We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Priced”
Review of STAY Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
STAY Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First of all, let me say that in terms of fixtures and fittings, this accommodation is excellent. Thereafter, my review goes downhill I'm afraid.

Why? Reception staff not friendly and unhelpful. Location - well, it's in the middle of a building site and a fair walk into the city centre (Tivoli gardens end - even further to the little mermaid). No air conditioning so when we stayed there at the end of July 2014 because our apartment was on the corner with glass on three sides, it was stifling and sleeping was made somewhat worse by the very uncomfortable pillows. Finally, there is no safety deposit box so that left us with a dilemma about what to do with passports, travel documents and excess cash etc.

What can I say on the positive side? Once I have out of my system the rude taxi driver who brought us there - appalling little man!

Well, there is a good supermarket downstairs and the little bakery served some excellent pastries. Like most things in Copenhagen, it was pretty expensive though. The view from the balcony across the river was great (as long as you didn't look in the other direction at the building site).

My overall score of 3/5 is tainted by the rude staff and the rude taxi driver, the building site and the lack of air con. My wife wanted to score this 4/5 but I overruled her on the basis that it was me who bore the brunt of these rude folk!

Room Tip: Ask for a fan if going in summer! Doubt you'll get one though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairscup69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    115
    43
    12
    13
See reviews for
84
121
13
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would have given this place a much more generous review had it not been for the noise of the site next door, which commenced construction around 7 am every morning! We stayed midweek, and as there is no aircon, windows had to be opened, which meant drilling from dawn. However rooms were modern, spacious, clean staff friendly and we hired out the bikes which was a must to see round. Had a fantastic stay in Copenhagen but would recommend that you either go at weekends (Sat/ Sun should be fine).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing main road (construction site seems to be behind the back bit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Accuratereviewer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July/August 2014 in the "Copenhagen Loft" appartment. First off, this is not a conventional hotel, but more of an appartment complex with a reception desk; so don't expect classic hotel service in the sense of around the clock assistance.

In the same vein, housekeeping is a bit sloppy, and the rooms tend to neglect the practical (closets, bathroom doors, decent washbasins) in favor of the stylish (exposed concrete, open space, design furniture). Our room was also very hot throughout, and there is no A/C, but opening the windows at night helped - except for the first morning, when construction work in the backyard started at 7 a.m. (not the hotel's fault of course).

If you are willing to overlook these few blemishes though, you get an extremely spacious and tastefully furnished studio appartment at a more than reasonable price. The location os a bit off the main drags of the city, but getting to the centre is very manageable (walking or by bus).

So small gripings aside, we really did enjoy our stay here, and would definitely like to come back in the future - knowing what (and what not) to expect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for about a week in Copenhagen. The hotel is part of an apartment complex. Apartments are in the Danish minimalist style and unusually large by European standards. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment; one of them had the bed and living room; the other had the bed and dining table. It is entirely open; the second 'bedroom' could be curtained off but that is it for privacy. Completely equipped kitchen. Daily maid service. We liked the ability to open the windows and balcony doors for fresh air. Lovely view of the city. Hotel only does breakfast, but there is a supermarket and several restaurants in the apartment block, and there is a shopping mall within a 5 minute walk. Bus to city centre within a block. Well worth taking the water bus for a view of Copenhagen from the river. Nice walk by the river to city centre. Free wifi in the rooms, and Macs available for guest use in the lobby area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGF_Nassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

It was very nice to be upgraded to a dramatic penthouse, with tons of room, floor to ceiling windows, and wrap around balcony. Good views in one direction, but in the other direction we were directly above a construction zone. With no a/c the construction noise was an issue, as were the flies. We never could figure out how to turn out the lights. We were forced to unscrew light bulbs to turn them off. The staff was pleasant, but never did clean the room the first day. The biggest issue is the distance from the city center. We finally did figure out how to use the water ferry and catch the train at The shopping center across the canal...but for 3 days, the large space does not really compensate for the distance from the city (do not believe those that say you can walk it in 20 minutes).

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank eastcoastvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July with my husband and 2 year old son, for a sightseeing trip of this lovely and child friendly city. We'd picked Stay as we really needed cooking facilities and space to hang out once tired toddler was snoring away the evening. Stay worked really well for this purpose and we were kindly given a 2 bed apartment even though we'd booked and paid for a 1 bed. Given the bedrooms weren't massive I'm really glad we had the extra room for the cot.

The apartment itself was spacious and well equipped for a short stay (full kitchen, washing machine, etc) and some handy details (Rituals toiletries, washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets supplied for example). The bed was super comfy and the blackout curtains brilliant in the light nights. It was a very hot weekend but the apartment was reasonably airy with all the balcony doors open.

I imagine some of the design details might get annoying if you stay here long term (really uncomfortable metal chairs (but thankfully good sofa), no bottle storage in shower, very little clothes hanging space, etc) but for a short break none of this mattered and we enjoyed the novelty of the monochrome, urban design.

I have to mention the building site noise...the plot next door (and others nearby) are building sites and excavations seem to begin at 7am on weekdays (cue loudly chugging lorries, drilling, etc). Obviously that won't go on forever but don't imagine that by being a bit out of the town centre the location is quiet! Luckily my son is obsessed with diggers so was absolutely delighted to be able to watch them at work.

We used the excellent supermarket downstairs for all our groceries and the gorgeous Emmerys bakery for pastries and coffee.

The location is definitely not central so you have to be prepared to walk. A bus stops nearby and takes you to central station/Tivoli and we never waited more than 10 mins. We also used the harbour bus which isn't very frequent but was on time so you don't have to wait long if you plan ahead! Highly recommend that for getting to The Little Mermaid. It's a bit of a trek to the Metro (a good 15+ mins with suitcases) for getting to/from the airport.

Overall Stay was the right choice for us and it's facilities made up for the out-of-centre location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum_of_toddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stay hotel is a very modern hotel apartment in a converted old warehouse. Rooms are huge and very well appointed (kitchens, laundry etc). Views of the river are great and it is also walking distance (30 mins) from the city centre. There is also a bus stop just outside.

There is free parking in the basement and there is good wifi

Would recommend highly

Only gripe is that if you pay by credit card (quite normal i think) they added 45 Kroner to our bill of 1700 Kroner. A bit cheeky !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Oesterbro
Adina Apartment Hotels Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STAY Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STAY Copenhagen

Property: STAY Copenhagen
Address: Islands Brygge 79A, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — STAY Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY Copenhagen offers modern design apartments located on Islands Brygge - Copenhagen's up and coming harbor area just 2 km from Tivoli garden and Town hall square. The stylish apartments, ranging between 65m2 studio apartments and 145m2 three-bedroom apartments, are fully furnished by Danish design brand HAY. Housed in a converted industry building from the mid-1900s, STAY Copenhagen is a great example of how old and new can come together to create an atmosphere of wonderful Scandinavian minimalism. The spacious apartments offer fully equipped kitchens, including dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, and a large flat-screen TV. STAY offers underground parking facilities with direct access to the apartments, free WiFi everywhere, a huge in-house gym exclusive to guests, and on top of it all, - one of the largest rooftop terraces in Scandinavia. The cafe next to reception serves a delicious organic breakfast in the morning, and is a popular meeting place for a beer or a glass of wine in the afternoon. Other dining options in the building include a sushi restaurant, an Italian restaurant, and gourmet takeaway on the ground floor. For guests wishing to prepare their own meals - an eco-friendly supermarket is conveniently located in the building. Guests in the mood to explore the surroundings areas can rent a bicycle in the reception or take a relaxing walk in the Amager Falled Park just next door. A few hundred meters from reception is a harbor bus stop, from where the boat travels to Nyhavn and beyond. STAY Copenhagen is within 15 minutes' walk of Dybboelsbro rail station and there is a bus stop just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your STAY Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing