We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for solo stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for solo stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Wakeup Copenhagen provides fantastic value for money in a city where accommodation is typically very expensive. It is ideally located for a city adventure, just 5 or 10 minutes walk from central train station.

The room, although small, was very clean and served me well as I was staying there alone. I would say it is still suitable for couples, although not ideal. The bed was comfortable, had a TV with a couple of channels in English and the bathroom was of good quality and was clean.

Hotel offers free wifi throughout all rooms which is very useful!

Previous reviews have criticised the standard of service by front desk staff. If this had ever been an issue, it is one they must have worked to resolve as I found all hotel staff to be very pleasant and helpful at every opportunity.

I would suggest not paying for breakfast here as it is expensive and does not offer much variety of food (if you like ham on bread, great, if not there wasn't much else to eat).

The hotel also has a luggage locker facility you can use for just 20kr which is great if you need to leave a suitcase there for the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    1,314
    601
    166
    89
See reviews for
316
1,131
291
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent and clean hotel which is within walking distance to the central station. Beds are comfy and toilets are clean and well-maintained.Able to rent bicycles from the hotel for a city tour but the only problems are that the bikes are a tad too tall(as with most city bikes) for an asian girl like me, but i survived it:)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovescouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel at my sister's recommendation. It was conveniently located but we had to walk a lot which was good for the heart. It was a sort of boutique hotel with translucent doors for the bathroom, but no single beds. If you are travelling as two separate people forget it because all the rooms are single doubles - for couples only. Very basic with no closets or drawers to put away clothes. Breakfast was expensive but compared to what you got at the railway station for the same price we opted to have the buffet at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Copenhagen is an incredibly expensive city to visit, and that also applies to the hotel rooms. Wakeup Copenhagen works well as a budget hotel room, but at the end of the day, if I ever visit again, I think I'll try finding somewhere else, maybe outside the center further down the train lines since the trains/metro really was very convenient and runs very late (and some all night)

Pluses:
Cheap (for Copenhagen)
Clean and functional
If you like minimalist decor it's nice
Staff was nice and spoke good English (as does everyone in Copenhagen)
15 minute walk to Tivoli, which is the start of central Copenhagen and the main train station

Minuses:
Very small rooms, don't bring any big suitcases if there are two of you
Bed wasn't very comfortable, it also only comes with two pillows, and it's pushed up against the wall so if your partner has to get up in the night they have to crawl over you
Tiny satchels for shampoo which are hard to open when wet
If you want anything ironed, you have to go down to the basement to the ironing room.

We didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel since the reviews on here said it wasn't that great. Instead grab something from the Lagkagehuset bakery in the train station.

Also there's a stop for the 11A bus right outside, which can take you all over to the major sights in Copenhagen, as well as the train station. It comes about once every 10 minutes. Just make sure if you get on at the train station you check to make sure it's going the right direction to the hotel, otherwise you end up on a very long (though scenic!) ride all through the city before reaching the hotel.

To sum it up, our stay was pleasant enough but I think "Average" really suits it. If you get placed here by work or need somewhere cheap you'll be fine and it works, but I can't give it a hearty recommendation, hence the 3 stars (circles?).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at Wakeup for one night. Paid for breakfast for 2 already during check-in. In the check-out rush of the morning, we picked up the receipt without thinking too much about it. After returning home we realized that the hotel charged for 4 breakfasts!

We thought it would be an easy fix to get a refund for the extra 2 breakfasts and send an email to the hotel. Imagine our total surprise the reply was pretty much: if you didn't check your receipt during check-out then screw you, we will just pocket your money.

The blunt attitude was just appalling. Obviously it is fine for the hotel to overcharge and get away with it. My advice to everyone: stay away from the hotel. You never know what they are going to charge your credit card and probably get away with it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD_ELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAKEUPCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear JD_ELD,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, even though you where not satisfied.
We remember the e-mail correspondence and first of all we would never use that kind of language.
It is correct that we are unable to check/refund that kind of payment afterward since it states with us that you got 4 x breakfast cards.
We can therefore only advise you to check your receipt in the moment as well as what you’re signing on when paying by credit card.
We hope you still had a nice stay with us and in our city.
Kind regards,
Team Wakeup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masserano, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at WakeUp hotel Copenhagen for 4 days. It was a very good experience. The room was clean and confortable even if minimal. Staff was kind . The only little problem was breakfast, that didn't match Italian taste.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mattia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
286 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

For a very good price you get to choose a room on the lower floors, medium or high up in the building. A very cool, functional, modern and nice room, minimalistic but designed. I loved it all, and we slept very well. You can buy breakfast for 70 DKK. It was ok, nothing fancy. I see that other's have commented on the lack of danish pastries and warm food. Maybe an optional more expensive breakfast can be added, if you pay more? Anyway, you walk here for the train station, towards the river, in 10 minutes if you walk fast, otherwise 15. For that price the extra walk is no problem, but it's not smack-in-the-middle. However, I loved the freshness of the hotel and will be back. Can be recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up and ask to be far away from the elevators if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing