We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a very comfortable place even though it was not quite finished! The staff were friendly and helpful. The one point is that the price rises the higher your room, however its not with it - there is no city view to speak of. However we would recommend it as a reasonable and comfortable place to stay in central Copenhagen. The breakfast buffet is fine if a little limited but you can fuel up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Premen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    1,350
    632
    171
    91
See reviews for
332
1,169
296
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good location approx 10 mind from The Central Station. Like most hotels in Copenhagen was expensive for what you got. No water on one of the mornings due to construction work and no notification or warning given!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Granby, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well as a group of 26, we were able to get rooms here the night before our cruise in May. Some of us had seen the photos and were prepared that the rooms are really small by American standards. They certainly are. But they were clean, and the staff was delightful and helpful. Gave us directions, arranged for cabs to the cruise port the next morning and answered all of our questions. One night is about all I would be able to manage- as you have to crawl over the other person in the bed to use the facilities- but that is the joy of travelling to different countries. Walk able to Tivoli and Nyhavn- though we took a cab to Nyhavn as we were so tired from the flight over. But we did walk back and it is a very walkable town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Hotel is situated in ideal location about 5mins walk from Copenhagen Central Station and hence the centre of town. Please be aware that if you arrive before 3pm you will need 20Kr to put your luggage in the lockers. However Wifi coverage in the rooms is very poor as my connection kept cutting off every 2mins and my partner's wouldn't connect at all. Rooms don't get cleaned properly everyday as when we checked out the room was very dusty. Rooms themselves are very small, about 12sq metres, you can upgrade to large for 200Kr but only get 3sq metres extra. There is also no phone in the room if you need to call Reception. Overall can't say I looked forward at the end of the day to returning to that hotel every night. Better off spending a little more for better hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sukhvir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, Direktør at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Sukhvir S,
First of all thank you for taking the time to review and share your stay on tripadvisor, and we are happy to hear you liked your location.
But most of all we are of cause very sorry to read that you where unsatisfied with your overall hotel experience.
It is correct that we are unable to promise early check-in and that our luggage self-service storage costs DKK 20,- per locker.
As you most likely would have read on previous reviews, clean rooms are a high priority for us and we are very sorry to hear that you experienced differently.
Dirty rooms are unacceptable and I’m sorry that you didn’t mention this at our reception and we could have changed this.
Regarding the wi-fi, we do experience peak times in our high season, but it sounds like there has been a bigger problem, which again we would have been happy to look at and solve if been informed about it.
Our room size and our phone situation is correct as you state, and we do only offer one emergency phone on every floor.
We hope that you did enjoy our city and will find a more suitable hotel for your next visit.
We would like to advise you and future guests to contact our staff if anything does not live up to your expectations, since it is our goal to have satisfied guests and within our limitations we will do everything to make this happen.
Kind regards, Team Wakeup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The rooms are stupidly small. To the point that 2 of us, with 2 small suitcases made the room feel cramped. The bed is stuffed at the end if the room and can only be entered from one side. There are walls all 3 other sides. There is little/no space to hang things. There is no safe. It's just uber basic.

The location is ok, but it's not central. The other Wakeup in Bogergade is a much better location.

Next time I'll be happy to spend more per night to stay in a hotel with a few basic comforts. Funnily enough, the best thing about the hotel was that it was so poor that I wanted to spend as little time as possible there while I was in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, Direktør at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear AS2078,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and we are actually trying to show future guests via our homepage information and pictures, exactly how our rooms look like and what our high quality equipment is containing.
It is correct that our new opened Wakeup Borgergade is located in the other end of the city centre.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful city and can only recommend you to look into our Arp-Hansen Hotel Group, which offers a lot of wonderful hotels with great locations incl. different room categories to fulfil your requests and needs for a future visit.
Kind regards, Team Wakeup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Recently stayed there for 3 nights, then another 1 night while doing a road trip through Denmark. Wakeup Copenhagen was exactly what we needed. It was a good price for Copenhagen, not too far to walk to the city centre and it is very close to the Tivoli Gardens.

The room was small, but that didn't matter to us. The bathroom is a pod in the corner of the room and has frosted glass doors - so go with someone you're comfortable with because there isn't much privacy! We had a view of the skyline and a big window.

The free wifi is really fast and you can connect more than one device which is great.

The staff were helpful and the service was generally pretty great. Breakfast was alright but nothing flash, it was a lot easier to go there before heading out for a long drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllyWestgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We opted for this hotel to stay for 2 nights in a double room. I liked the location as railway station/cannal tour etc were near by. This hotel is visible from many corners in the city because of its tall building. Breakfast had many options and I really liked the danish bread with chocolates and butter.
Room were small but very clean. I disliked the shower room as it was very very small.
Overall a very good budget hotel in the expensive city like Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pulkitgupta_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,496 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,032 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#46 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 117 in Copenhagen
988 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 117 in Copenhagen
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing