We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
457 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for two nights while we where visiting friends in the city. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the central train station. That puts in in walking distance of Tivoli and the shopping area.

The breakfast was 23 euro per person, a bit steep if you ask me..

Rooms were very clean and modern. Service was very good, people were friendly and we were offered a late check out to accommodate our kid's afternoon nap.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, Direktør at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for writing a review about Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am happy to read your review, which seems like you have had a nice time here at the hotel. Thank you. However I am not very pleased with the headline which says that the hotel is nothing special... Did you visit our indoor pool area? Or the children's playroom? Or the extremely popular skybar on the 12th floor with great views of the city and the canal? I have a feeling that you might didn't visit these places because if you had, I'm pretty sure you would have a different opinion of the hotel. I will make sure our frontline staff will introduce all our guests to our facilitites so nobody will be in doubt about what this hotel has to offer.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again NeXT time you will be visiting friends in Copenhagen.

Yours sincerely,

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    1,164
    472
    160
    89
See reviews for
961
727
55
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our stay at Tivoli Hotel Copenhagen was nice. Upon arrival, the staff was nice enough to change our room. Initially, we had a room with a view on the railway and it was soon changed to another one with a view on the waterside. The staff was friendly and the last day, we had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. the pasta was good. The breakfast was very good also and the last day we arrived late because of summertime transition and the staff did let us in to have breakfast anyway, it was well appreciated. The room was cleaned everyday and we had a clean cot for our baby. Although the hotel was a bit far from downtown (about 20 min walk), we enjoyed our stay and we will go back next time we visit Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the waterside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monty1Strasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, Direktør at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

I appreciate your positive review of Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center and I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Unless you have a suite level reservations, be careful... it is like fighting for breakfast on a cruise ship or a Las Vegas all you can eat buffet. Just a terrible way to start the day. They can organize the logistics a bit better perhaps. This one element aside, it was a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a suite level room - and you should have a positive experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakob E, Direktør at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Dinesh,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that your breakfast experience wasn't as expected. It is a large hotel and we cannot foresee at what exact hour our guests wish to have their breakfast. Sometimes is happens that all guests arrive to the breakfast area at exactly the same time, which of course makes it crowded in the restaurant. However, this is not very common and under normal circumstances our guests arrive throughout the morning and there is plenty of room for everybody in our restaurant.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again here at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast is very nice and we got passes to the tivoli gardens as part of the price. Room was a little small but didn't mind too much as it was just myself and my wife. Clean room. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Absolutely great hotel, wonderful and helpful staff - will be using this hotel for my future stays in Copenhagen. Really good value for money. I did not try the restaurant - but had food from the room-service menu, and the food was excellent and at a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephinesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel targets the business traveller. I stayed in a standard room. The rooms are decent in size, with cheerful decoration and the necessary amenities. There is a very fast internet connection which is freely available. However the rooms are maintained poorly. My bathroom sink was clocked and could not be used and the room windows were so filthy you could not see outside.
The breakfast is decent - mainly continental - with a number of choices, including a Scandinavian touch. The only let down are the juices that are not fresh and served by a strange machine.
The staff are OK but the reception seems to be understaffed especially at the busy times of check in and out. The hotel is very large and as a consequence it can get very busy - to the point of being uncomfortable. The business facilities are surprisingly minimal especially for a hotel that aims to attract the business traveller.

I did not try any of the gym and leisure facilities but these are on offer.

The hotel is hugely overpriced even for Danish standards. If you have to be in the area you would be better off staying at the Wake UP hotel which is next door, offers clean accommodation at half the price!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the busy side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Not too distant from city centre and station if you don't mind walking. View at the moment dominted by building site as hotel is expanded.
Plus points - clean room, good bed, friendly staff
Minus - breakfast is a bit pricey - you feel you have to pig out to get vfm.
Note to management: More tea/coffee in room please!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Property: Tivoli Hotel
Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 679
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing