We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It works but would try for somewhere else next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Copenhagen is an incredibly expensive city to visit, and that also applies to the hotel rooms. Wakeup Copenhagen works well as a budget hotel room, but at the end of the day, if I ever visit again, I think I'll try finding somewhere else, maybe outside the center further down the train lines since the trains/metro really was very convenient and runs very late (and some all night)

Pluses:
Cheap (for Copenhagen)
Clean and functional
If you like minimalist decor it's nice
Staff was nice and spoke good English (as does everyone in Copenhagen)
15 minute walk to Tivoli, which is the start of central Copenhagen and the main train station

Minuses:
Very small rooms, don't bring any big suitcases if there are two of you
Bed wasn't very comfortable, it also only comes with two pillows, and it's pushed up against the wall so if your partner has to get up in the night they have to crawl over you
Tiny satchels for shampoo which are hard to open when wet
If you want anything ironed, you have to go down to the basement to the ironing room.

We didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel since the reviews on here said it wasn't that great. Instead grab something from the Lagkagehuset bakery in the train station.

Also there's a stop for the 11A bus right outside, which can take you all over to the major sights in Copenhagen, as well as the train station. It comes about once every 10 minutes. Just make sure if you get on at the train station you check to make sure it's going the right direction to the hotel, otherwise you end up on a very long (though scenic!) ride all through the city before reaching the hotel.

To sum it up, our stay was pleasant enough but I think "Average" really suits it. If you get placed here by work or need somewhere cheap you'll be fine and it works, but I can't give it a hearty recommendation, hence the 3 stars (circles?).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,895)
There are newer reviews for Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 2,895 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at Wakeup for one night. Paid for breakfast for 2 already during check-in. In the check-out rush of the morning, we picked up the receipt without thinking too much about it. After returning home we realized that the hotel charged for 4 breakfasts!

We thought it would be an easy fix to get a refund for the extra 2 breakfasts and send an email to the hotel. Imagine our total surprise the reply was pretty much: if you didn't check your receipt during check-out then screw you, we will just pocket your money.

The blunt attitude was just appalling. Obviously it is fine for the hotel to overcharge and get away with it. My advice to everyone: stay away from the hotel. You never know what they are going to charge your credit card and probably get away with it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD_ELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAKEUPCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear JD_ELD,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, even though you where not satisfied.
We remember the e-mail correspondence and first of all we would never use that kind of language.
It is correct that we are unable to check/refund that kind of payment afterward since it states with us that you got 4 x breakfast cards.
We can therefore only advise you to check your receipt in the moment as well as what you’re signing on when paying by credit card.
We hope you still had a nice stay with us and in our city.
Kind regards,
Team Wakeup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at WakeUp hotel Copenhagen for 4 days. It was a very good experience. The room was clean and confortable even if minimal. Staff was kind . The only little problem was breakfast, that didn't match Italian taste.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Mattia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

For a very good price you get to choose a room on the lower floors, medium or high up in the building. A very cool, functional, modern and nice room, minimalistic but designed. I loved it all, and we slept very well. You can buy breakfast for 70 DKK. It was ok, nothing fancy. I see that other's have commented on the lack of danish pastries and warm food. Maybe an optional more expensive breakfast can be added, if you pay more? Anyway, you walk here for the train station, towards the river, in 10 minutes if you walk fast, otherwise 15. For that price the extra walk is no problem, but it's not smack-in-the-middle. However, I loved the freshness of the hotel and will be back. Can be recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up and ask to be far away from the elevators if you want a quiet room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Clean and close to the center. Good service from the hotelpersonel. Breakfast was a little poor. Bathroom in the hotelroom was with frosted doors, so maybe not suitable for "sensitive" guests. Rooms was a bit small, but the price is low. Worth it. Carparking close, but a bit expensive I think.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selle_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wake Up is a great hotel for being close to the center, walking distance. The rooms are clean and bright. Quite basic but nothing to complain about. The breakfast isn't as decadent as other places we visited in Scandinavia. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip and booked it again to end our trip as we knew exactly what we would get. I would recommend this hotel to others and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macar0ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Wakeup Copenhagen is Hotel situated close to the central train station. We took a taxi from the airport which was expensive. An alternative is to take the train and to walk from the train station to the hotel (~10 min). If you arrive early and your room is not ready you can store you bags, but you will need 20 Danish krone for the storage locker. I did choose this hotel since I wanted to experience a hotel which is minimalist but comfortable. The hotel is close to the Tivoli garden and all other attractions are in walking distance. I walked to the canal and took a boat tour, which the best way to see Copenhagen. Nyhavn looks better from the boat. Our room on the 4th floor was small. There was no closet and the bathroom was an enclosure which was part of the room. The bed was comfortable but small for 2 persons. The hotel has reliable free wi-fi, but the desk in the room was small and we were glad that we took an iPad not a laptop. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay again for a short visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#38 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,618 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,155 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#18 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,238 reviews
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#43 of 118 in Copenhagen
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £84 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing