We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and tacky - no thank you!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, UK/Detroit, MI, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Over priced and tacky - no thank you!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Are you familiar with the Disney ride ‘It's a Small World’ (It features over 300 brightly costumed audio-animatronic dolls in the style of children of the world, frolicking in a spirit of international unity, and singing the attraction's global peace themed title track, often in native language)? This is the best way to describe the Tivoli hotel. The property’s decorator must have been inspired by this ride because the interior is like you stepped into a warped sense of reality filled with clowns, overly bright colours and nauseating lighting...making the experience hard to tolerate.

Some other points worth mentioning about the property include:

-Although I stayed in a ‘superior room’, the hotel has an ‘economy’ feel about it, with the rooms lacking many amenities one would expect (e.g. there isn’t a clock in the room or tissues are available). The bathroom is small, the sleeping area is small and the desk could barley fit my laptop on it. Also, make sure you don’t forget your toothbrush unless you want to spend money on a new one!

-In general, the hotel appears to be clean, though my duvet was heavily stained and there were hairs all over my bed.

-Taxis do not wait outside the hotel.

-The hotel is a far walk from the city centre.

-The walls are thin and you can easily hear your neighbors.

-The gym is small, but modern, and it is hard to find equipment to used (e.g. there are only two treadmills).

-Wireless internet is free and appears to work well.

-The staff are polite.

For the price I paid (approximately £200 GBP/night - a corporate rate) this establishment does not cut it. Look somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dfisch891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Imperial_arp, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feed back on your stay at Tivoli Hotel. I am pleased that you chose to use Tivoli Hotel and therefore I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

As Tivoli Hotel is a theme hotel, we have Tivoli standard rooms and special theme rooms for children and the connection to the Tivoli Gardens is to be seen all over the hotel.

I am very sorry about the stain on your duvet and I will bring this matter further to the head of department to ensure it won't happen agian.

It is true that the taxis do not wait outside the hotel, but we have a very efficient taxi service and when a taxi is ordered it arrives within five or ten minutes.

Regarding your other comments I am happy that you found the internet and the gym fine. I am also happy to know that you found our staff polite.
The hotel is located within a walking distance of ten minutes to the City Hall Square and The Central Station. If you do not wish to walk there is a busline running from the hotel to the mainspots of Copenhagen all day.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Copenhagen, and that you will consider to stay at Tivoli Hotel again.

Kind regards
Tivoli Hotel

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    1,163
    470
    160
    88
See reviews for
959
725
55
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Tivoli Hotel and Congress Center before embarking for our Scandinavian cruise. The hotel location was at the center of everything, just hop on the free shuttle service right outside their hotel entrance and ride to Magasin mall, search for restaurants, etc. Free internet for every room, by the way.

Our room was located near the main road so it was noisy every morning hearing the cars in the traffic jam honking. Request for a room that isn't facing the main road.

The rooms were colorful and tidy, the beds, however, were surprisingly small. If Japan's beds were tiny, then expect your beds in Tivoli to be of the same size. I didn't like the velvet plush bed covers in particular though since they're hard to wash and bacteria might just live in them so it was a must for me to take them out of the beds first before going to sleep.

Their service isn't as bad too. Danish people especially those living in Copenhagen, I've noticed, are rude (in my experience) but I can tell that their hotel employees are trying to break that stereotype.

Lastly, their choice of food for breakfast at their Cafe were limited but the quality of their food more than made up for it.

Overall, my stay at Tivoli is good and I'd recommend this to those who are looking to exploring the city by foot for a day or two and aren't that particular with their choice of food or the size of their beds.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passportpleasePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Good modern hotel with an exclusive profile.

Parking is horrible.

Room Tip: Get a theme room....small but fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newcode111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed here from 14th - 19th April on our first visit to Copenhagen. Whilst the location is not terribly attractive, it is well situated for a short walk to a shopping centre, complete with cinema and well appointed supermarket, and only ten minutes from the rail station and Tivoli Gardens.
We had two rooms with an interconnecting door. Although a little on the small side (especially the wardrobe!) they were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom had a great shower - most important. Tea and coffee was provided, although we had to ask for milk each day from the bar. This did produce puzzlement at times.
The pool was pleasant, especially if you went early, ahead of the rush, as the changing rooms were a little cramped if too many in there.
We were room only and so didn't eat in the main restaurant. We did have a drink in the bar one evening but felt this was not terribly comfortable. It appeared to be an extension of the restaurant.
The Sticks and Sushi restaurant on the top floor is well worth a visit. We had a super meal there on our last night which was, on the whole not overly expensive.
All the staff were very pleasant, helpful, and spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: Convenient for shopping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

As many will point out, the Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is not adjacent to Tivoli Gardens, but it's only about a 10 minute walk away.

I was in Copenhagen for a conference at the hotel and found it to be an excellent overall stay.

The hotel rooms are small and have definite functional/styling quirks. The main wall of my room was painted blood red (and some other rooms were deep purple). A little odd, but I wasn't in the room that often. The bathroom door is just a frosted glass pane - not an issue for a solo traveler, but would probably be a noise issue for a couple. Additionally, closet and storage space is adequate for one person only. Overall though, the room was clean and adequate.

The conference center facilities are excellent. As you might expect for a facility that's only a year old, all the technical and logistical considerations have been incorporated into the rooms' design.

The dining facilities are adequate. The main dining room on the 2nd floor is a bit narrow for the lunch buffet and accompanying traffic, but the food was good and there is good selection. The Japanese restaurant on the 12th (?) floor was OK. Food is expensive in Copenhagen, so I wasn't expecting a value meal, but the selection was pretty pedestrian.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is a good conference hotel, located in a more likely boring and non-attracting zone of Copenhagen. Still, city center is 10-15 mins walk away. And best of all: there are free shuttles from hotel to city center. 5 mins walk is a shopping mall.
Rooms are ok, beds very confortable, free wireless internet (good signal), various breakfast food, kindly staff. As a minus: surprisingly, towels were not so clean (the colour was more gray than white). I love the elevators and their lights. Also, Tivoli has nice decorating colours.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

A good choice if someone wants to visit Copenhagen. Good location, about 15 minutes walk to center and 10 minutes to central station. Residents of Tivoli can use the 11A bus line for free on their way to the central station and back (stops just outside the hotel). Very good breakfast, gym facilities and pool services. Rooms rather small for a four star hotel, with safe, coffee/tea facilities, and mini bar. Bathroom amenities basic. Double-glazed windows doing excellent job leaving noise outside the room. Very good front desk.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Property: Tivoli Hotel
Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 679
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing