We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy restaurant with top notch soup”
Review of Soupanatural - CLOSED

Soupanatural
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Neighbourhood: Inner Noerrebro
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with top notch soup”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

On this blustery winter day, soup sounded like a good plan. I found the place, and was the only customer for the first 5 minutes in the early afternoon.

The decor is edgy, probably more in line with the cocktail bar aspect for the evenings. There a number of spots to sit, from counters, high tables and one larger 6 person table.

The menu is simple, about 6 soups, and a little extra for things like creme fraiche or more bread. Else there are drinks, which looked intriguing but I wasn't about to start the imbibing quite this early.

I ordered the Rod Dahl (red lentil) soup along with a mango lassi. When served, she asked if I cared for cilantro and some sesame salt. The soup was excellent. A nice amount of spiciness and flavor, plus the sesame salt and cilantro definitely highlighted the soup. The mango lassi was a small given the amount of ice in the cup, but still a good drink nonetheless.

For being an all organic soup shop, I think it's done quite well with reasonable prices and a warm and filling meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahslian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent fare, great deal”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A bit of background - I've never considered soup to be a meal, so I might be biased at the get go.

Ambience - That being said, this place is small and cosy. It's definitely one of those places one could go to on a snowy or rainy night.

Food/ Service - The service was great - the guys energetic about their product. I asked the guy at the counter what he recommended and I ended up going for the Hokkaido soup. Essentially this is a pumpkin soup, which he seasoned with parsley and some sesame powder. I got 2 slices of bread and a tab of butter with that. For 64 DKK, not a bad deal. The menu said this soup would be spicy. But I guess my definition of spicy is slightly different from the Danish one. That was the only disappointment for me. Personally, this was a filling meal. My friends had a hokkaido and a chilli con carne. The only negative feedback I got was that there was not much meat in the chilli con carne.

Overall, I'd come back - but with guarded optimism.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnupRajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eschenbach in der Oberpfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service, delicious food, surprise concert”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The soup and bread was reasonable and the staff was so helpful. She explained the different flavors and ingredients to us and even recommended a Hollander berry beer- really fun! Then, as we were eating outside a band set up across the street and started to play jazz music. Sax player, drummer and a guy with a huge upright bass. All in all, a great stop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Organic and a great deal”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was such a simple but absolutely delicious meal in an expensive city. The lentil curry soup was a great option, and my husband loved the chili con carne.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank greysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Uncomplicated and good”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Well, it ain't fine dining, but the chili is excellent, it's very good value for the money, and the street kitchen atmosphere is delightful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soupanatural also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing