We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view with nice simple food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Hovedtelegrafen - CLOSED

Cafe Hovedtelegrafen
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Danish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic view with nice simple food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Cafe Hovedtelegrafen is a very nice venue place. The view is fantastic specially when they open their terrace. It is better to book in case you are planning to go on the weekends. You have different types of food, from simple sandwiches, brunch, burgers, to more elaborated plates. After the meal is nice to finish with a good dessert (normally they have a good selection of cakes). The service is always very nice for a coffee place, not over the top, but you dont miss anything. If you are coming in CPH I would recommend it as a pit stop. It is not cheap, but CPH isnt cheap at all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hnissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    42
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best views of Copenhagen from " above"!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Came here on a busy Sunday for brunch. This place also caters towards children. There was a good buffet brunch.  Scrambled eggs, bacon, pancakes etc. Smoked salmon, yogurt , fresh fruit and more.  An absolutely wonderful selection of freshly baked bread and cakes. But you don't come here for the food per se. You come here to enjoy a bright restaurant with stunning views of Copenhagen from above. Service is friendly and efficient. And you can sit for however long you want to. Danes are not in a rush when they go out for a meal. They are out to enjoy and just relax. 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great views and good Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This must be one of the hidden gems of Copenhagen and certainly one of the best brunches on offer when combined with a fantastic view over the rooftops.

We went specifically for the Sunday brunch which was a large, very Danish affair with a mixture of hot bacon, egg, sausage, smoked salmon, cheeses, yoghurt, syrups, muffins and delicious rye bread.

Location wise, the cafe is on the top floor of the Post and Tele Museum and right in the centre of Copenhagen in a light, airy glass building with a summer roof terrace. The views over the rooftops are rather special and it makes a great spot for a long lazy brunch.

Total cost per head was DKr149 which by the time you have added in coffee and juices is not cheap, but when you conside the location and the views is in my opinion well worth it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faxe
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Central Copenhagen from above.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We did choose this place for our lunch on a shopping tour. We were not disappointed. The location is very good in the center of the main shopping area and the view is fantastic. The service is quick and very friendly. The choice of food is good and we had a problem making our choice - there were so many possibilities.
We have been here before and will certainly return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sussiogjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen/Edinburgh/New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful view - book ahead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I ate lunch here about half a year ago with a couple of friends visiting Copenhagen for the first time. I therefore wanted to show them the city from above ... and having head much good about this café we gave it a try. The food lived up to expectations: I had a very nice caesar salad and the others opted for the burger. There are quite a few danish specialities on the menu too. Try and book a table in advance though - it's quite a busy place. I can definitely recommend this to tourists - as the location is very central and will give you a much better food experience than the many nearby tourist-trap cafes (Cafe Europa, Cafe Norden). Note that the cafe is only open 10.00-16.00.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CPHDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Hovedtelegrafen also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing