We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family friendly hotel”
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #28 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very family friendly hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had lovely 3 night stay here before Christmas 2013. The decorations, including a giant gingerbread house made in the hotel, really helped the festive mood.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we are grateful that people didn't mind speaking English.
There was a mix up with our room- we had requested a cot and bath but this was rectified very quickly with no fuss at all. The room was certainly compact but this is to be expected in a city centre and we were out much of the day so not a huge issue. It was spotlessly clean.
The pool and play facilities were fab for our toddler, although we didn't try the outdoor space.
On the last two mornings breakfast was in massive function rooms due to the hotel being so busy. This meant no toast but the range of food available was impressive and more than made up for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeezyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear WeezyA,

Thank you for reviewing Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am happy to know that you and your family had a nice stay here with us in December. I am also very happy that you noticed the large gingerbread house and enjoyed it.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    1,243
    511
    174
    98
See reviews for
1,017
771
65
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

first impressions clean friendly efficient of to a good start quick check in all good so far booked a family room and requested a cot oh no here we go no cot on booking information but quickly sorted and guess what a clean cot with lovely clean child friendly bedding , now for the bad bit family room was a bit small a bit too cosy compact and bijou for 2 adults and 2 children but liveable, the bed was comfy enough bit soft felt like I was about to roll out off it at any minute.
so reasonable nights sleep shower ok now for breakfast I expected the usual continental fayre bit of ham, bread, pastries cereal and juice what can I say the breakfast was excellent brilliant choice of hot and cold produce replenished frequently so it was always fresh definitely a big plus for the Tivoli. ate room service a couple of times good value good quality and good service but my only disappointment room service was not available and nowhere to eat in the hotel on the Sunday night apart from the sushi bar but I really don't think my 2 young children would have enjoyed this much so it was a quick trip to McDs at the local shopping centre (nice hot wings)but all in all I would go back but would just be a bit more careful about booking our room

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

First things first, all the personnel was very friendly! I couln't fault them in any way, except the cleaning management. My stay in Tivoli was very dissapointing and i can't believe the things I've read here (and based my reservation upon).

The Good

* Nice pool with just one sauna, but a decent one. Loved it. Free towels were a plus.
* Good location: close to central station and a busstop close by.
* Breakfast was good. A bit more variety would have made it splendid. A bit short of "warm" stuff. (only scrambled eggs, tomatoes, tosti and bacon). No waffles, crepes, sausages, beans, ... . I know, I'm harsh, but this is what I expect from a 4 star hotel.

The bad

* I found the room very dirty. Some old carpet on the floor full of dirt. (hairs, dust). The bathroom smelled sour and was full of mold. Something that can easily be cleaned. There is clearly no maintenance done in this hotel!
* White stains on the red furniture. I even don't want to know what that is!
* The TV stutters and lagged. Radio stations didn't work.
* The beds were a true horror. Bad pillows. I'm in doubt: are these things beds or trampolines?
* The entrance and the floor of the lobby were dirty. Is this how you greet new customers? It felt neglected from the first step in the hall.
* No free water on the room or any other greeting gifts
* The last day, our friends needed to get up early to catch the plane. They paid for breakfast that day. They asked if they could get a "breakfast package" to take a way instead, because they needed to leave at 5 am. A thing that is common in other hotels in the world, since you paid 20€ pro person for it. They were prepared to do this, BUT for an additional 20€ pp. Ridiculous.

Room Tip: Ask for non allergic rooms, i guess they have wooden floors what makes it a bit more hiegenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to read about all the positive things you mention.
However, I am quite surprised to see such a long list about the negative things.
I am very sorry that the quality of the cleaning did not live up to your expectations. What you mention is of course not acceptable and I am sorry that you had to experience it. I will talk to the responsible head of department in order to improve.
You are right about the free water. There is no free water in the rooms, only on our Executive floors. I think this is quite common here in Copenhagen where the tap water is drinkable. We offer free coffee & tea in every room and a kettle, making it easy for our guests to prepare a nice coffee at any time.
As for the extra charge for the breakfast it is standard procedure. The kitchen is not manned at 5am, so when ordering a breakfast package we have to call in our staff early, which applies a surcharge. I am sorry about that.

I am sorry that the stay did not live up to your expectations, but I hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Copenhagen.

Yours sincerely,

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights while on a brief christmas holiday visit to CPH.
We booked a family room, which is actually 2 connecting rooms.
The rooms are rather small compared to other similar places we've stayed.
Comfort was ok. (I think the TV is -pardon my language- a piece of junk.)
The hotel is conveniently located at walking distance from central station and Tivoli gardens. Bus 11a stops directly in front if the weather is not co-operating.
The hotel is located in a business area, so there's really nothing to be seen in the immediate vicinity.
I also found the hotel lacks character. The lobby isn't inviting, it's very sterile. I generally like to lounge in hotel lobbies but this one I skipped.
The hotel seems to be very popular with young families.
The swimming pool and sauna are a welcome treat after a day of city-trotting.
I can't comment on the restaurant but breakfast was very good with a vast variety of choices. However, it was very busy and noisy so come early if you value tranquility.
All in all a pleasant stay.
Would I come back when in CPH ?
Probably not.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robbret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It is a modern and well-kept hotel and suitable for guests with children. Would not recommend for couples. It has all facilities a family with small children needs, the swimming-pool beeing one of these (full of children). We stayed in a family room, which was a small room with a double bed and an extra bed, that took up all the space in the room.
The bathroom was very nice, new and fresch.
Nice staff at the reception, nice consierge, who unfortunately though did not deliver (forgot) service as promised.
The hotel is not located in the center, but the bus into town is very convenient.
I liked the hotel, but would perhaps not return. The hotel is not as 'cosy' as I like hotels to be, for example with a lounge beside the reception where you can enjoy a coffee or a drink before going out on town...

Although it is very easy to get into town, I prefer staying closer to the center.

And then the SMALL things that just is so annoying...:
- Found booking papers in the closet belonging to the guests who had occupied the room before us...
- Two cups and two wine glasses in the room, they do not get changed if used, but taken away, no new ones. So if you want to enjoy drinks from the minibar on your last day you have to use your glasses from the bathroom...
- coffee complimentary in the room, but no refill of small coffee sachets during stay :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Malou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stehag, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nice hotel in walking distance from central station and with good bus communication to central station and city Centre. The pool area is nice and good for the kids and also a gym area for parents, (no comments about gym due we did not use it but it looked good. Good Sushi restaurant on top of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnusL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,136 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,265 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,058 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Property: Tivoli Hotel
Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 679
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing