We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try to go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Copenhagen
2 reviews
“try to go somewhere else”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The design it's beautiful, and if you are going there for some standard turism, aka wake up early in the morning and don't mind the small rooms, then it can be great. IF, on the other way, you are like me, a bit sensitive to noise and trembling, and need to sleep beyond 8 in the morning, then avoid it all all costs: on one side there is the railway, on other two sides there are huge cranes, I was in a room on the 4th side so it could have been OK, with some good earplugs. Thing is, you can hear everything that happens in the other rooms, REALLY well, and every step makes the bed tremble. The decor is great, but in fact it is like an expensive hostel, I mean, probably you get what you pay for, and in Copenhagen this hotel IS cheap. I wish I had gone to a quiet B&B. For partying, if you are in yor 20ies and don't need to sleep too much in the morning, then I d reccommend it .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    1,363
    644
    173
    92
See reviews for
341
1,183
300
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This brand new 2-star hotel was in many ways an experience. This is clearly a budget+ hotel, very very nice (but small) rooms, stylish modern furniture and a very good bed. Quiet, but dull, surroundings (may improve during 2011 due to the finishing of several nearby buildings). 10 minutes walk from Copenhagen Central station (no direct access with public transportation).

Breakfast (50 danish kroner) was outright lousy. Bake-off bread (dry), cheese, jam, paté and salami. Tasteless coffee, watery orange juice, ... not worth the money. No nearby alternatives. In other words - if a really nice breakfast is important to your stay... then stay away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sth Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Very good hotel, not the best views but its close to Central Station and Tivoli Gdns. Very clean, modern, comfortable beds. Modesty may be an issue in the state of the art showers, but all round good value. Just a shame the city was so expensive to eat and drink in as its lovely with plenty to do. Breakfast was ok, bit samey after 5 days.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExiledMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We found this hotel cheap, easy, fast, impersonal and noisy.

We booked through Totalstay and payed just €76 per night, incl. breakfast. Very cheap, for Copenhagen!
The hotel is a 10 minute walk or so from the trainstation. It's surrounded by offices and building sites, which means the only people you'll meet on the street at night walking back from the city centre are fellow hotel guests. Streets are well-lit though, we never felt unsafe.

The hotel is modern and new. A huge plus was the free wifi throughout the hotel. Rooms are small-ish but well-designed, light and fresh. Loved the all-glass bathroom which featrued a heated floor and a nice powerful shower. The room was clean and kept that way during our stay. The bed was very comfortable. The chairs weren't.
It was very cold in Copenhagen during our visit, but the room was warm - even though the heating wasn't on. The room has airconditioning, which might be necessary in summer.

Breakfast is simple but worth the money. It consists of a small buffet offering 5 types of bread, 2 types of cold meat, cream cheese, butter, jam, nutella, cereals, muesli, yoghurt, oranges and apples, milk, tea, coffee, orange juice, apple juice and water.
Most of the staff is friendly enough, though we didn't speak to them much, only during checkin. We arrived at 11 and were too early so our room 'wasn't ready yet'. We were offered the opportunity to upgrade to a DK100/night more expensive room on one of the top floors that was ready, because "the cleaners start on the top floor and work their way down". During our stay however, we usually saw the cleaners busy on our floor at 10 o'clock already. Were they just trying to talk us into upgrading? We chose not to.
As I had requested an early checkin during booking, we were offered a complimentary lockertoken to store our luggage.
You can check in and out using the machines in the corridor.

Cons: It's noisy. There is still a lot of construction work going on around the hotel and this means you will be woken up at around 6 by the builders on weekdays. (Can't say if the rooms on the very top floor have this same problem.)
Strangely, the rooms have a (locked) door that connects to the next room. This door is badly insulated, so when your neighbour comes home, kicks off her shoes, takes a shower and turns on the TV you hear all of this. Very clearly. And we were lucky enough to have a civilised, quiet lady neighbour who left after 1 night (room was unoccupied after that). Just imagine what it would be like if one of the stag groups was in the room nextdoor... It's totally unclear to me why all the rooms should have these doors. A flaw in the design, I think.
The bigger rooms opposite the elevators don't have connecting doors. However, you get the noise of the people in the corridor going in and out of the elevator. Again - the door towards the corridor hardly stopped any noise.

If you want to leave your luggage, you can put it in a (paid) locker in the basement. We chose to put ours in one of the lockers at the trainstation, so we wouldn't have to walk all the way back to the hotel just to pick up our suitcases.

Would I stay here again? The hotel was nice enough, clean, and I don't mind walking. I do however like an undisturbed night's sleep. Plus it would be nice to have a hotel that's a bit more central than the Wake Up is. This hotel offers rooms at a great price, but I'm willing to pay a bit more for a better location and the certainty of a quiet(er) room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x0chitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Before staying in Copenhagen, you need to realise that everything is pricey, so do your wallet a favour and stay at the Wake Up hotel.

Remember - this is a budget hotel so don't expect the Hilton. The rooms are compact, but they are clean, well designed and perfect for a few nights. Unfortunately, our room over looked the railway station so there was a bit of noise from time to time.

The breakfast was a continental buffet, there was a decent but not massive choice - just enough to keep you interested for a few days.

You could not really fault the hotels location, it was just a 5 or 10 minute walk from the central train station - making it the same distance from the world famous Tivoli Gardens.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jono2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I spend 3 nights at copenhagen for a leisure trip. The hotel offers good value for price and is quite cheap for Copenhagen, recommendable if you don't mind feeling like an "anonymous" guest.

The location of the hotel is good, close to central station, bus to airport and tivoli - only a few minutes walk there.

The room was pretty small, but equipped with a king size bed, free WiFi, cable TV and AC. The bed was comfy, the room stylish but (especially as heading out to the train tracks) very noisy, even it did have thick isolating windows. At least it was very clean.

The staff was friendly but not very warm or welcoming, and the "check in/out" machines in the lobby do also not support a very warm welcome feeling.

The breakfast is not really worth paying for it - little to choose from and the coffee (some pre-brewed powder vending machine kind) is a very strong roast, and therefor not very appealing to those loving italian blends. Better save the money and get a good cup of coffee at one of the baresso coffee shops.

Also avoid the snacks/drinks from the shop at the reception, they are quite expensive - better grab your stuff at 7eleven (5 min walk) oder Rema 1000 (near Copenhagen central station, 5min walk also) nearby.

Luggage storage is available for DKK 20,- , be careful: bigger pieces of luggage might not fit into the lockers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlag83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We were two families staying here for 3 nights. It's central. It's new. It's not spacious at all, but enough to keep your suitcases.

It's clean, and the facilities are OK. It can be some noise from the outside especially in the weekdays.

The breakfast is ok.

This is a place you stay if you just want a place to sleep which is central and cheap. This is not an attraction. Compared to a lot of other Copenhagen hotel Wakeup wins if you compare price/location.

If you want something very comfortable think about Copenhagen Island, Hotel Guldsmeden or something even more expensive

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlemingSorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#33 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,549 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,086 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 117 in Copenhagen
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#45 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,783 reviews
Amager
AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
#22 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing