We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

I, and two of my colleagues stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October. The hotel is brand new and it was so nice to stay in a place that is new. Everything was clean and the hotel is nice. I've been told all hotel rooms in Europe are small, but these were normal-sized rooms and bathrooms. Nicely decorated, and the bathroom floors are warmed. The half-glass door on the shower is pretty useless, and though I've seen it elsewhere in Europe, I don't get it. Curtains would be much better. Another useful addition to the room would be a 2nd lock, or deadbolt---not that I ever felt unsafe. I felt very safe, it's just my personal preference to have a second lock while sleeping. The elevators are very small, which was surprising for a new hotel, but they had cool lights. All employees were always friendly and helpful. My trip was for work, so my colleagues and I did need to use the Business Center one night. The Business Center was very nice and we were able to do all of what we needed. One suggestion I would have for the Business Center is to have available a tray of supplies like a hole-puncher, a stapler, some tape and paperclips, etc. We had to keep running down to the front desk to borrow some of these items. Free wifi in the rooms was GREAT. The breakfast buffet was pricey, but very good, and the Sky Bar was lovely, both for a sushi lunch, and later for drinks. Great view!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tippytoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    1,163
    470
    160
    88
See reviews for
959
725
55
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Lovely hotel, quite new and fantastic location and views. The hotel is not in the heart of the city but runs a complimentary shuttle service between the hotel and the station which is near the city center, and also very close to the attraction of Tivoli Gardens.

I would recommend to book the top floor rooms overlooking the city. Rooms and very clean and airy and includes an excellent hot break fast. The choice is really staggering and of very good quality.

The hotel has a great gym as well and offers free parking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debottambose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Really nice facilities and the pool looks great.

But, and there is a but.

The staff is not ready, and the hotel is almost ready. Check-in was a mess, 10 minutes is not much but it is normally a pretty simple process for a hotel at this rate.

Conference room - no AV, we got assistance by several employees before getting it to work

Sky bar - not finished

Dinner - don't

(I have never seen such tiny mains served in such bad condition for such a high price, anywhere in the world). Don't get me wrong the food is safe and (too) well cooked, but the burger is the only thing that will satisfy your hunger. Desserts are nice though, it's been a long time since I have had such a huge creme brulee. Breakfast is nice, nothing special for a copenhagen hotel but pricy (and no pancakes).

I think the things I didn't like about this hotel can change really quick if the manager gets his act together. It's 15 minutes walk from dead center copenhagen with a free shuttle and the rooms are really nice (some with partial view of the water, some with the trainyard).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Imperial_arp, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Dear Fstrand,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at Tivoli Hotel this month.

I am sorry to read about your dissatisfaction while visiting the hotel. We are continuosly improving ourselves and therefore I find your feedback very relevant.

We have worked really hard to get the hotel and its facilities ready for our clients and I am sorry to hear that everything did not turn out as it was supposed to.

I am happy to inform you that our Skybar is now open and I hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Best regards
Jakob Ellermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

This was my first time at the Tivoli Hotel. Although the location is not the best I really appreciate the swimming pool and the good breakfast. Regarding the location, it's 10 minutes walk from the central station and from 11 AM till 11 PM there is a shuttle service that takes you to the Tivoli Park entrance (which is next to the central station and the shopping district).
Usually I come to Copenhagen on Business and I stay in other 4 stars hotels that do not have a swimming pool (like Imperial Hotel or Kong Arthur) and after a long day in meetings the swimming pools makes a huge difference.
Regarding the room, the size is quite OK for European Standards, I would say around 35 square meters and brand new. This hotel is very colourfull since it is decorated with the Tivoli Park colours, pictures...mainly inspired in The Joker.
The hotel Congress Center is sitll under construction but I could not hear any noises. By the way, WiFi is for free!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at the Tivoli Hotel for six nights in mid August and it is nowhere near being ready for guests. We got a great rate, took a gamble, and lost. When we checked in the first day at 3 p.m. the room was clean but there were dirty glasses on the floor outside of almost every room. On first glance our room was nicely decorated and clean, but looking around we found a hole had been sawn through the sheet rock on one wall and not repaired, there was over spray on the wood floor from painting the walls and the wood floor was not sealed and was rough in some spots. When you used the shower the water temperature fluctuated greatly between cold and very hot. The maid couldn't ever get the right number of towels and wash clothes, two people, two towels, easy for most but not for the staff at the Tivoli Hotel. We called the front desk for another bath towel and didn't get it for over two hours and a second call. Also, if you have any candy in your room lock it in the safe (if you can get it to work) because one of the maids has a sweet tooth and took some of our candy. The staff in general was unfriendly and normally overwhelmed with basic tasks like checking people in or out. We will never return, cheap rate or not!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montanamark58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Hotel turned out to be a very enjoyable stay, despite the somewhat inflated prices -- caused not only by visitors to Tivoli Gardens but also the influx of overseas guests for Copenhagen's "International Fashion Week". We had an infant with us, and Reception kindly accorded us early Check-in (instead of 3 pm). This alone made us very happy with the Hotel, even though the building's finishing work appears to be ongoing. This we learnt when workmen surprised us one afternoon by requesting that they be allowed to do some unfinished carpentry work in both our rooms! The Shuttle Bus to and from Tivoli Gardens was useful. Note however that it starts operating at 11 am, coinciding with the opening time of the Gardens, and ends just before Midnight or thereabouts. The walk from the Hotel to the Gardens takes about 10-15 minutes. There is a Supermarket described as "within walking distance" of the Hotel. But making our way there turned out to be very frustrating and taxing indeed: having to cross a busy Highway, then trying to find the Supermarket 's exact location and Entrance in the absence of any helpful signs and directions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PettRuss8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We were at Tivoli Hotel from 13rd to 17th August. It's a bit far from the city centre ( the Station and the Tivoli Gardens), so the hotel provided a free shuttle bus that should have passed every 7 minutes to link the hotel to the Station. Unfortunately, this service didn't work very well, the shuttle bus was infrequent and on 15th August the service was suspended and the hotel stuff didn't tell us anything, so we waited for like half an hour and no shuttle bus showed up. We had to do a lot of walking, and the streets that link the station to the hotel are very large, with very few people and no shops or restaurants.
We asked for a triple room, but the room they gave us was very small; it was, infact, a double with an extra-bed, but all the services like the welcome tea, the glasses etc. were for 2 people. The cleaning was not the best, one day the room wasn't ready at 4 p.m.
We were told there was going to be a sky bar, but it wasn't there...it was still under construction.
Breakfast was very good, there was a great variety of food, but there was a problem: you don't have your own table, so you just have to find one, and you're not sure you're finding it soon, so you have to wait.
We think that Marriott or Radisson are definetely better for a stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erikaechiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Property: Tivoli Hotel
Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 679
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing