We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This IS a 2 star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #40 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. There are good reviews on Tripadvisor but it is a 2 star hotel for a reason.

GOOD - Good price. Very clean rooms. Nice 32" HD TV. Triple glazed windows keep out noise. Modern.

BAD - Aircon in the 2 rooms we tried was broken and would leak if left on for any length of time. However when we complained we did get free breakfast and bike hire for a day. Unfortunately the hotel is near the train station / other building work and is noisy if you have to open the windows. The breakfast is not worth the money. All you get is cereal / bread & jam. There were only 2 pillows (really thin ones) in the bedroom and the hotel would not provide any more. There are no shops nearby and snacks / drinks for sale in the lobby are twice the price of those at the 7 Eleven shop in the train station.

Room Tip: Large rooms look to be near the lifts so may be no
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thanks for your review. We appriciate very much to get feedback from our guests. I´m sorry that you had the unfortune of two bad airconditions.
We ARE a 2-stared hotel, and rooms are small, breakfast is "danish" breakfast. We were build near the main train station, which lots think as a positive thing, because it is central and others see it as a negative thing, while when going to sleep, you can hear the trains from some rooms (rooms turning towards the trainstation).
We have gotten the "green-key, which means that we are thinking of the environment and therefore only have one pillow per person, not to have to much laundry, using too much soap etc. Unfortunally some like pillows big and fluffy others like them small and thin. I can only regret that it wasn´t in your favour.
Our shop is a bit expensive, so is our exchange rate, but we are a hotel and the shop offer we have is just an extra service for those that wont walk for cheeper. That the nearest shop is at 7 Eleven at the main train station is not our fault.
Hope that you all in all were satisfied with WakeUp Copenhagen. We try our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

The location is just 5 minutes away from Main Train Station, and from Airport the Train takes you just for 5 minutes to Main Statin. You can rent the Hotel's bike which is upsolutely perfect to see all Copenhagen by bike. Very nice rooms , a little bir small but enough. So clean , quite , breakfast was enough , walking distance to Tivoli Garden and everywhere. Such a huge nice place to stay in Copenhage. Stuff was so nice and polite , so helpful. Thanks for everything WakeUp Copenhagen :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johncell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The Hotel was very good value - ( managed to get a deal stay three nightsand pay for two - via Asda's website) The room though compact was more than enough for one person. The room and bathroom were very clean and the power shower was good. I had no problems on the very Busy Sunday morning with breakfast as the Hotel was full, the choice available was good value, and the Restaurant was nice overloooking a patio.

My request for a room away from the lift was taken care off and I didn't experience any noise from rooms adjacent or in the corridoors. As I had paid a bargin price, my room was on a lower floor but I hadn't come to Copenhagen to stay in my room for the week-end - I also didn;t experience any queues at check-in or out and the staff on the desk were helpfull!! For a very expensive city an all round good choice!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here with a few friends for a short stay in Copenhagen. A very unfriendly and 'cold' hotel.
The rooms just outspace a small closet and have tiny beds that can only be entered from one side. When complaining about the poor quality of the hotel at hotel staff i was told that the were going to 'kick me out of the hotel' when i complained any longer. I only asked them if we could get one more room for a fair price. Staff an hotel policy resemble 'easy jet/ryan air style....

Some more disadvantages:
-Long rows at check-in (self service counters not working)
-Unfriendly staff
-Overcrowded breakfast
-poor breakfast quality
-Too expensive for whay you get
-And more

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Achterberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thanks for you review. Also good for us to get the bad reviews!
First of all we have to point out that we are a 2-stared hotel, which means that we are restriced in the service among others just beeing two receptionist at work at the time. We have 510 rooms and are often fully booked, so ques and lines is impossible for us to avoid. That the self serving maschines doens´t work, can only be unfortunally and we apologize for that.
Our breakfast menu is "danish breakfast", and probably not what some expect of a hotel breakfast meal, but it´s actually cheap compared what you might pay somewhere else in Copenhagen.
Second of all, we always try our best to give the best service possible for us, but it is also difficult to maintain a smile, when beeing face to face with sometimes unresonable complaints. Not saying that was the case in you matter! In this præcise case I know that you asked for an ekstra room less the price, that we offer, and you beeing unsatisfied with the size of the rooms, which we list on our web page beeing only 12 m2 should have been to your knowledge. The receptionist in matter didn´t tell you, that she would kick you out of the hotel, she most extra ordinary offered you your money back, so you could find another, better hotel to your satisfacion, which is something we normally never do. We are ofcause very sorry, that you had a bad experience at WakeUp, and I´m sure that the communication was turned in bad direction. Hope this respond has made you less dissapointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We just spent 6 nights at Wakeup Copenhagen and were very happy with our room and the hotel. The room was small - don't plan on unpacking your bag - but if you plan to spend most of your time out of your room, exploring the city, then it's no big deal. The huge window that opened all the way was awesome and our room had a great view of the inner courtyard. The bathroom and shower are ingenious for a small space. We did not experience any noisy neighbors - in fact, we only encountered other guests on our floor twice or three times in 6 days! Our room was clean and comfortable and I loved the funky mod design and decor of the whole hotel.

As others have said, it's only a 5-10 minute walk to the central train station, and the #11 bus stops right outside the hotel. We found it to be very convenient to Stroeget, Tivoli and the rest of Copenhagen's sights.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crashcatblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

U get exactly what u r looking for
CleAn and essential
Easy check in and friendly staff
U cAn easely hear NeXT Door guest going to' toilette (no good isolation)
but for the rest is a good hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VANBREDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Located within walking distance of the main attractions and secure parking. Staff are not the best, slow checkin / out because self service machines broken. Lifts, never waited so long for a lift, 5 or more arrived full and waited more than 15 mins for one. Rooms are small but clean and well laid out given the space available, major downside is there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer4longtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#37 of 119 in Copenhagen
2,750 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#57 of 119 in Copenhagen
1,037 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#51 of 119 in Copenhagen
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#15 of 119 in Copenhagen
1,169 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#47 of 119 in Copenhagen
1,954 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 119 in Copenhagen
3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £69 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing