We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here!”
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 2 November 2013

reasons: Nice atmosphere, good rooms, consistently friendly staff, 11a bus goes from the front door every 10 mins to any part of copenhagen u might want to see - or connects to another that does so. great breakfast. - decent value by copenhagen standards - only a couple of mins by taxi from copenhagen railway station - or by that 11a bus.
also has an indoor pool .sauna etc
a good spot!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublintraveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 3,360 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a four day stay at this hotel as a leisure break in late October and booked through BA. It is situated a 10-15 minute walk away from the main train station or 5 minutes from the local S-Bahn.
It is modern and lively and also houses a fairly large conference centre.
We had booked a standard room and were offered an upgrade to an Executive Room for 300DKK per night on check in. Given that we had read how small the standard rooms were from other reviews and seen the pictures online we took the upgrade option. We had a room on the 10th floor overlooking the city, 1007, and this was a nice room with lovely views over the vista as far as the eye could see. Trains run close by but as it was not too warm we could close the window and keep that noise out.
The Executive Room comes with upgraded toiletries, Molton Brown. Also provided are 2 bottles of water and some nuts. There is a pay minibar in the room. Your can use what the hotel calls the Executive Lounge on floor 9 as part of the Exec upgrade, but in truth this is little more than a lobby with a hot drinks machine, some snacks and fruit and a fridge with cold bottled water. There is an ice bucket which sometimes had ice in it for the drinks that were not chilled, but for the majority of the time nobody bothered to replenish the ice and so a warm drink was the order of the day. Such a pity that there is not more thought and care about this area.
A free drink in the bar is also included with the upgrade. Service there is only good from what we could see if you are one of the large conference groups, who can take over the relatively small bar area.
If you upgrade you are on one of the high floors, 9-12. There are 4 lifts and they all go from floors 1-8, but only 2 go up as far as floors 9 and above as a result of the design of the hotel. So, rather than having 1 lift which does the bar/breakfast room floor and the higher floors you have to be prepared to wait what can be quite some time. If you are unlucky enough to want to use the lift when the conference groups are checking in and out you have a very long wait for a lift.
Room cleaning was not that great in that we had hairs left on and around the basin and bath and nightwear was left thrown untidily on a char rather than being laid on the bed, as you would expect in any reasonable hotel.
Breakfast was plentiful. We could choose between the main buffet room and the executive breakfast room. On day 1 we chose the main buffet. it was good and there is much choice. On days 2-4 we chose the executive room, where the food that is included in the price is exactly the same as in the buffet area. It was fine apart from the fact that most of the food that was served and should have been hot was cold. When I complained I was told that we were coming down at the "wrong time" for breakfast. We would have breakfast at 8.30 to 9.00 each day and breakfast service didn't finish until 10.00. At checkout when the duty manager asked about our stay I commented about the breakfast and the first thing he suggested was that we were coming to breakfast at the "wrong time". This exemplifies the sort of complacency that exists at this hotel.
The wifi connection is sporadic. I could always get the signal for the Wake Up hotel next door, but the Tivoli signal drifted in and out. It is free wifi though.
So, over all we enjoyed our stay. there were lots of little niggles though and clearly nothing is ever the fault of the hotel. The guest is always wrong is the basic starting point at this establishment. Most of the staff are really friendly though even if many of them are not that efficient.
Would I return to this hotel, probably not, but if you are attending a conference here or got a really cheap deal then it serves a purpose.

Room Tip: Get an executive upgrade if you can. The pros outweigh the cons. City side is best because of road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a good stay. Service minded staff, relaxed environment and good breakfast. Conveniently located a short walk from ströget and tivoli amusement park. Gym and pool looked nice, although I did not use them myself.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great breakfast, good transportation links although in a business area. Great staff especially concierge! Great that you can get tickets from the concierge and charge to the room for metro, train and attractions. Very family and kid friendly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in mid October. Conveniently located near the central station, which was an easy way to arrive from the airport. The room was already prepared as we had requested. The bus stop out the front was useful to get to attractions. Concierge was most helpful with maps and routes and tickets etc. The city is very flat so walking to most attractions would be possible, if you don't have young children. We made use of the large swimming pool each day. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank msgus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I surprised my partner with the All inclusive package which included breakfast, entrance to the Tivoli gardens, multi ride ticket, meal at Tivoli gardens, admission to the aquarium and 3 photo's for the rides.
It was great value, the hotel was fab, my toddler loved it. Pool great and play room a nice extra.
I would agree rooms are a bit small but clean and very nice, we had a lovely view of the water.
It was my partner's birthday and they were hoping to upgrade us but couldn't as we had a family room so they sent a bottle of cava which was really nice.
Will defo come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tarynstud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Staff is very friendly, genuine helpfull and very polite. Hotel is situated not far from Tivoli gardens and fair, easy to reach with bicycle, just as center of the town as well. You can hire them at the hotel, we had great help from one of the concierge presonel - Andreas.
Rooms are clean yet there are some serious drawbacks, at least on 6th floor : airconditioning is very weak working, so window has to be opened. With the busy road next to the hotel it is very loud noise. Window door unfortunately was not possible to close again even after being repaired ! Similar hapenned with TV : it was not working and even after four days and mentioning at the hotel desk it was not repaired.

Room Tip: Take room on the city side not on a road side !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erjavec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Erjavec,

Thank you for reviewing Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am happy to know that my colleagues made you feel comfortable during your stay. However, I am very sorry to hear about the malfunctioning things in your room. Our technician will have a look at it immediately in order to solve the issues.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#18 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,358 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,742 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,585 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £108 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 679
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing