We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very positive experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copenhagen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YMCA Interpoint Hostel
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We have stayed in this hostel for 3 nights and we were very satisfied with overall service. The hostel is renovated, painted walls, new wooden floors, new furniture, new beds, which were quite comfortable. Bathrooms are situated in a basement, which was a bit odd, but not difficult to get used to. Only women's bathroom was renovated, but it is said that the men's will be renovated too. Large living room is nicely equipped. There is an piano and table football. In a kitchen there is a microwave and plenty of new dishes. Everything is free for use. It is really nicely decorated, and whole ambient is very very beautiful.
This hostel works on voluntary basis, as it doesn't have permanent staff. That is why it is why it is so cheap and is open only during the summer.
Only drawback is that there is a specified time when you have to return in hostel, or in contrary, you wont be able to get in.. It's being closed about midnight, and during a day between 12 and 15h, if I can recall well. So you have to adjust your sightseeing with opening hours...
All in all, the hostel is very nice, and all people we met were quite friendly

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zule87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

YMCA Copenhage is poorly maintained, especially the bedrooms. The bedroom we booked has 4 bunkers. As like some other hostels, you have to pay for bedsheets and blankets. And the bedsheets and blankets seems old.

The bathrooms are located in the basement. Meaning we have to walk outside the building and take another door that lead to the basement. It can be quite scary to have your shower at night as you have to walk down the dark staircase. Also, the timings are staggered for men and women. So we had to wait for another 1 hr if we missed the ladies shower time. The shower rooms are dirty, you wont want to spend any time longer than needed. As we drove to YMCA, thus the location wasnt really a problem. Drive takes about 5mins from centrum.

Kitchen is quite well-equipped with plates, cups etc which you can help youself to. Microwave and oven are available for use as well. Only thing which I find a little unpleasant is the kettle, which seems dirty inside and the boiled water has thin layer of oil at the top. There is a large dining area with a few tables and chairs for people to use.

As this is my first time staying in Copenhagen hostel, I cannot make a comparison with other hostels. But I guess it you pay slightly more, you can get a better hostel. Hope this helps if you are thinking of booking YMCA Copenhagen.

2  Thank BigMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Line T, Manager at YMCA Interpoint Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

A lot of the criticism conserning our hostel in this review from 2008 is true. The hostel was in a really bad condition at that point. But in 2011 and through 2012 we have been renovating the whole place a lot. It still has a lot of atmosphere but the facilities are all new and there are no holes in the wall (exept from those for windows and doors).

To sum up: The kindness of the volunteers and the cozy atmosphere is still the same but the building and the facilities have had a thorough brush up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ViajeroInsaciable8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoro29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Bedwood Hostel
Bedwood Hostel
#8 of 43 in Copenhagen
446 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
#4 of 43 in Copenhagen
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Copenhagen
Generator Copenhagen
#3 of 43 in Copenhagen
2,698 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,134 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 119 in Copenhagen
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Interpoint Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Interpoint Hostel

Address: Valdemarsgade 15 | 1665 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YMCA Interpoint Hostel is a small, friendly hostel situated quite central in Copenhagen. The hostel's rooms, bathrooms and showers are newly renovated(2011). We offer everything you need to make your stay in Copenhagen cheap and pleasant inclucing kitcenette, commen area and not least our staff of friendly and helpful volounteers.Please note that the YMCA Interpoint Hostel is run by volunteers. This makes it possible to offer cheap accommodation and is the reason for the uniquely nice and welcoming atmosphere; the staff is not there for their own economic gain but because they want to help create a fun and friendly place to receive travelers from all over the World and make YOU feel at home. All profit made goes to the work of the local YMCA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing