We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, rather for business or cruise tourists”
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights during our tour through scandinavian capitals. The homepage oversell a bit, but still the hotel is ok, clean but not special in any way - rather business or congress hotel. We were on the executive floor and as an execution lounge, a floor between the rooms had to serve. Anything but nice or business suitable or inviting to stay there.
The executive breakfast room was kind of squeezed, while the breakfast choice was small but fully serving the purpose, no problems. Hotel is some 1.5-2 km away from the city centre, so be prepared to walk.
I would take another hotel in the city center next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A_Baden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 3,214 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel was clean, pleasant, and the front desk was helpful. It is decorated in a whimsical style, meant to evoke Tivoli Amusement Park. Free wifi worked well. The one disadvantage to this hotel is its distance from the Central Station (it is very easy and reasonably priced to get from the airport to Central Station). It is walkable, in about 10 minutes, and seems semi-sketchy toward the end of the walk - but it feels like a long way when you are pulling luggage. I would probably try to stay somewhere closer to the Central Station when I return. However, the price at the Tivoli Hotel was very reasonable by Scandinavian standards.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank NYCJulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It has lots of plusses that you would expect from a hotel of this sort, room was quiet and breakfast superb. No 11 bus goes from other side of road to centre. I was not impressed with the separate reception desk for ordering taxis as staff were not the best at communication. I also noticed there was a problem with the revolving entrance doors close to this desk where I observed more than one person getting stuck, one elderly person in particular was in considerable difficulty with her luggage and could not move in or out. Staff at that desk point just ignored her. Apart from that it was an enjoyable stay. I might stay there again but would not go out of my way to do so; views over the railway on one side and the main road on the other, but inside is comfortable, smart and the main reception desk helpful.

Room Tip: There is no point in asking for a room on the upper floors (generally quieter or if you want a view...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank grahamekean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just had 3 nights in the tivoli hotel. Really brilliant place. We are a family of 4 travelling with 2 kids (aged 5 and 3). Breakfast was wonderful with everything from cereals/yoghurt to bacon eggs and pastries. Facilities for children are the best we've had (playground outside on the terrace, playroom inside) and the swimming pool/gym/sauna all were excellent. We hired bikes from the hotel, not expensive and the concierge was very helpful. Great location for Islands brygge. A bit of a walk to city centre but bus or bike were easy. Would go back without hesitation

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuulSarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, well cleaned and well positioned. Good restaurant and amazing roof! Kind and polite employees and very silent rooms... About 15 minutes far from the centre of the city, on foot. Amazing illumination, in the night. Full of touristic services, brochures and informations.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Valentina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent two nights at the Tivoli and found it to be very comfortable. Our room was clean and quiet and had everything we needed. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the central train station and entrance to Tivoli Gardens. This was a little too long carrying our suitcases but otherwise would have been fine. There is a public bus that runs from right in front of the hotel and we used it a couple of times. Copenhagen is one of the most expensive cities in the world so be prepared. We paid US$30 for a hamburger and fries (drink extra) in the hotel restaurant. It was very good but I've never paid that for a burger before. There is a mall with a food court about 10 minutes walk down the road. My son and his wife ate at McDonald's there. There are also plenty of restaurants near Tivoli Gardens, also very expensive but not as bad as the hotel. Breakfast is not included at the hotel unless you're on the concierge level where pastries, juice, and coffee are available. We somehow got an upgrade to this level and ate a quick snack there instead of in the hotel breakfast buffet, which was quite pricey. If you don't mind a little walking, I'd recommend this hotel, although for the price we thought a continental breakfast should have been included.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, Direktør at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I am happy to read about your positive experience at the hotel. Thank you for sharing it here on Tripadvisor.
Regarding the breakfast I would like to mention that we do offer packages where breakfast is included, which is often more profitable.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is nicely centrally located - not in the main center of the city, but surely within walking distance of the main train station as well as Raadhuspladsen which is more or less the entrance to the shopping streets.

The staff at the hotel is very friendly and they genuinely seem to take an interest in making sure that you have the best possible stay.

We only had breakfast at the hotel, but the buffet was GREAT! There're a lot of choices and the eating area was very spaceous. Due to it being the summer holiday period they'd moved the buffet to the conference hall, but I bet the space available will be more or less the same under normal circumstances.

The hotel has a nice play-area for kids - just next to the gym which isn't that big but sure makes it possible for you to work up a nice sweat, The equipment is new and seem to be well maintained. Next to the gym, there's also a pool area which offers a section for babies/children.

The rooms are nice and it's obvious the put an effort in making sure that it's tidy! Maybe it was just a one-time thing, but we failed to find a price list of the items in the mini bar.

The hotel itself is - obviously - "inspired" by the theme of the Tivoli Garden. It makes for a great atmosphere and there're several places in the lobby area where you can sit down and relax enjoying the "spirit" of the hotel.

As for parking, the hotel cooperates with a company just next door where you can easily park your car. There's even a lift in the parking building which will take you more or less to the (back) entrance of the hotel. Very convenient! The price was only 140DKK for 24 hours which is surely fair the location taken into consideration!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cassius1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, Direktør at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Cassius,

I would like to thank you for writing such an extensive review of Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the staff friendly.
As for the minibar Price list, there should of course be a price list in every room. I am sorry that it had skipped in your room.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on future trips to Copenhagen.

Best regards,

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,265 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,485 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £124 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 679
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing