We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of STAY Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
STAY Copenhagen
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed for 7 nights. We were kept awake for almost half of the first night by a very noisy party with loud music in the penthouse. When we mentioned this the following morning the not so friendly lady at the reception just didn't seem to care. She said it was already arranged by someone who didn't work here anymore and that there was nothing she could do about it.
Our last night was a disaster as well. Another party. In the first instance we were informed by the same lady at the reception that it was a fashion show and should end by 10 pm. When the party didn't end by 10:45pm I went down to the reception and bumped into a few party animals in the lift who informed me that there is a party here almost every friday evening.
It is very hypocrite of STAY to have house regulations that state that "noise levels should be kept to a minimum at all times".
There were also issues with the housekeeping.
I will certainly NOT recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kroket74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for STAY Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

of all the 17 hotels I stayed in on my round the world monstrosity, stay copenhagen was hands down the best. I got upgraded to an extralarge loft, this vast space of open-placed industrial chic was gobsmacking. Movable glass walls at either end of the space with a balcony on the third side, 135sqm of pure joy! full kitchen and laundry made me feel like a human again after living in 5-star squallor elsewhere (yes I know, FWP). It makes such a difference on holidays when you can cook a meal - glorious, better than a foot-rub.

the location was interesting, on the emerging urban area along the main canal, industrial chic! bordered to the back by a vast parkland suitable for all sort of entertainment - biking and the like....sunbaking (scandi-style at times.....)

there is full-sized gym! smith press, olympic bar - everything....was so impressed.

bike hire is easy, flat-tyres happen! cycling into central copenhagen (about 1km) is easy, straight along the canal-side, flat!

will definitely return to copenhagen and without doubt, be booking the same room! think more serviced-apartment hotel rather than room-service hotel.....hopefully the way of the future

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grainger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I love this place! I've been working in Denmark for 3 years and have been staying here pretty much since it opened only with the occasional stay in other hotels. I'm reviewing now as I'm finishing work here so I can let the cat out of the bag! The rooms are massive...more like apartments. They have a kitchenette, washing machine, tumble drier, wet room etc. Decor is minimalist 'HAY' design. There's a fantastic gym to use and the staff are lovely. Minor gripes: some of rooms quite dark; location is in Islands Brygge so,not quite in the centre but in an up a coming area however there is some construction nearby. Good bus links to centre of CPH though.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are looking to be in the heart of touristy Tivoli Gardens and the like this is not for you. This is a good 20 minute walk from the center of the City - and a gorgeous safe walk - with easy access to cabs.

The area is one of the hottest up and coming areas in Copenhagen with art galleries and a bunch of great restaurants. A very laid back vibe. It is nice to do all the manic touristy things and come back to this hotel where the rooms are huge and there are kitchens and laundry in the lofts. Our loft was 1,500 square feet and what a pleasure!

To complain about the IKEA-like plates is like complaining about Scott toilet paper being used in an all marble bathroom.

The staff is not large but EXCEPTIONALLY helpful particularly at the front desk.

There is great modern architecture all around this area and the pricing was very reasonable as well.

This was my family's favorite hotel experience out of five hotels in Scandinavia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This is a very modern hotel in a very hip neighbourhood of Copenhagen. It is surrounded by new low rise condos. The rooms are very big. Comfortable beds, kitchen is supplied with all you need in case you want to cook. Washing machine and dryer as well. Rooms don't have a phone or AC. The shower is see through so you might want to consider that if you are travelling with kids. There is a small supermarket underneath the hotel. Prices are ok. There is a ferry within a 5 minute walk that will take you downtown. You can also take a taxi for $10 dollars or so. It is a bit out of the way from the downtown core but the service is good and it is a quiet place to stay. There is a coffee shop underneath the hotel as well. Good coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie_3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lazy and lame service. Although appartments look amazing at first look they are poorly fitted with crappy IKEA knives and cutting boards, fittings that fall out of the wall, bathroom sink that is blocked, etc.

When pointed out to the staff they barely care and never apologizes. Unbelievably bad customer handling!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent three very hot days at the STAY Hotel and found the windows sufficient to keep the apartment cool - except when there were outside parties and we had to close them! We walked to and from city center each day and found it very pleasant. The nearby mall had a useful grocery store, considerably less expensive than the in-complex store. Minimalist furniture was restful and the sofas very comfortable. Having laundry facilities was a big help and the kitchen was really well supplied with appliances if not condiments etc. The cleaning staff was really kind and helpful. I don't think I'd take young children because of the floor to ceiling windows but it is a very interesting place for other travelers.

Room Tip: Loft apartments have views on both the canal and garden sides of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Oesterbro
Adina Apartment Hotel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,156 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#18 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STAY Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STAY Copenhagen

Address: Islands Brygge 79A, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £162 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — STAY Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY Copenhagen offers modern design apartments located on Islands Brygge - Copenhagen's up and coming harbor area just 2 km from Tivoli garden and Town hall square. The stylish apartments, ranging between 65m2 studio apartments and 145m2 three-bedroom apartments, are fully furnished by Danish design brand HAY. Housed in a converted industry building from the mid-1900s, STAY Copenhagen is a great example of how old and new can come together to create an atmosphere of wonderful Scandinavian minimalism. The spacious apartments offer fully equipped kitchens, including dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, and a large flat-screen TV. STAY offers underground parking facilities with direct access to the apartments, free WiFi everywhere, a huge in-house gym exclusive to guests, and on top of it all, - one of the largest rooftop terraces in Scandinavia. The cafe next to reception serves a delicious organic breakfast in the morning, and is a popular meeting place for a beer or a glass of wine in the afternoon. Other dining options in the building include a sushi restaurant, an Italian restaurant, and gourmet takeaway on the ground floor. For guests wishing to prepare their own meals - an eco-friendly supermarket is conveniently located in the building. Guests in the mood to explore the surroundings areas can rent a bicycle in the reception or take a relaxing walk in the Amager Falled Park just next door. A few hundred meters from reception is a harbor bus stop, from where the boat travels to Nyhavn and beyond. STAY Copenhagen is within 15 minutes' walk of Dybboelsbro rail station and there is a bus stop just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your STAY Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing