjerting Badehotel
Hjerting Badehotel
#2 of 15 in Esbjerg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ech Park
Ech Park
#6 of 15 in Esbjerg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ansgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ansgar

Property: Hotel Ansgar
Address: Skolegade 36, Esbjerg 6700, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ansgar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ansgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing