We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful baslica”

Frederiks Kirke (The Marble Church)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$200.00*
and up
Copenhagen Castle Tour
Ranked #16 of 352 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large marble Baroque church which stood unfinished from 1770 to 1874. It was finally finished in 1894.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
809 reviews
525 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“beautiful baslica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

popularly known as The Marble Church. it is in Copenhagen center.It is located just west of Amalienborg Palace.

i like the the desghin of the church building & the dome.when you enter the church they request quiet which added to the reflective atmosphere.

also i like spectacular statue around the church building .

the good point it not far from my hotel in Copenhagen.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TaherAlbaghliJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    624
    173
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Marble in name only, but beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Marble Church is one of the landmarks in the rococo architectural ensemble of Frederiksstaden (Frederick's City). The marble was planned, but budgets were tight, and it was built in limestone, after all. Which does not detract from its imposing presence, just beside the royal castle of Amalienborg. Seen from the canal during a canal tour, the view is enhance by the fountain in the Amaliehaven (Amalie's Garden), in the foreground.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a beautiful setting for reflection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just a block from Amalienborg is the impressive Marble Church. We were fortunate enough to visit while the organist was playing, and most of the other visitors observed the posted request for quiet which added to the reflective atmosphere. I've visited a number of older cathedrals in Northern Europe and this one stands out as one of my favorites.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife & I throughly enjoyed this church from not only the outside but what a wonderful surprise we were in for when we walked through the front doors. It was spectacular to say the least. It had such a meditative spirit to it. We just sat on the back benches and just relaxed and felt such a calmness and tranquility surround us. This is a beautiful church and what a wonderful sight from the outside when you first come upon it on the street.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 299PFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“lovely church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Largest dome in Northern Europe. You can climb up to the dome on certain days. The church itself is unassuming and small, but the interior of the dome is beautiful! Free, and well worth a visit if you are nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank osalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frederiks Kirke (The Marble Church) also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Frederiks Kirke (The Marble Church)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing