We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Copenhagen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Samara, Russia
1 review
“Weekend in Copenhagen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

"Wakeup Copenhagen" is nice and cosy hotel for spend weekend in Copenhagen.
My room was clear. The view was good.
Breakfast is simple and delicious: some sorts of juice, coffee, tea, baking, cheese, ham, flakes.
The staff are very nice young persons.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadehzda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    1,293
    584
    163
    84
See reviews for
308
1,106
290
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at Wakeup Copenhagen for 2 nights in January. We had a pleasant stay in a double room. The room was very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in Copenhagen. Yes the room was quite small, however the room was well designed so it was still very functional. It was modern and clean, and had a good bathroom and also had a TV. It was the perfect base for our short stay. It was also just a short walk from the main train station and the city center.
Staff seemed friendly and helpful. Wifi connection was good. Luggage lockers are available which we made use of on our last day after we checked out.
If you are money conscious, but want to stay somewhere better than your average hostel then I highly recommend Wakeup Copenhagen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank -Oz_Traveller-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I contacted the hotel before leaving this review and its apparent from the week late reply that they care very very little for their clientele. Please read my review below to see the issue prompting this. In the reply I was told the hotel was a 2 star hotel and not a 4 star hotel (I never suggested or believed it was). Apparently pillows are a 4 start hotel facility, I hadn’t expected all that much from the hotel other than to be able to sleep, this it seems is a 4 star hotel perk. I have since replied to that email and have received no reply from them

Review:
We stayed at Wakeup Copenhagen for 4 nights in February 2014. First, I'd like to say that the hotel is clean and easy enough to find from the central station. Bus 11A will take you right outside the door (bus will say Tivoli Hotel, its just before that stop).

This aside, the actual quality of stay was appalling. I appreciate its aimed at the budget end of the scale and am not expecting miracles. But I am expecting to be able to sleep in a hotel as a fairly bare minimum. The double beds come with 2 pillows and 2 separate single duvets, the duvets don't concern me too much, just explaining. I suspect it is to cut laundry bills if only single occupancy. The pillows are well used and almost ineffective. Please don't feel I'm someone needing a great level of comfort, I'm not. I regular camp out on a roll mat and when living in Asia, I've spent countless nights sleeping on floors. The pillows were not sufficient to elevate my head, it was almost the same as going without.

I have a slight back injury from rugby, I'm still fighting fit and a keen runner. I have problems when my neck is not elevated a little bit when sleeping, it only needs to be a few degrees above 0 to be fine, the pillows won't allow that as they are so old and used. Not wanting to be needy, night 1 I tried without.

On waking up, my back was in painful spasms (worse than I've ever had) and had swelled up. After some painkillers and a good walk, it reduced a bit. That evening when I returned I asked reception for some extra pillows to help, due to the injury, they were polite enough in refusing me this, and offered me towels to bulk up the pillow. I said fine, not really having much choice and said could I ask housekeeping in the morning (thinking that they couldn't do it as it was past 8pm). Reception informed me that it would still be not possible, as the hotel only has the exact number of pillows for the exact number of rooms. This was explained by the statement "it's a budget hotel".

I persevered with 'towel pillows' though it was rather annoying that housekeeping would take them away each day, they were stuffed inside the pillowcase to be one now larger pillow. They didn't replace them, just took them, which was a bit annoying to be honest to have to ask again for towels. I didn't bother on the last night, it hadn't helped anyway by this stage anyway and I had plenty of pain killers. I'd also booked an appointment with my osteopath for when I returned. I need to have several more of these to right the wrong that Wakeup Copenhagen did to my back.

Further to this problem, just outside is a construction site, I believe that some work on the road is being undertaken, what I do now know is that Danish builders start work earlier, about 7:30am the machines started up. I particularly enjoyed the machine that breaks up the tarmac with it lovely thumping noise at 2-3 second intervals. There was no need for an alarm clock on this trip!

The train tracks also run behind the hotel, you can hear very clearly the trains, I write this as I suspect the owners response will be explaining how the construction site is temporary etc. and that it'll be gone soon etc. It looked fairly long term to me as it appears they are developing some of the unused land, streetview it, you'll see plenty of available building space.

The room itself, although clean enough is small (I expected this and doesn't really bother me). But remember this, the bathroom and toilet are very close to ALL areas of the room. The acoustics of the bathroom can be heard by all, so if you are sharing the room with someone, make sure you are already very well acquainted, because you will be once you've stayed here.

I'd recommend the Wakeup Copenhagen if you not interested in a good nights sleep and like to be able to hear you fellow traveller make use of all the bathroom facilities, but hey, as the receptionist said "this is a budget hotel". As for my personal circumstance and my back, I'm now looking at several weeks of treatment to undo the damage done, I'm going to look into seeking some legal advice given the damage to my back, but given the treatment is going to be costing me under £200 I suspect sadly it won't be a viable route

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAKEUPCPH, Gæsteansvarlig at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Paul M,
We can only again confirm that it is correct that our 2 star hotel is limited equipped.
All rooms are equipped with 1 duvet 1 pillow per guest and of cause towels, shampoo, soap and hairdryer.
We wish you all the best with you back problem and hope you will find a more suitable hotel in our wonderful city next time you visit.
Kind regards,
Team Wakeup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the wakeup hotel for three nights in the double standard room. This hotel is perfect for couples who want to see the city without spending too much money: the rooms are small but very clean and cosy and it's only 10 mins away from the city centre, 5 mins from the central station and there's a bus stop just a couple of minutes away which drives to all the main locations. Excellent hotel, would
recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank apuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Nice "design" hotel, but the rooms are a bit tight.
Breakfast is good.
TV cannot be moved, hence lying in the bad you have a bad angle to watch.
Sometimes WiFi reception is bad in the room
Nothing around, the next shops are in the train station (10min walk)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparefroh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Clean, modern, basic, small.
Its fine if you are with a group on a business trip, and aren't actually staying in the room much. If you are likely to be in the room for any length of time, then I'd suggest an alternative.
Having said that, there is nothing wrong with a compact, basic room.
Would have been nice if they could at least provide a bottle of drinking water in the rooms though.

Room Tip: There is building going on next door (March 2014) so I'd choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Domhnachdaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Frequent visitor to Copenhagen and first time staying here. The location is a 10 minute walk from the Central station and city centre and has all basic facilities covered.

Having read review stating concerns about noise from the adjacent rooms and nearby rail lines, i'm happy to say that we had no issues with either having been on the 6th floor on the rail facing facade.

Overall a very satisfactory stay in a modern, clean, secure room, with helpful staff on hand.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RjE_BHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#30 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#22 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#48 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing