We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a boat this is a great hotel!”
Review of Hotel CPH Living

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel CPH Living
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Though a bit doubtful, we took a punt and thought way not? Staying on a boat in Copenhagen might be fun. So many of our prior hotel stays in Europe this trip were in tiny rooms or houses so what a shock when we found the most generous space for a room on a boat! The view over the canal to the city was fabulous - loved watching all the boating craft. The service staff were excellent - assisted with bike rental, taxis and got everything right. Being right in Christianshavn was a dream - great atmosphere, top restaurants, wonderful to walk and explore. Downsides: The days we were there, the room needed air conditioning as it got very hot. The fan provided wasnot good enough to make a difference. We did not care for windows into the toilet and shower. But the design of this room was ingenious - and perhaps all the windows made it feel bigger than it actually was - but to me the space was very generous. Highly recommended even if a bit pricey - but better than spending slightly less and ending up in a rather compromised place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is a boat which makes for a unique and beautiful stay right on the water. The hotel is very modern and clean. There is a small but very nice lobby area where pastries and tea and coffee are served for breakfast and a large upstairs deck with stunning views.
The hotel is in a quiet location, very close to Christianshavn and the brilliant outdoor pool at Islands Brygge and about 10 minutes walk over to the main centre of Copenhagan.
The only downside is that, although the hotel is very clean, because it is right on the water there are quite a few spiders, especially lurking around the corridors and door frames. Not recommended for anyone who is very spider-phobic but highly recommended for anyone else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is in an amazing location, very beautiful. But sadly it rides on location only, given the excessive price lack of service poor breakfasts and a complete lack of response to my complaint. I was charged nearly $100 a night extra for booking through hotels own website compared to booking site. i questioned this and was told management would email me... still waiting

The hotel itself is in a really beautiful spot but thats it, it is really a 3 star at best, nice room no service pretty crappy bread roll, paper plates n a horrendous coffee vending machine for breakfast.

we found the staff pretty unhelpful too sadly. given the rather high price i'd suggest not staying here unless you're after the 'gimmick' boat factor.

Room Tip: bottom floor avoids a savage spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My good lady booked this weekend trip, with cheap Easyjet flights and this boat-hotel. Upon initial inspection I was impressed with her choice.
When we arrived, I was extremely impressed with her choice. There are 12 private rooms, set on 2 floors, with a dining area at one end, and a roof garden on top. All of this is encompassed within a large boat.
The room is quite spacious, with an en-suite that has a heated floor - very useful on a very cold March nightime trip to the loo. The whole en-suite is a wet room, with shelves in the right places to hold your bottles of lotions and potions, toothbrush, etc. The shower is the rain type, with a large flat head covering you in anything from freezing to boiling water. The only quirks are the see-through door, and the clear glazed window into the shower area from the bedroom. These may seem very Scandinavian, but the door looks onto the passage, and the window covers most bits, depending upon your height.
The bed is big, and very comfortable, with a choice of soft or firm cushions to rest your head upon. There is only a small bedside shelf on one side, but we relocated the chair to act as a bedside for me. The lighting is more than adequate, with lots of options around the room.
The TV is located in a self contained unit with fancy sliding doors and units within, It has a Danish freeview box attached, which shows you enough channels and programs in English, from CSI to Frasier, and including some Premiership games, if you are so inclined.
Finally, there's the view.
There are floor to ceiling windows along one side, with a small juliet balcony / doorway, and a large window. You are sat across the river from the City, adjacent to the Hans Christian Andersen boulevard. So, you see the top of the towersat the Tivoli Gardens, the townhall tower, the new Library, church steeples, and a wealth of architecture that spans centuries.
The odd waterbus or tour boat may pass by, or the odd canoeist on a sunday morning, but they are the only things that will hinder the view.
Breakfast is good. This isn't a 5 star hotel with a wealth of choice, but there is more than enough choice, and more than enough quantity. You get yoghurts, breads, danish pastrys, salami, cheeses, lurpak, orange juice, tea and coffee. Oh, the coffee is from a machine, but it is more than adequate, and available 24 hours a day for you to just come and get a brew.
My wife's only worry was about feeling seasick. You will clearly see the tide rushing in, and out, and you will see the waves from the passing water buses head towards the boat-hotel, but it takes a lot of determination to actually see that the boat is moving at all.
At around £140 a night it might seem expensive, but it is worth every single penny. My only concern now is that with only 12 rooms, it may be difficult to book next time we visit Wonderful, Wonderful Copenhagen.

Room Tip: There is a reasonably tight spiral staircase that leads to the upstairs rooms, so if you are unstead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you are looking for a cookie-cutter hotel, please do not stay here. If you are for a unique experience with a bit of an adventure, then the CPH living is an excellent choice. It is a houseboat with two floors of hotel rooms. The rooms are what you would expect at a good hotel: OK size (for Copenhagen...), bathroom etc.. Clean and with hard wood floors. It's the houseboat location that makes this so unforgettable. With a bit of a wind, you will feel your room slightly move along. And you will enjoy a beautiful view of Copenhagen: seeing the old town with the tower of city hall.

Breakfast is simple but you can enjoy it on the sun deck or the little vestibule next to it (if it is too cold to eat outside) with an even more amazing view.

Staff is very laid-back and incredibly friendly.

The only thing I could criticize is the shower: It is a miracle in a way that it turns the whole bathroom into mess although there is hardly any water coming out. Anyway...

The location of the CPH living is good: a ten-minute walk across the bridge into the city, five minutes or so to the Christianshavn metro station.

A true treat for a wonderful stay in Copenhagen!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lower level if you are afraid of becoming seasick due to the boat rocking slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Cool boathotel with excellent view. Short walk from Christianshavn metro and the city centre. The staff was very friendly. A few details pulled the score down from top; tv was useless because of technical noise and the bed was too hard. The value is probably much better in the summertime because there is a nice rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stigmjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel (boat) was an excellent choice for something a little different for your stay in Copenhagen. The boat is easy to find, and not too far from the major tourist areas.

The room was a good size with everything you need - it is a little like sleeping in an "Ikea Shoowroom". Shower was excellent, hot water and a good size.

Breakfast was basic and is nice for the view down the river, but i would suggest saving your apertite and visiting a local cafe for the "Brunch".

Staff were helpful; booking our cab and holding our luggage etc.

A good alternative to a normal box hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,618 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
337 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,112 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CPH Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CPH Living

Address: Langebrogade 1 C, Copenhagen 1411, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Christianshavn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £136 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel CPH Living 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floating hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel CPH Living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing