We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Jylland”
Review of CABINN Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CABINN Metro
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 16 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gudmundur S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Cabinn Metro – all you need NOT to sleep!

Such a nice slogan “All you need to sleep”. This is proven to be fully misleading due to the following reasons:

1. Room temperature. Arriving to the room, the immense heat was felt immediately the door was opened. It was HOT, I checked the temperature (by some fancy gadget, which I actually know is accurate) to be 28-29 degrees Celsius. The so-called ventilation was breathing less air than a dead rat! OK – you can open the window, but this neither was a good idea as shall be proven in point 2.
2. Level of noise is incredible. Around our room there was a party in approximately 4-5 other rooms, which was easily heard, smelled and seen from outside. People sitting in the open windows, smoking, shouting and playing loud music made it impossible to open the windows, because of the noise level, it was close to the noise of a football match. No personnel from hotel attended or tried to make people behave even though they were asked to. This continued to 04:00 am

3. The hotel is said to be non-smoking, OK I am no fanatic and smoke a little from time to time myself, but the hallway and the room was reeking from tobacco. This also came from the other guests smoking, sitting in the windows around our room.

4. The interior section separation between rooms is made from something comparable to cardboard, at least with respect to sound absorption. This means that you (besides the loud parties in most of the rooms) can hear people around you snoring, farting, getting text messages, etc., every single sound is transmitted to your room. The hotel stores incredibly many people in small space, compared to a normal hotel so the noise level is very high.

5. The bed and bed clothing’s are foul. Mattress thin and with springs easily felt through the thin cover mattress (I have normal build and weigh 90 kg) and the duvet and pillow is made from some awful synthetic material making you sweat even more in the tropic room.
So to conclude, “All you need to sleep”, is not at all fulfilled. I would actually have preferred a common dormitory to this. You can argue the price is low, but compared with what you get from a normal hotel; the price is actually much too high, seen from a relative point of view. You actually pay DKK 905, - for this (675+100 parking + 2*70 breakfast) so this is not cheap at all, when comparing to other “normal” hotels in Copenhagen (they often include both free parking and free breakfast).

I believe they should re-formulate their slogan to “All you definitely need NOT to sleep AT ALL”. Both I and my daughter did not sleep at all that night, so the hotel is useless seen from the perspective of its main purpose.

Never again!

Room Tip: Free wifi not working at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Claus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

General comments are pretty much in line with others. Small room, does the job, breakfast mediocre, queues at reception almost constant as you have to pay for every individual thing and can't book anything to your room - a sandwich, queue for it, book breakfast for the next day, queue for it, a beer, queue for it, another beer, queue again...

I am not the first to be fined for parking at this hotel - see other reviews. I received a fine on arrival: arrive at reception, queue, check in, pay for parking, dump bags in room, go out to car to display ticket - have already received fine. Appealed to CityParkering via email and phone, with copy of credit card receipt 7 minutes before fine was given - only right of appeal is through the Danish courts...

Received two other fines over ny four night stay because my ticket "was not visible enough". Attendant took photos from low down on the opposite side from where the ticket was displayed - immoral and unbelievable!!!

Cost of my stay, with breakfast, parking and parking fines, was DK1,300 per night

My advice - if you stay here travel by bicycle of public transport

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Cabinn Metro is located in a business area. There's only one expensive restaurant nearby. But it's a few minutes walk to a mall where there is supermarket where you can buy clothes and food at reasonable Danish price. There's also a Money Exchange office opposite the supermarket. On the third floor of the mall is a food court where there is a Burger King and KFC.

Cabinn Metro is about 15 minutes walk from the Metro and Orestadt train station. It has no air conditioning unit but with the cold weather, there's no need to have one. Just slightly open the window and the room will feel comfortable. It has a very small bathroom but a clean one.They offer breakfast at 70 DKK. At about 9:15AM, a City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus drops by to get passengers to bring them to their Stop in front of the Central Rail Station.

Their slogan, "All you need to Sleep" is correct. I recommend this hotel for budget conscious travellers.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, choose the Commodore Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at around 9pm there was quite at queue at the side of a small cafe counter. Main reception closed. By the time we had finished checking in we were starving as we had traveled from Amsterdam during the afternoon/eve. There was no restaurant or hot food at the hotel and so we went across the road which stopped cooking at 9.30! Therefore we had to catch a train into the city. Then to top it the bed creaked so much that neither of us could sleep plus we could hear the person in the next room snoring. Not the best experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Definitely no frills hotel charging too much!! Hard to find once off train, very limited restaurants but huge shopping center just up the street. Found a food store close by to purchase supper and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Man this is small! Budget priced bit clean. Beds are bunk beds, not ideal for older people. Bathroom is the same, you couldn't swing a cat in it.
We didn't have breakfast here, but it seemed expensive for what was offered.
If we didn't want to spend a lot, we'd probably stay here again.
But this is Denmark and Denmark is expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Wittrup Motel
#72 of 118 in Copenhagen
97 reviews
Amager
Hotel CopenHagen
Hotel CopenHagen
#100 of 118 in Copenhagen
151 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#69 of 118 in Copenhagen
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#46 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,878 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#55 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CABINN Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CABINN Metro

Address: Arne Jacobsens Alle 2, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CABINN Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CABINN CONCEPT We save space in the rooms, to make room in your budget! CABINN was the first budget hotel chain in Denmark, and to this today, it remains the biggest, with the best innovative concept, which challenges the traditional way of thinking about overnight accommodation. CABINN offers you the best locations in town at budget rates. We are the only hotel chain that offers the same low rates, every day, year round. The room design is inspired by cabins on ships, where the optimal utilization of space results in a functional design that gives you everything you need for your stay. WELCOME ON BOARD. "ALL YOU NEED TO SLEEP" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CABINN Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing