We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice garden”
Review of Rosenborg Castle

Rosenborg Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$133.21*
and up
Grand Inner City Tour of Copenhagen
Ranked #3 of 356 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The beautiful 400-year-old castle is situated in central Copenhagen's popular park, The King's Garden. The castle was built by one of the most famous Scandinavian kings, Christian IV. Today, the glory of the past can be experienced through the numerous art treasures of the previous kings and queens. Among the main attractions is the Great Hall with the coronation thrones and three life-size silver lions standing guard. The crown jewels and royal regalia sparkle behind the thick walls of the treasury beneath the castle.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice garden”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Rosenberg Castle is not too far from the Round Tower. The gardens are very nice and well kept. Pack a picnic especially if traveling with kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Armelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,997
    2,453
    549
    63
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The castle houses the crown jewels of Denmark which are simply spectacular. It is a must see for all visitors of Copenhagen.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swineshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Grand building, lavish decor.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A nice building set in some really well kept park land, the gardens were beautifully maintained.
The inside of the castle was worth seeing, some really lavish rooms.
The crown jewels were also very impressive. I would recommend a visit when in Copenhagen.
We managed to see the guards marching out of the neighbouring barracks when we left, also worth seeing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank scottlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing too special”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This castle was a little underwhelming, there was really nothing to see inside besides a lot of porcelain really. It was nice enough to walk around but it didn't wow us at all.

We got in free with our Copenhagen cards, if we'd have had to pay I think we'd have been very disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 232423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well done self tour”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Wifi and online guides add to the educational appeal of this small but well done attraction. I was amazed that the Crown Jewels only had one guard walking the premises (that I saw) and that everything was self guided. I'm sure the gardens around the castle are lovely in warmer weather. Worth the visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pisapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosenborg Castle also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Rosenborg Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing